We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The big guy!”

Bakery & Table Hakone
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The big guy!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place is awsome! Went to the third floor for dinner and what do you know the big guy waiter speaks fluent english! He helped us with ordering and then spoke with us about our trip and was kind enough to help us plan the rest of our trip! His name is mr Tanaka but he grew up in the states! Great service!!!! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    122
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Superb, a hidden gem in Hakone”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Simply fabulous, this little gem was a feature of my trip to Hakone. The Japanese have a unique way with bakeries, and none and better than the Bakery & Table. It was crazy busy the day I visited, however staff weren't flustered in any way and continued to serve every person with politeness and as though they were the only customer in the shop. I struggled to know what I was buying, but it didn't matter - the presentation was amazing and the food magnificent. I can't wait to return one day with my family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samoht103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best by far”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After a long day on the Hakone circuit, we were tired and chilled from the pirate boat trip across Lake Ashi. The water front looked at bit bleak so we wandered into 'Bakery & Table'. By chance we took the lift to the third floor and had the best experience of eating out in Honshu! The staff were excellent and the food was a revelation. It was beautifully prepared and presented. Our waitress could not have been more helpful and attentive and her suggestions were spot on. Oh and the view was just fantastic. We were tucked into a comfortable corner with great views of boats coming and going on the lake. I loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceresascending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“good breads”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Bread was tasty and fresh.
Probably the only real bakery in Hakone, way better than picot at fuyija hotel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We chanced upon this place through an internet blog, it looked incredible so we actually changed our plans in Hakone in order to go there. I am SO glad we did and indeed we visited a 2nd time the next day as we were so impressed. The location of the place is excellent as it sits right next to Lake Ashi over which the views are beautiful. You can see the place as you approach Moto-Hakone on the pirate ship so it's very easy to find. We sat outside and took advantage of the amazing hot spring foot bath which was one of the most awesome experiences we have ever had.
The selection of pastries and cakes was huge. You place your orders on mini clipboards using a numbering system which makes it easy for tourists. There were no English descriptions for the items unfortunately, which is fine as there are a lot of typical European style things like croissants but also some weird and wonderful Japanese style pastries that we had never seen before! We took a gamble and ordered several unusual looking things and they all turned out to be absolutely delicious. On our 2nd visit it was raining sadly so we couldn't sit at the foot bath table outside, but we ventured upstairs and the views from there was also spectacular. On the 3rd floor there is even a restaurant with a Japanese cooking station so you can watch the chef work. Oh if only we could go again!! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakery & Table Hakone also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Bakery & Table Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing