We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but not the best choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakone Senkei Plaza Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hakone-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hakone Senkei Plaza Inn
Ranked #179 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location but not the best choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

I booked for a night stay at the Annex of Senkei for 5 persons and paid good money for it, but only arrived to realize that they have allocated a room in the plaza inn for us instead of the annex. We tried communicating this to the reception lady who apparently don't speak English and could not understand us at all. The room is okay, but most of the stuff are worn-out and requires renovation. The hot spring just feels like a pool with warmer than regular temperature water and it was nothing special. I definitely would not go again and am sure there are better hotels elsewhere in Hakone. The so called restaurant in the hotel is more like a canteen in high school and the food is not spectacular. Just enough to get by.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RendyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

One of the first things I learned when I decided to go to Hakone, is that hotels are expensive. The Senkei Plaza Inn is expensive, but it is cheaper than all the surrounding hotels. This is what I was looking for.

The rooms are plain and decorated in a late 80's motif. Nothing impressive there. Also they have the typical tiny Japanese bathroom (think porta-potty with a shower). It was pretty bare bones, but the price was as well.

The one downside to the place is that it's quite a hike from the train station, about 20 to 30 minutes walk. We had large backpacks on, which made it somewhat difficult. Had we been walking with no packs, it would be a good walk through the city.

My favorite part about this inn was the hot spring baths. It's an interesting experience to do a Japanese bath, but once you are at the top of the complex overlooking tons of nature while soaking you know it's a good place to be.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Beautiful winter scenery. Polite, english-speaking service. This hotel may be a bit of a walk to the main town, but it's well worth the scenic stroll across rivers and bridges. A pity we only stayed one night and were unable to experience the open-air rooftop onsen (rotemburo) and the larger enclosed one, since they alternate gender twice a day.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

i travelled with 2 friends (3 ladies).

we got a mixed room (twin bed + tatami)

everything was in order and good!

the open air onsen was a bit far from the room, but it was nice!

a bit of walking from the train station, but we can relax, walk slowly and enjoy the nice view.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksukian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Nestled in the hills surrounding Hakone Yumoto, this hotel provides the western traveller a great introduction to the Japanese Onsen. The rooms vary from traditional western layout to traditional Japanese, at various prices to suit most budgets. The staff have an understanding of English and their hospitality is second to none. The onsen baths are spotless and the outdoor bath has seperate timings for men and women, so both sexes can experience the relaxing effects of bathing in an outdoor setting.

Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to ease themselves into the Japanese Onsen Culture.

  • Liked — A great merging of western and Japanese culture
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#9 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Senkei
Hotel Senkei
#126 of 242 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Senkei Annex Yamagaso
Senkei Annex Yamagaso
#67 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Kintoen
Kintoen
#204 of 242 in Hakone-machi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Yaeikan
Yaeikan
#90 of 242 in Hakone-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
K's House Hakone
#1 of 25 in Hakone-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Senkei Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Senkei Plaza Inn

Property: Hakone Senkei Plaza Inn
Address: 592 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0311, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing