We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free with the Hakone Free Pass”
Review of Hakone Pirate Ship

Hakone Pirate Ship
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.34*
and up
Mt Fuji Day Trip with Lake Ashi Cruise, Crab Lunch and Odawara Castle from Tokyo
More Info
US$154.51*
and up
Mishima Skywalk, Pirate Ship Ride, Odawara Flower Garden Day Trip with...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Replicas of pirate ships cruise Lake Ashi, offering views of forests, hotels and the striking red gateway to the Hakone Shrine.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
1,043 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Free with the Hakone Free Pass”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hakone Sightseeing Ship takes you from Togendai station, where the Hakone Ropeway ends, across Lake Ashi and stops at Hakone-machi and Moto-hakone. It's a pleasant ride, a large ship, plenty of seating inside, but not many on the deck. You can catch a good view of the landscape here and if you're super, super lucky, you can see Mt. Fuji. This is free with the Hakone Free Pass.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    244
    114
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy lake cruise”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I like the lake cruise. I can see a temple, some boats, nice scenic view from 2nd floor. Even though so crowded but I enjoyed the trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasig
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I never expected to enjoy this lake cruise. But to my surprise, it was really something else.

You can see a temple out of nowhere!!!

Then we stopped at a resort, boarded our bus for a cable car ride.

After the cable car ride, we were told to try this sulfur cooked eggs, (black eggs), which was basically hard boiled egg. But they said that we should try it, so we tried it!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank japs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendai, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little cheesy but still enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Lake Ashi and the surrounding mountains are beautiful, and from the sightseeing boat you have a lovely view. Don't get your hopes up about seeing Mt. Fuji -- it's really a luck of the draw, even in the winter (when you have the most chance of seeing it). The boat is decorated like a pirate ship, complete with pirate statues and (in the 1st class cabin) people dressed as pirates. It's pretty cheesy, but we still enjoyed it. It would be a good activity for families. I think the boat is way overpriced, but if you have the Hakone Free Pass, it's free and worth it.

If you do the round trip (which takes 1 hour), you can catch the ropeway from the same station. We didn't go round-trip so that we could see the Hakone Checkpoint and shrine. But you could get off the boat, see those things, and then get back on the boat (at least if you have the Hakone Free Pass).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lt1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

If there is any cruise to ask that should be missed for tourists, it will be this Hakone Kankosen / Sightseeing ship!!! Cruising the Lake Ashinoko, and giving a 360 degree all round view of the lake waters, dun miss it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Elena_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakone Pirate Ship also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Pirate Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing