We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Madokano Mori(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Owner's Gora Club(Hakone-machi)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Ryokan 
    Hakone Gora Kanon(Hakone-machi)
    View Hotel
    Ryokan 
    Kanon(Hakone-machi)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    Ryokan 
    Nounou Hakone(Hakone-machi)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (1,110)
    Filter reviews
    1,110 results
    Traveller rating
    695
    317
    63
    21
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    695
    317
    63
    21
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsliving roomfree drinkssushi restaurantfree happy hourgora stationcocktail hourcable carlobby loungeincluding champagneblack labwalk in closetnorth wingfrench champagnea mountain view roomgreat resortenclosed balconyshuttle bus
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    386 - 391 of 1,110 reviews
    Reviewed 17 April 2014

    This is a beautiful hotel in the mountains of Hakone and I had a fantastic stay! The staff graciously arranged an early checkin with no problems and the complimentary train station shuttle bus was very much appreciated.

    The room was clean and well appointed with ample space. I even had peek-a-boo views of Mt. Fugi from the enclosed balcony. The free happy hour in the living room was a great feature and was packed, making for a nice chance to mingle with other guests.

    My only complaint is that in the shoulder season the hvac system was still on heat only while the rooms got fairly warm in the afternoon. Opening the window helped the problem but the place should still have individual hvac systems in my opinion.

    Overall, it is still a fantastic hotel in a beautiful location and I hope to return again someday.

    Room Tip: Fuji View is the only way to go!
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dc2005b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

    This is probably the best resort style accomodation in the area. We had rooms on the 3rd floor with expansive views of the mountains. Our room was huge - around 50 sqm with a large enclosed balcony where you could sit & admire the view. All the mod cons in a 5 star resort are present. We stayed 2 nights & tried their French restaurant the first night & the Japanese on the 2nd. Both meals were excellent - beautifully prepared & service exemplary.

    One of the best perks of this resort is their Happy Hour where champagne, wines, soft drinks are served on the house from 4 pm to 7 pm. Perfect pre dinner drinks in a most relaxing ambience.

    Once in the hotel - you are encouraged to move about in the yukatas provided. Gets you in the Japanese mood! Breakfast was also top notch (western buffet or Japanese).

    The onsen is nice & a must each morning & evening. Overall - this is the place to stay when visiting the Hakone area.

    Stayed: April 2014
    Thank scorpioshanghai
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 April 2014

    I stayed at this hotel with my wife on a recent tour of Japan. This was the second hotel we stayed at and we travelled up from Tokyo.

    Hakone area is a stunning place and if you have any plans to take in views Mount Fuji on your trip this hotel sits right in the middle of everything you need to see.

    Totally easy route - 20 minutes on the shinkansen (bullet) train from Tokyo to Odawara. The hotel does offer a 40 minute shuttle bus service from the station. The hotel itself sits halfway up a mountain. My advice though would be to get the little mountain train from Odawara through to Gora station, very easy inexpensive connection, adds about an hour to your total journey time and it travels through some stunning scenery as it chugs up the mountain, the perfect way to get a sense of place and a feel of the location. They also have shuttlebus from Gora station.

    We arrived and it was snowing! felt bizarre as 20 minutes earlier we were getting on the train in Tokyo in a balmy 22 degrees! Worth remembering as unless you're going in the height of summer, it's pretty high up and can get cold.

    The property itself stunning. The space is very minimal and has a slight Scandinavian feel to it. The main social part of the hotel is a large triple height open space with a huge open fire in the centre.

    We had a mountain view room, big space, nice separate internal glazed balcony area to sit and take in the vista, luxuriously appointed bathrooms.

    The hotel felt more like a retreat and you are encouraged to lose your western clothing and don the provided traditional Japanese garms, which were very cool.

    They also offer complimentary drinks (wine beer spirits, anything!) in the afternoon till 5pm in the main social space around the fire and this is a great idea because it makes for a very friendly chatty place.

    The restaurant is great, they took time to understand if we had any food allergies, they can plan personal menus for dinner for you and they have a huge well stocked fine wine cellar.

    The Spa is good I had a couple of treatments, the massage was a little bit painting by numbers but nothing really to complain about, The hotel has it's own Onsen, which was very pleasant.

    In terms of location everything is pretty much walking distance and involves cable car or little train to see the various sites. Away from the main attraction which is obviously seeing Fuji I would also strongly advise visiting the Open Air museum which is one stop on the little mountain train. Its a really funky sculpture park and if the weather is good it's the perfect place to take a picnic and take in the clean mountain air.

    We loved this hotel and cannot recommend it enough, the whole place has a really cool laid back vibe to it and wouldn't look out of place in a Bond movie.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank TheIntrepidLuxurient
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2014

    We recently stayed for two nights at this modern styled hotel, loved the spacious bedroom, absolutely huge.
    Especially loved being able to open the windows, so rare today in modern hotels. Albeit the sulphur smell in the air is a little discouraging.
    The Japanese restaurant was a delight, the food a little challenging for us.
    Happy hour from 4pm to 7pm with free champagne and wine, where else do you experience that?
    The Onsen bath, an experience in itself..

    Room Tip: Second floor and higher rooms have a lovely outlook, especially in Cherry blossom season.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank fvm54
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 April 2014

    This was the last night of my week in Japan, and a great choice to finish on a "high". A hotel shuttle from Odawara station, through nice scenery, to a beautiful room overlooking the mountains and scenery. Great service from very pleasant staff who spoke excellent English. Everything you could want for in a hotel room, from tea and coffee facilities, plenty of water, great toiletries and a kimono to relax in. Champagne in lovely lounge, followed by the hot Onsen was just perfect. I had a reflexology treatment which was fantastic and would thoroughly recommend....best I've ever had. The resort is spotless, warm and welcoming. A treat!
    The staff make this resort, as they are so very pleasant and every request is met with a smile. The area surrounding it is lovely for walks.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank iris m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews