We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room and onsen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed here for one night for our hakone tour , the traditional japanese room is very big and nice ... love it^^ .
the staff is friendly and give good guide for our hakone tour ... they will give u a map and tell u where and how to take the transport to visit around .
there is indoor and outdoor onsen , the indoor onsen is include in the room rate , outdoor is 500yen per pax ... went during spring , have cherry blossom view while using the outdoor onsen ..is beautiful...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Fuji-Hakone Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Staying at this guesthouse was by far one of our best experiences while traveling in Japan! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Family owned and operated. We felt as though we were being welcomed into their home. Our room was very cute, clean and comfortable. The outdoor onsen was very pleasant as well and they even give you your own yakuta robe to wear. What a relaxing experience. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

the trap - westerner/english friendly. i see a group of westerners gather in the guesthouse. these are the people who gave the ryokan such a high rating as they befriend each other in this guesthouse.

hotel staff friendliness - good, but like other reviewers said it didn't make up for the stay. fyi the directions they gave wasn't the best.
i still think it's very business minded as they keep asking you to pay for the room and pay for the onsen or breakfast.

breakfast - terribly western, simple, and overpriced (800yen!)

the location - extremely remote. took very,very long to get there.

the price - trust me with this price you can get a good accessible hotel with breakfast and dinner

sleep quality - it was SO extremely noisy you can hear people talking next door, you can hear people in your corridor and you will never get quality sleep as people wake up and drag their luggages at 6am in the morning. seriously this is the most terrible part of the stay when you can't even get some rest.
curfew is 11pm where they lock the place.

there is no nightlife in hakone fyi. no restaurants are opened and lights are out everywhere.
no buses, no cabs and no trains after 8pm. lights out everywhere.
if you go to gotemba outlet, i am sure you cannot get back to the ryokan after 6pm.

room cleanliness - dirty, damp, no aircon in my room, smelled of mildew, old, needs a renovation. recycle friendly.

onsen - artificial. you can see particles on it. cleanliness is unattended. worst of all, the ryokan owner chased me out when i was 4 mins late and my very own friends were after my slot. you have to pay 500 yen to use the outdoor onsen once for 30mins. the indoor onsen is free and included in your stay.

Room Tip: avoid staying in rooms beside the lounge actually avoid this hotel completely if you are not a west...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimhyunjoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Tatami room is very nice/comfortable/cute
Have private small indoor and outdoor onsen. Have to make reservation early.
Staff very nice.
They leave some japanese robe for us and teach us how to wear it
Aweeesome.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank qqsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was the second time I stayed in the guest house, after a trip there about 3 years ago.
The great strength of this guest house is the availability of naturally heated bath: There are 2 baths in the main building (where breakfast is served), one in the newer building and one outside. They can all be booked for 30 minute sessions. A few years ago, the outside bath could be reserved at no additional fee (as the inside baths) but now there is a small fee to pay upon reservation.
Breakfast is a simple buffet of a bit of bread, jam, tea coffee, fruits... Quite up to Western tastes but not a traditional Japanese breakfast.
Location of the guest house is good, close to all the main places of interest, though it may be a bit confusing at first (I highly recommend to stick to the instructions available on their website).
The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AxelR0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely traditional Japanese rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff. There is an outdoor and indoor onsen which were amazing and the best breakfast ever. We will be back for the Olympics Japan!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for one night and wish we could stay longer. Everything is perfect. Value price, friendly staff, homey room. Outdoor and indoor hot spring are available. Both can be reserved for private use. Indoor onsen is free of charge, the outdoor one requires an extra payment which is worth. We tried both and love the outdoor onsen. The Japanese Yukata is provided. Free wifi in-room. View from the balcony is fabulous. The guest house is easy to find, 2 minutes from Senkyoro-mae bus station. Just follow the direction the hotel gives you.

There is no dinner service but the staff can help you book a nearby restaurant with free pick-up/ drop off service. Little prince museum is 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse.

We will definitely stay here again if we travel to Hakone next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with private toilet for extra privacy but it may be an extra cost as well.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlingMayMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
482 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#7 of 244 in Hakone-machi
957 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 244 in Hakone-machi
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#6 of 244 in Hakone-machi
200 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#32 of 244 in Hakone-machi
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £70 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing