We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guesthouse in Fuji/Hakone region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Lent, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse in Fuji/Hakone region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

In short: affordable authentic guesthouse with onsen.

Location:
The Fuji-Hakone guesthouse is located in the small town of Sengokuhara, easily reachable by several buslines from within the Hakone Fuji region. The guesthouse has a website with photo instructions that make it very easy to locate the property.

Rooms:
Rooms are spacious and well cared for. We stayed in a large room with windows on two sides with views of the garden and tatami mats covering the floors. The futon matrasses/bedding were already prepared when we arrived and were very comfortable to sleep on, even for tall people ( > 6ft). Rooms did get quite cold in the evenings but bedding was more then sufficient.
Shower and toilet facilities were shared and although basic, they were spotlessly cleaned.

Guesthouse facilities:
the guesthouse has a warm inviting atmosphere. A comfortable shared living room, computer facilities are available for guests to use. Breakfast in the morning was typical japanese. The guest house has both an indoor and an outdoor onsen (hot-spring) bath which we enjoyed a lot. Especially the outdoor onsen was a delight in the cold weather conditions.

Staff:
The family running the guest house was very welcoming and gracious. They answered all of our questions and made us feel right at home.

With Fuji Hakone being an attractive region for both international and domestic tourists accomodation in the region can be quite expensive. The Fuji Hakone guesthouse offers excellent value accomodations in a very convenient location to explore this wonderful region.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    108
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
148
38
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September 2013. A peaceful small town in the mountains providing a nice contrast from Tokyo. From check in the staff greet you warmly and shower you with helpful information. Our twin room with ensuite was spacious. I tried the indoor onsen bath as it was included in the price, very relaxing, almost fell asleep in it. The breakfast was ok, typical of the Japanese places we stayed at. Boiled eggs are the only protein.

The guest house provides information guests would want including the bus stop schedules and the popular hakone circuit which has you taking buses, funicular, cable car and boat. It was a great way to spend the day and if you're lucky (we weren't) maybe you will spot Fuji at one of the 3 viewpoints on the circuit. Get the Hakone free pass, it's a great deal if you plan on doing the circuit. We only got the 2 day pass when for 500 yen more we could have gotten the 3 day pass we could have used for our return bus ride to Odawara station which costs 1020 yen

The photographic directions they provide on their website on how to find the bus to Sengokuhara was very helpful, idiot proof. Great idea for tourists who can't read Kanji /hiragana.

Thanks to Tetsuya for putting up graciously with my endless questions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The staff at Hakone Fuji guest house received us with a very warm welcome. The rooms were bright, spacious and clean, the futons already prepared. The sanitary facilities are simple yet clean and satisfactory. The outdoor and indoor onsen are a wonderful experience, especially after a long day touring the Hakone area (for which the guest house is very well situated). A special treat was the birthday gift and the hand-drawn birthday card I received.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangobravo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Hakone to climb Mount Fuji and to sample the sensen experience. The guest house is amazingly well served by the local bus system for access to the region and Odawara station for links to Tokyo or Kyoto. The team at the guest house took a real interest in my plans, giving advice, caution and best wishes while also taking care of my aching limbs once I returned with two extended bath sessions set up for me. The guest house has two spa baths. One inside and one outside. The inside one was great if you like heat while the outdoor bath was cooler but gave you the pleasure if being outside in a private garden. I like both for the heat and the birdsong! My room was adequate and the shared toilets and showers were all immaculate. This was a memorable stay because of the warmth of the staff and the smiles all around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Amazing place, great hospitality from everyone there. Simple and charming as you can expect in a mountain riokan and located in a breathtaking area. We loved the experience and we will come back whenever we go back to Japan.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRESNO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter and I found the staff courteous and helpful. The room was attractive and clean, the breakfast hearty enough to fuel the start of the day. Returning in the evening to conversation in the common room and a mineral bath was a delight. We located the guest house easily and were pleased with its convenient location to stores, restaurants, and bus stops.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Fuji-Hakone Guest House at the beginning of August, which happens to be during the Oban Holiday. We got the bus from Odawara, which was very easy to do as we had the well labelled map from the guesthouse website which says to get the bus from Bus Lane 4. (Tip: The Hakone Free Pass is definitely worthwhile if you are going to do lots of sightseeing. We bought this directly from the lady stood at the bus stop, we were looking for an official desk but found this lady in a uniform who sold it to us.) The bus trip was over 40 minutes, but when you are approaching the stop it is really good as the bus recording says ‘get off here for Fuji Hakone Guest House.’

The family and staff at Fuji Hakone were all so helpful, and spoke really good English which we found was quite rare in Japan.

On our first afternoon we went and took the cable car up to the ropeway, then across the sulphur quarry and to the top where we ate black egss! (Eggs boiled in the hot pools and the shell turns black, the egg tastes normal but it is a novel thing to peel a black egg!) We then took the ropeway down and got the sightseeting pirate boat across to Hakone Machi where there was a great festival taking place for the Oban holiday. We ate from food stalls, watched young and talented performers on the drums and gazed at the beautiful lanterns that were floating on lake Ashi.

We loved staying at the guest house as it had such a relaxed feel. Our room had a stunning view in to the woods and mountains, and we loved wearing the traditional ‘robe’ that we were provided with. We took an early morning slot in the outside private onsen which was lovely. (Tip: if you suffer from Asthma then take your inhaler with you to the pool. The heat or pressure seems to tighten your lungs a bit.) This was really relaxing and a lovely experience.

The guest house was clean and comfortable, with nice touches like free green tea and loads of notice boards full of local information.

We would definitely recommend staying at the guesthouse, and getting the Hakone Free Pass for making your way around.

(It wasn't a cheap stay, however all accommmodation in Hakone was pricey and so relatively it was okay.)

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Kyoto' a twin Japanese style bedroom with a shared bathroom. Really nice exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellenwilson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#27 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#12 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Property: Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing