We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryokan hotel , well placed for Hakone and Fuji viewing trips”
Review of Tenseien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenseien
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ryokan hotel , well placed for Hakone and Fuji viewing trips”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Western/Japanese room which meant we had double the space. Modern, well-run version of Ryokan with onsen baths. Kimono provided as you arrive. Dinner buffet style was freshly cooked and tasty. Breakfast reasonable.
Worth a night or two to enjoy this uniquely Japanese experience. Short walk(12mins) to Hakone-Yumoto station that provides access to Fuji viewing spots.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    230
    63
    17
    19
See reviews for
179
150
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I live in Tokyo and decided to go for an trip to an onsen close to home. Hakone is the most easily accessible destination when using public transportation (train) from Tokyo. This does make however that it can be extremely crowded when you go there on a Japanese National holiday. We liked the walk from the station to the hotel and back. The shopping street gives you a nice impression of the various souvenirs and Japanese sweets.
The Tenseien hotel is, in our view, pretty similar to other onsen hotels in Japan we stayed at. We opted for a room with Western beds as we tend to sleep better than on futons (thin mats on the tatami floor). The room we had consisted of two halves: one half had the Western beds, the other half had a tatami floor. We would have felt the room rather cramped if we would only have had half of it.
The onsen, on the top floors of the building, are spacious and clean. The temperature of the water was slightly cooler than at other onsen hotels, which we liked.
We were not impressed by the buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. The buffet dinner consisted mainly of cold dishes, there were only a few warm dishes. The queues at each of the stations were very long which constantly interrupted your dinner experience. Also at breakfast were the queues long.
We both took a massage and liked it very well. The staff were well-skilled.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have done the spa experience before in Japan, and really enjoyed it. Apparently going to the spa is a local custom -- where the Japanese stay at a spa hotel, eat,drink, and spend the entire day bathing. When visiting Hakone, I wanted to do the typical touristy Hakone loop, but I also wanted the spa experience. This fit perfectly.

They have a men's and women's spa, with indoor/outdoor pools. Sit and watch the sky and the mountains. The spa is open all night, which means if you can make it there at midnight or 1 am, you'll see the stars and maybe even have the place all to yourself.

The hotel is newly renovated, and the minute you step in you take off your shoes and you are 'home'. You pick your yukata (robe), and everyone is wearing the hotels' robes. Look in the closet, and you'll also see toe socks and a winter robe. So it feels very comfy as everyone is dressed similarly and Japanese-style.

Besides an outdoor/indoor spa for both men and women separate, Tensein has a lovely garden where you can feed fish and birds. We walked around the garden in our yukatas and took pictures -- better than paying for it at some touristy place!

We had the buffet dinner, which was good. But if I were to stay for more than one night, I would not get it twice. You can also book the room without dinner, but you have to go on a japanese website like jalan or japanican. (These websites have more options in general, btw)

The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the station, or you can take a bus for 100 yen - which I'd recommend if you've got luggage. We also stayed at Hotel Okada, and this place is much much better (newer). My partner wanted to come back to this place and stay a couple of days, and he never wants to go anywhere.

By the way, it is far to Gora (Hakone center) if you take the 40 minute stuffy romance train, but you can take a bus for 20 minutes! The buses run more frequently, and are much faster. Do the train once, then switch to buses. The bus route isn't that obvious, so you'll need to know when to get off - having a GPS would be handy.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It's fabulous although it is a little bit far from the station. The atmosphere and fantastic. Many people go there for one-day trip for hot springs. We lived there for one night. Service is nice even staff could not speak fluent English. Hot springs is perfect and they provide you traditional Japanese suit as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Was booked into this hotel by Japanese friends who followed their travel agent's suggestion. Had to pay double room price (including for breakfast and dinner buffets) as there was no single rate, so made it quite pricey.

Problem checking in at noon as most hotels in Japen allow only 3pm checkin. But they gave me my key and I was able to sneak my bags into the room which was ready anyway. Easy enough to walk from the train station in 10-15 minutes though confusing rteruning later in the dark. A shuttle bus also available which worth it with luggae ( 100 yen).

The buffets at breakfast and dinner were copious and varied but the whole place had the feel that it could easily accomodate multiple bus tours - but with class (e.g. the gardens outside are lovely -- and the lobby and corrdiors are calm). No wifi in room - and horrible wifi in lobby (the travel agent promised wifi for my iphone). And very very little English spoken at all.
What made it worthwhile were the onsens: men and women on different floors-- and multiple pools both inside and out. Good system of a safe in guest room and lockers in the very well appointed change rooms. Having a yakuta ( kimono type robe) also handy for the onsen and even the buffets.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank las_oldoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I just wanted a view of Mt. Fuji. Affordable hotel rooms were hard to find when we wanted to go but we booked this without understanding what we were really signing up for. This hotel is really more of a Japanese spa destination. You can not wear shoes in the building. They provide a kimono and it's acceptable to wear it around the hotel. The rooms were not impressive but comfortable enough and they had internet (plus a computer if you wanted to use theirs). We ate one meal at the hotel and it was a little pricey but convenient and tasty. What really made the place special were the onsen baths. There were 6 different options. Bathing is in the nude (segregated baths) but once you get over that, it is quite rejuvenating. The baths are open from 10 am - 9 am so you can go at your leisure. I also highly recommend the massage. Between the baths and the massage, I awoke the next morning quite energetic.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the train station. While the people at the station gave us directions, we opted for the 100 yen ($1.20 USD) shuttle bus the first trip to be sure we didn't get lost. Beside, going to the hotel is slightly uphill. We walked back and forth after that and enjoyed window shopping along the way. The hotel was good at explaining how to get to the cable car which was our destination for viewing Mt Fuji. They also kept our luggage while we were out for the day.

Room Tip: The western room included the internet and a computer. We had a view of a waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAPexplorer012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was a fabulous hotel and is just a quick walk to the local shops and train station. The service was great (however staff are not too proficient in English), waterfalls and garden wonderful and the onsens (which are located on the rooftop) are lovely. The European style room was cosy but also came with a computer and free internet connection. Definitely recommend, apart from the Ryoken in Shibu Onsen this was the best accommodation of the entire trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ret1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#5 of 243 in Hakone-machi
947 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 243 in Hakone-machi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kowakidani Onsen
Mizu no To
Mizu no To
#32 of 243 in Hakone-machi
323 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#23 of 243 in Hakone-machi
319 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#6 of 243 in Hakone-machi
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenseien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenseien

Property: Tenseien
Address: 682 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakone-machi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tenseien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenseien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenseien Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing