We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pvt guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here at the Fuji Hakone guest house for 2 nights and it was a truly authentic Japanese experience. Let me get to the best part about this inn. It has not one but two onsens within the premises. One outdoors and one indoors. You can use the outdoor onsen from early in the morning till late at night. The indoor onsen can be used past midnight as well. They keep it closed only for a few hours early morning for cleaning.

This is a family run guest house - a traditional Japanese mountain house converted into an inn. The room I stayed in was spacious enough for two people and had a heater in it.I visited when the temparatures were ranging between -1 and 2 so the heater really helped.Apart from that they provide blankets, quilts,pillows etc for two people. The staff is very friendly and so are the owners. There are about 7-8 rooms so its nice and cosy and doesnt get too crowded. There is a very nice common living area which you can use. A PC sits here which I am not using and also there is free wireless throughout the premises. Within the budget of 4500-5000 JPY this is a great option. I would definitely recommend you to stay here and I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Hakone. Also the breakfast though a little pricey at 80 jpy is not bad - fruits, cereal, toast and coffee.

Room Tip: Please use the pvt onsens as much as you can. It's really refreshing and nice to sit there in pr...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Fuji-Hakone Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good place, clean, private onsen.

Near Togendai, can catch the bus to here, not far.

Most recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParNapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The staff were fantastic - helpful and welcoming with great English. They gave us a suggested itinerary to go and see the area which was a great idea. The room we stayed in was very spacious and clean (the whole place was very clean all the time) with storage space for our luggage, air conditioning, extra bedding and dressing gowns to wear to the onsen. Having the use of the private inside and outside onsen at the guesthouse was really great at the end of the day.Sure, it's not like visiting a traditional public onsen but to have a soak at the end of the day just downstairs from your room was really handy!
It's very close to the bus stop and if you have the Hakone Free Pass (which I'd definitely recommend) it's an easy jumping off point to tour around and see the sights. There are a few restaurants around the area in walking distance, a convenience store and supermarket.
The bathroom facilities are all shared but I found them to be always very clean.

Room Tip: We were in the Kyoto room (twin room) upstairs on the corner of the building which was large and sun...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at Fuji Hakone Guest House twice. Once during the summer, and once recently in November. The place is really near to the bus stop. If you using Hakone Pass (which is recommended) you can use the pass to go to almost any major attraction. I didnt take the breakfast as there is convenience store within walking distance. The Japanese style room is comfortable...and after taking the bath in the in-house onsen, you will sleep like a log. After checking out, the staff also doesnt mind to held our stuff while we finished touring Hakone.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 5. The room has the view of running stream
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lady_nF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The staff was very helpful - they all spoke english which I found to be rare in the area. The two front desk attendants expertly explained to me how to hike the nearby mountains and called various restaurants for me to find out if they had english menus. The osens were clean which i appreciated and it is one of the few mid range accomodations with its own private osen. The place is definitely in need of an upgrade though. The rooms all smelled pretty musty (could be from the osen?) and the living room and dining room look like they havent been redone for quite some time. The breakfast was also not great and kind of pricey for what it was. Still, for good service and if you dont want to spend a ton of money i would recommend the guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mec224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Fuji-Hakone Guesthouse for two nights in October. We arrived well before the check-in time, but the friendly English-speaking staff were very welcoming and held our luggage for us while we went back out to explore the Hakone area. I recommend the day trip to Togendai with the ropeway and boat cruise, which is all free if you have the Hakone Free Pass (which is a must if you go there). We also did the Mount Kintoki hike, which was like doing the Grouse Grind in Vancouver (but there's no gondola to take you back down - you have to hike down the mountain).

We reserved a twin private room, but they gave us the largest Japanese-style family room (room #5) with already-made beds, yukatas (Japanese bathrobes), and two paper cranes on the table (which was very thoughtful on their part). The sinks, toilets, and kitchen were shared, but they were very clean. The highlight of this guesthouse is the hot springs bath (indoor and outdoor). After we hiked Mount Kintoki, we were tired and sore but after sitting in the outdoor hot springs for 15 minutes, we were fine again and had a great night sleep.

We also met Yumiko, the mother of the host family, who was extremely nice and took the time to talk to us. Overall, Fuji-Hakone Guesthouse was one of our favourite places to stay in Japan and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at Fuji-Hakone Guesthouse for one night on a weekend trip from the Tokyo area. The guest house is easy to get to via the S-line bus from Hakone Yumoto Station. The Tourist Information Center in Hakone-Yumoto recommended and booked the room for us. The staff speaks english very well and has recommendations for restaurants, attractions, and hiking in the area. The private indoor and outdoor hot springs are simple and pleasant. I recommend the Mount Kintoki hike for a great view of Mount Fuji; the trail head is a 10 minute walk from the guesthouse. Overall the guesthouse was a great experience at the right price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guest9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
481 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#6 of 244 in Hakone-machi
957 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 244 in Hakone-machi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#7 of 244 in Hakone-machi
199 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#30 of 244 in Hakone-machi
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing