We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic & Mysterious stay here if you want to travel through time”
Review of Fujiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fujiya Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Fujiya as it was recommended by some friends of ours and by various travel books. It's an expensive hotel but here's a few reasons to look past that and make the investment since I can guarantee you it will be one of the most memorable places you will stay at during your trip to Japan. 1) This hotel is a time capsule and serves as a historical landmark for many important visits. i.e. lennon & Yoko, Charlie Chaplain, Helen Keller and previous prime ministers and political diplomats. Youll be impressed just looking at the autographs and picture lining the hall ways, 2) It is very beautifully decorated. The architecture and the wonderful Japanese garden in the back were out of this world phenomenal. We've stayed a many hotels in Japan and this one taught us something about the art of entertaining and the culture/intention behind Japanese gardens, 3) The food is amazing. Try both of the breakfast options and try their homemade jam. and 4) The service is fantastic, Staff speak great English, carry your luggage and greet you with a big smile.
We would recommend this place to everyone especially those who would like a romantic get away from it all. There are no elevators in this hotel so I would not recommend it to people who use a wheel chair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YOWRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

well placed, well appointed and usual Japanese well run hotel, rooms good, had terrific view of Mount Fuji over the lake. Had to eat in hotel as all other places were shut and it is a bit out of the town, would have needed a taxi to get to any open restaurant,The meal in the bar was good enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evanssindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The building is very nice, both inside and outside. We got a nice big room, it was clean and we had nothing to complain about.
The hotel even had a swimming pool and sauna. The sauna were not working when we were there due to maintanance. The swimming pool room were old and needed some renovation, but I dont think you go to the Hakone-area to go swimming either, so thats okay.
The staff were nice and friendly and did speak quite good english!

The only drawback is that the hotel is quite expencive. We paid 23000 yen for one night in a double room without breakfast. This was by far the most expencive hotel we were sleeping on in Japan. Probably hotels in the Hakone-area is a bit more expencive because of tourism!

You should be aware of that the area where the hotel is, is very dead. It is only a few restaurants and they close early. A dinner at the hotel can be very expencive, like 6000yen and higher!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyste92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Fujiya is a delight! Old school Japan in a charming building with service to match, a stay here is well worthwhile. The building and gardens are lovely, the main restaurant is stunning, the food excellent, the wine good (although extremely expensive) and the Western style hot spring bathrooms a real novelty. However, be careful - not all bedrooms are equally beautiful and the standard rooms are disappointing. In contrast, the Flower Palace Rooms are exquisite....

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully. Those in the Flower palace are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large chain hotel with nice facilities, professional staff, but over-priced and facing the train station. Excellent food, but not elegant dining room, and very nice outdoor onsen with a sauna. We paid way too much because we were desperate at the last minute, and most of the rooms face the train station and you can hear the noise. I would go for something for quiet and quaint in the future....

Room Tip: Facing away from the train station is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is run very very well. The minute you walk in you can feel the historic aspect of it. The bellhops are scrambling to see how they can help you the second you step in the lobby. Most, if not, all speak good english. The service is impeccable. We stayed 3 nights and it was just enough to create a nice itinerary of a full day doing the hakone loop, sampling the few local restaurants, and even getting dinner one night at Lawsons which is actually good for a break from expensive dinners.
The hotel has unbelievable architecture. Those who are bothered by old furniture or some peeling paint here and there, maybe should book a Hilton, because the aged feeling is what gives this place its amazing feel. The breakfast buffet was $29 each, ouch, but we did that one day and it was worth it. The lunch and dinner prices are too high. We went to a tempura place around the corner for $28 for 2 people and was awesome. We also went to a mom and pop breakfast place 75 feet down the street. We got the Anniversary rate of 13,500 yen (about $133) per night. Thats a steal. Free wi-fi in the lobby works fine, in fact we had room 53 which is the closest room to the lobby and wifi was lightning quick in the room. I understand others have said some rooms are not up to par with sinks in the bedroom. I cannot comment on that but you may need to avoid those. If you have a lot of luggage, they use the Yumoto luggage service, and since its awkward to take 3 bags on the Tozan and JR lines, they sent our luggage on to Kyoto for $19 a bag. The gardens in the back are worth a walk thru, a nice serene setting. Most rooms are smoking, we were assured if we had a smoking room they would use a machine to keep it bearable. Room 53 had barely a trace of smoke and was fine. Since this is a hotel review, if you need restaurant names mentioned here, just message me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a12548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The feel to this hotel is almost European. Where as everything in Japan always feels modern, buildings are constantly rebuilt and interiors re-done, this hotel has the feeling of trying to keep up its old appearances. The wooden doors are chipped, the wallpaper is coming off the walls, but for the most part, that feels okay. It's almost like they want it that way, The best American equivalent I can come up with is an old country club.

The rooms was HUGE, like the biggest hotel room I've ever booked for just myself, and it's ironic that it was in Japan of all places.

I really didn't explore the amenities too much (dinner was around $140 and I was traveling alone, so forget it), but I did take advantage of the fact that their hot water comes directly from the hot springs, giving myself a one-man onsen in the bathtub.

You will be kind of stuck in Miyanoshinita, and it's not as if there's nothing there, but getting anywhere from there will be a journey.

The staff, like almost all Japanese hotels, is extremely helpful and courteous, and they have plenty of English-speakers ready to help.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#13 of 245 in Hakone-machi
489 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 245 in Hakone-machi
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
#10 of 245 in Hakone-machi
404 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#6 of 245 in Hakone-machi
154 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#36 of 245 in Hakone-machi
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fujiya Hotel

Address: 359 Miyanoshita, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0404, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#4 Family Hotel in Hakone-machi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: £130 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fujiya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ikyu Corporation, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fujiya Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing