We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a japanese style bedroom on the 2nd flr corner room with a view of the lush mountain, i like the simplicity of the japanese style, minimalist yet cozy, we stayed 2nights, toilet and bath are shared, although i wish that that they have separate shared bathroom on the 2nd flr, it was raining and darkness falls as early as 3pm in october, its near bus stop, we bought our 2 day pass from the reception and we enjoyed our tour by bus cable cars lake ashi cruise, weather was chilly, the nature is lush, its a mountainous area, its near mt fuji area but unfortunately we didnt had a glimpse of it because it cloudy gloomy rainy october, our stay includes a free use of private onsen, my friend tried it he said it was too hot, he enjoyed trying on the yukata, its a family owned guest house they are all very friendly and curious about us as probably the first visitors coming from saudi arabia, they have a lovely friendly dog i wish i had picture taken with but i guess when i go back il have that chance, we enjoyed our stay and i highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcheeweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    108
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
148
38
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the guest house for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was perfectly clean, Japanese style, tatami and futon. Very spacious and loads of storage space. We had towels and yukata. It is possible to use the enclosed onsen for half hour a day... or even more if it's available. For free. Incredibly relaxing! There's an outside onsen as well but that is 500 yen per person and the view is not that different. Large communal room. Free green tea. Breakfast is not included, 840 yen... and, honestly, it's a bit steep for a continental breakfast. We didn't try it.
Overall a lovely stay. Very peaceful area. Perfect to relax and very romantic for couples.
Restaurants around are very expensive. For good food at good prices I'd suggest Daichi.
Thanks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at the guest house for one night and the experience was great! The road leading from Odawara station up to Hakone - Senkyoro stop is winding and narrow. Once we arrived at the guest house, the staff welcomed you with a smile and could identify us based on our booking via internet. After check-in, the staff will provide some tips and information on traveling in and out Hakone and things to do and places of interest. Guest house well equipped with information on list of eateries, time schedule of transport, maps, operation time of all places etc. The tatami is a good experience and the view from my room is marvellous - no words can describe.
Best of all - all guest staying at the guest house entitled for a session of private hot bath and if that is not enough, one can booked a public open bath; just approach the friendly staff at the guest house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Basic info: all rooms are tatami, toilet is a washlet kind but shared. There are only a few rooms, and there is only shared shower in our section of the house. There are Japanese yukata and towels for use. The room also has a heater and airconditioning, plus a tv.

The onsen is just one indoor onsen, which is in a reservation system, where only your group is allowed to use it. They put us last during the day because I emailed we would arrive late. They also have a small outdoor onsen but for a fee of 500 yen per person. Shampoo and soap are provided. There is a common hair dryer.

They have toasters, a microwave, hot water and tea for use.

Breakfast of some bread and fruits and cereals are available at 800 per person. There is a lawson store 1 minute away if you need some onigiri and some bento boxes.

We had a pleasant stay. And a good sleep. They can speak English.

Tips:
Coming to Hakone, we availed of the Hakone Free Pass from Shinjuku all the way to Odawara. Left at 11:40. We did not purchase the Romance Car. We transferred trains and then headed to Hakone Yumoto. We got on the nice slow train up to Gora at 1:58. At Nov 9 the autumn leaves are probably just 50% of peak colors. Might be best late November.

At Gora we got on the the cable car around , it was a pleasant ride, but Gora was cold! Under 10 degrees C. The lines were not bad, must have waited just 15 min on a Saturday. There are drinks around if you need anything.

At the last stop of the cable car is the transfer to the ropeway. The line was pretty long, around 20 minutes. The cable car could seat 15 people. The colors were very beautiful already! Give it another week and they will be perfect.

At the first stop of the cable car, we had to change again but first we took some pictures at what sounds like Owakudani or something. I think there is an egg that is quite popular. I remember eating the exact same thing before and was not memorable enough for me to want to eat it again. We had sweet potato or yaki imo instead. It was very cold.

We lined up for the ropeway for Togendai, and lined up around 20 minutes. It was 4:30 by the time we arrived at Lake Ashi. We didn't get on the boat anymore because it was getting dark and we wouldn't be able to appreciate it anymore. This much time consumed since we left Shinjuku at 11:40.

We decided to go to the guest house and so boarded bus T from Togendai to Odawara. After around 10 minutes, they announced Senkyoro Mae in English (not all stops were announced in English) we got off, had to cross and there was a sign "Fuji Hakone Guest House" in a parking lot, and check in was a breeze.

The only hard part was finding the suggested restaurants at night! We couldn't find any and so we settled for bento boxes from the nearby Lawson.

Going back to Tokyo is easiest with the T Bus from where we got off last night, and after maybe 50 minutes arrived at Odawara station, and took the train back to Tokyo. The bus was not full in the morning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thejetsettress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely perfect for travellers of any budget. Ok, it is not a luxury five-star hotel, but nor does it try to be. We were looking for reasonably-priced accommodation that was traditional, clean and cosy in a prime location - this ticks all of those boxes and more. From the warm welcome by the guesthouse's incredibly helpful English-speaking host to the basic yet brilliant bedrooms, we could not have asked for more during our one-night stay. The outdoor onsen costs 500 yen per person (about £3.50) for a half-hour slot, but was worth every penny - unique experience and great for the skin and any aches or pains. It was particularly special at night. The indoor onsen is smaller and less romantic but free of change and also very enjoyable. We didn't have the breakfast (800 yen per person) but sure it would have been good. The sound of waterfalls and birdsong can be heard all around even though you are situated just off the main road, which is ideal for catching the bus which takes you to all locations and attractions or walking to the local convenience store or restaurants. All in all, the perfect stay and we would love to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My girlfirend and me stayed in the Fuji-Hakone Guest house in the beginning of August 2013 for four nights - originally we intended to stay for three nights, but it was too hard to leave! If you are seraching for a clean and well maintained place to feel home with a great, familiar atmosphere and traditional japaneese private rooms (riokan), then that's THE place to stay. The hot springs (onsen) are reserved for each room for half an hour each evening (for private use) - after climbing the Mt. Fuji or after other outdoor activities this is the best way to relax and simply enjoy being in Japan. The staff is very nice and super helpful - we organized our "Mt. Fuji one day climb" tour with them and the nice lady organized a taxi for as etc. The guest house is placed right next to a bus station from where you can reach basically all local destinations/attractions. Two grocery stores and a great italian restaurant are in walking distance as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cir29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at the Fuji-Hakone Guest House at the end of September 2013. Staff greeted me on arrival and showed me to my 2nd-floor tatami mat room with comfortable futon and yukata-style robe. The room was tidy and the sheets and towels smelled very fresh - no musty smell at all. I am sensitive to smells and found everything refreshing. It was dark outside when I arrived, and in the morning I was delighted to open the sliding screen windows and see a beautiful slope filled with greenery and trees -- a very relaxing sight.

For my second floor room, there was a shared restroom (two actually) and sink, all very clean, and though other rooms on my floor were occupied, the restrooms were always available. I did not hear noise from the other rooms in the two nights I stayed at the Guest House. Wireless access to Internet was very good. My room had a television and a sumo tournament was taking place during my stay and I enjoyed watching it.

There are indoor and outdoor onsens, the former at no charge and the latter having a charge of 500 or 600 yen. I enjoyed the indoor onsen very much and so didn't feel the need to try the outdoor one, though it probably would have been nice as well. The water was not overly hot and was real onsen water, slight grayish in appearance. The bath area was clean and had a locking door and guests signed up for use in 30-minute increments. I also took a nice soak early in the morning.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, orange juice, hard boiled egg, toast, fruit (apple, pineapple, banana ), yogurt, and other items I can't all recall -- maybe granola, which I normally don't eat. It is serve yourself and everything was fresh, appropriately ripe, and eat and drink as much as you like. Cost was about 800 yen, which for Japan is good value especially given that in most cities you pay 300 or 400 yen just for one piece of toast and one cup of coffee for "morning set."

The proprietors and staff are all very friendly and helpful and know a lot about Japan and the Hakone region. They have organized information about sightseeing and various attractions and facilities in the Hakone area as well as kinds of food served at nearby restaurants.

Another of the many nice features of the Guest House was meeting other guests. I met students from Australia; a recent graduate from a Chinese university who was on her way back home to Switzerland; a couple from Cologne, Germany on a 4-week vacation in Japan; a lady from Guatemala teaching in Japan; people from the US; a couple honeymooning from London; and several guests from Japan. We all shared information on what we had seen and what we did in our normal lives back home -- very interesting to hear what everyone's story was.

I took a bus from Odawara to the Guest House. The bus cost 1020 yen and took about one hour. Busses leave Odawara Station every 20 minutes or so during most of the day. There is also a bus that goes from Haneda Airport to Hakone and the Guest House. The Guest House is only about a minute from the bus stop -- far enough away that you don't hear road traffic when you are in the Guest House, but close enough that it is easy enough to carry your luggage from the bus stop to the Guest House.

There are many attractions nearby -- POLA Museum, Owakudani Hot Spring, Chair lift to Lake Ashi, boat on Lake Ashi (which was too touristy from me and I didn't go on), temple, etc. Weather happened to be perfect during my stay and the view of Mt Fuji was gorgeous from nearby Owakudani.

Room cost was 6500 yen to 7000 yen per night, very reasonable for Japan and Hakone. This is a gem, a delightful place to stay with very helpful and informative staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#27 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#7 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#12 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#3 of 243 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Property: Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing