We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onsen & Evangelion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This guest house is hard to find, it lies on the Hakoneura Hwy 138 north of Gora. Best accessed by bus from Odawara. It's in the town of Sengokuhara. I visited as part of an Intrepid tour and found it felt very like a family home. Rooms are traditional and there's a large communal lounge with computers, books about the local area and Koto demonstrations in the evening. Toilets are shared so you have to walk through the communal lounge if you need to go in the night.
Highlight are the onsens, one inside and one outside. You need to book these a day ahead because they are so popular. Sitting in a steaming hot bath when it is sub-zero around you is a great way to start the day. Finally you can't help seeing references to Evangelion. It is a series of futuristic anime movies set in around Hakone and Lake Ashi. They are promoting locations used as a source to get more tourists in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was my 2nd time stay in the same guest house, still felt the overwhelming hospitality and enjoy the convenience of the location. Would like to say "thank you" to all the staff who had helped us with the "police report" on our first day in Japan, though it was a very unpleasant experience, but we still enjoy the trip very much. BTW, the indoor hotspring is great! Will consider 3rd time stay if I am going to Hakone again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fangwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staying at this guest house was by far one of our best experiences while travelling in Japan! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our traditional Japanese room was very big, clean and comfortable. Hakone is ideal for rest and relaxation and highly recommended to you guys! I wish I could've stayed a bit much longer :(

Kudos to your staff for making my stay a great one. I will definitely be staying with the Fuji Hakone Guest House again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shahrul3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fuji Hakone in Sengokuhara was a wonderful place to stay and experience Japanese overwhelming hospitality. I stayed with my family & kids and they enjoyed a lot. Fuji Hakone owners and staffs were simply wonderful. They made us our stay a memorable one. I enjoyed Bamboo roots harvesting. You have bus stop, lawson on foot step.

Regards,
Fazal Basha

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Fazal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I came with a class of 10 people and we all stayed at the guest house for two nights. I wish we could have stayed longer! The location is fantastic if you want to wander the local area or visit the sulfur valley/lake area. They are very helpful and accommodating—if you ask for menus to local restaurants they will order ahead for you and set your reservation time, which was great after long days! And the private hot spring was so relaxing and beautiful. If I ever get an opportunity to come back, I'll definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurenmtsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed only for one night at this guesthouse but it was a wonderful experience and I wish I could’ve stayed a bit much longer. The tranquil environment of Hakone, the calm surroundings, and the beautiful landscapes of the family-owned Fuji-Hakone Guesthouse makes the place feel like a home away from home.

Hakone is ideal for rest and relaxation, given the laid back atmosphere of the area. One should not expect an energetic, cosmopolitan, and lively vibes such as those in Tokyo and similar cities. That being said, you will never go wrong with this guesthouse if you prefer a quiet place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. It is an amazing place to stay, very serene, homey, and with very helpful and friendly staffs.

The guesthouse is just a 5-min walk to the Le Petit Prince Museum and a short bus ride to other sightseeing places. They do not serve dinner at the house but there are nearby Japanese restaurants in the area, which serve really good and authentic dishes by the way. Take note that restaurants and most establishments close early at night, around 8pm so that is one thing to take into consideration. There’s a nearby Lawson Convenience store for your other needs. Also, the guesthouse offers a Western-style breakfast buffet for Y800. Food is simple-- toast, fruits, coffee, and juice-- so I find the price a bit expensive.

The guesthouse is composed of two buildings: main and annex. The dining area is in the annex building, but both have reception areas. The interior and amenities are lovely. The living room is spacious; the traditional Japanese rooms are really nice and clean with very comfortable tatami mats; and the view from the room is serene. The only downside is that the walls are thin, and you can hear the sounds/noise from the next door. No wonder they request the guests to be as quiet as possible when it’s a bit late in the evening.

The house also has both indoor and outdoor onsens, which you can reserve and use privately for 30 minutes. Usage hours are from 7am to 11pm. The indoor onsen is for free whereas you need to pay Y500 for the outdoor onsen. I think it’s not too much on the pocket, and it’s worth a try if you haven’t experienced an onsen before. I was told by the owner’s son that the onsen water comes from the Owakudani Volcano in the area.

In terms of location, I think it is pretty close to everything. Main mode of transportation is by bus and it’s fairly easy for as long as you know which bus to take and where you need to get off. There’s an automated alert system for each station, both in Japanese and English, to guide the passengers. Hence, I didn’t have a hard time finding the guesthouse as well as the other sites I wanted to visit. In any case, the owners/managers of the house will tell you everything you need to know about the area, including the attractions to see, restaurants to try, transportation details, etc. They will also provide you brochures, maps, bus routes, and even show you restaurant menus to help you make choices. Make sure to bring plenty of cash. Most establishments in Hakone don’t accept credit cards, and ATM machines are usually for Japan issued cards only.

To get to the guesthouse, here are the following routes I did which you might find useful:
Hotel Location: “Senkyoro-mae(仙郷楼前)” bus stop before Togendai.

1. If coming from Moto-Hakone (last stop of sightseeing cruise in Lake Ashi), take H bus and get off at Kowakien. Then transfer to S bus and get off at Senkyoro-Mae. From there it’s just a
2-minute walk. You won’t get lost because there are signs that will point you to the guesthouse. As far as I remember, overall travel time was 20 minutes.

2. From Hakone-Yumoto, take T bus to Senkyoro-mae station.

3. From Gora Station take S bus to Senkyoro Mae. You may opt to visit the open air museum first using this bus line, before proceeding to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheSoloTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed here for one night for our hakone tour , the traditional japanese room is very big and nice ... love it^^ .
the staff is friendly and give good guide for our hakone tour ... they will give u a map and tell u where and how to take the transport to visit around .
there is indoor and outdoor onsen , the indoor onsen is include in the room rate , outdoor is 500yen per pax ... went during spring , have cherry blossom view while using the outdoor onsen ..is beautiful...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#20 of 256 in Hakone-machi
280 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#12 of 256 in Hakone-machi
508 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 256 in Hakone-machi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Highland Hotel
Hakone Highland Hotel
#8 of 256 in Hakone-machi
271 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#3 of 256 in Hakone-machi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuji-Hakone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuji-Hakone Guest House

Address: 912 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £62 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fuji-Hakone Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese Family style Inn (B&B). We welcome foreign individual tourist who would like to experience real Japanese life style. All staff speak English so that you have no proble to cmmunicate with us. Natural Hot Spring Bath is available. We'll give you all information about Hakone National Park in English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fuji-Hakone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuji-Hakone Guest House Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing