We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We highly recommend this hotel if you are going to visit Hakone area. Excellent location, right across the bridge from Yumoto train station. The hotel itself sits amid the lush green serene expanse with the beautiful mountains in the background. Our room (standard) was very large and had a Japanese style sitting area. We even took the pictures of ourselves in the sitting area with provided Yukata (Japanese robes). All toiletteries, full yukata robes and slippers were provided. We booked the private hot spring bathtub room for US$10/45 min. It was absolutely worth it. The room has a tub, shower (sit style) and dressing area. It felt good to walk around in a spacious secluded hotel in Yukata. (Most of the guests did.) We ate at the Japanese restaurant (a la carte) and it was decent. We wish we could stay a few more nights!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    189
    63
    8
    1
See reviews for
130
113
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is just about two minutes walk from the train station and bus stops. If you plan to go sightseeing in Hakone, this would be the place to start off. However, there is virtually nothing to do in this part of town. At night, we just did the hotel's onsen as all the places outside were already closed. It was a bit on the expensive side even if you count in the free buffet breakfast, which was okay but not great. Only a handful of the staff spoke english so communication was a problem.

Room Tip: get the rooms in the new wing...less noise as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose this hotel for its location; Yumoto is the starting (and ending) point for Hakone trips. If you go further into Hakone, the train services become painfully slow and infrequent. So, if the weather is not favourable to sightseeing in Hakone, featuring magnificent views of Mt. Fuji, it is possible to visit Kamakura as an alternative.
We were upgraded to a much bigger room (43m2) with a better view than the one we originally booked as there was a band playing nearby and we would have been disturbed. The room was slightly dated but comfortable and very clean. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The public baths, including outside ones, were nothing special but we certainly enjoyed the experiences of dipping into the Onsen (hot spar) which opens 5am and closes 1am!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TestCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a very convenient location ( a stone's throw from the station and near the start of the Hakone round trip) and had great facilities including its own onsen (open until 1am most days) and three good restaurants. We had a great view of the river and mountains from the balcony in our room, and at night we could hear the river flowing which was really peaceful.

The staff are incredibly helpful and kind - we mistakenly arrived a day early and as they didn't have the same type of room available, they gave us an even nicer room at no extra charge!

I would recommend a Japanese style ryokan room - the bamboo mats and kimonos all added to the experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is one of the pricier hotel I have booked in my trip, but Hakone is a touristy area so it is as expected. The hotel has great location, within five minutes walk from Hakone-yumoto station, which is the end stop if you took romance train from Shinjuku. You can experience all different modes of transportation Hakone offers starting from here. Plenty of bus routes, and close to Odawara if you need to catch bullet trains.

You have to walk over a short bridge and an elevator will take you up to hotel level. Spacious lobby, and great service from the staff. I arrive early at noon, but they allow me to deposit my bags and promise to deliver my bags to my room when available, so I can go tour in the area. There was a small mixed up that the receptionist told me breakfast wasn't included even though it was stated on my reservation receipt, but it was sorted out later with another receptionist.
When I returned in the afternoon, a hotel staff personally took me to my room, and all my bags had already been delivered. I booked a single room, but I got a free upgrade to a double room. The room is pretty good size even with a sofa area.

The hot spring was really good with spacious pool area. I love the outdoor area especially at night. I think I even heard monkeys or weird animal sound, which is exciting and freaks me out at the same time. Bottom line, it was very comfortable, relaxing, and you felt like you have the entire place to yourself.

Yumoto Fujiya has 3 or 4 different restaurants(Japanese, Chinese, and French) inside and also a bakery shop. The restaurants are very pricey, set dinner ranges from the cheapest $35 to $100 above. There weren't many restaurants in the immediate yumoto station area let along ones opening for dinner, so I was compelled to eat in the restaurant. Then I found out you have a lot more choices (with reasonable pricing) if you took a 15 minute train to Odawara and eat there, especially if you have Hakone pass you can ride free.

Overall great hotel and great experience. Will definitely stay here again when I need to indulge myself a little.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 554mikeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Yumoto Fujiya is more of a western style hotel. The check in service was a little weird for me. Instead of receiving a card key for my room after checking in, we were told to wait for someone to show us to our room. We waited for about 5 minutes before we were greeted by a pleasant employee who explained how the card key works, dining in the hotel and some other things. We still had to wheel and carry our own luggage to the room. The onsen is nice. 2 large indoor pools - one that is still the other with underwater jets. There are 2 outdoor pools. 1 is stone with very comfortable carve outs all along the perimeter. The other is a rectangular cedar pool. Both can accommodate about 10 - 12 people each. The Japanese sit down dining restaurant in the hotel sucks. Eat at the (pricey) buffet. Better yet, eat at the izakaya on the 2nd floor. Better bang for your buck. And they open till midnight.

Room Tip: Convenient westernized hotel. Stay elsewhere if you want more of a Japanese experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Yumoto Fujiya Hotel for 2 nights while we were in Hakone. The staff at the check-in counter were great and informed us that unfortunately there weren't many restaurants around the area and even the ones that were around would not be open until very late so we decided to book with them for dinner at the Japanese restaurant inside of the hotel.

The room was of a moderate size with not much of a view of the roof of the neighbouring building but for a 2 night stay it was acceptable.

Despite the hotel not being that close to Hakone itself, the location was great in that it was very close to the JR station and we could easily hop on a bus to go to Hakone during the day (about 40 minutes travel, one way).

The hotel offers a number of services including a large public onsen, a games room and 3 or 4 restaurants. I would stay here again except be aware that the restaurants are not as cheap as one might like, but they are of good quality

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#5 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#28 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#17 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yumoto Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yumoto Fujiya Hotel

Property: Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Address: 256-1 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0392, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yumoto Fujiya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rich natural beauty of Hakone,the Yumoto Fujiya Hotel has been providing truly relaxing time to the guests.The hotel features not only fully equipped commodious convention halls,but also a wide variety of spa facilities with rich supply of hot spring water.Also recent facility renovation added more guest friendly affinities:inversing number of barrier-free rooms as well as non-smoking rooms and installing an elevator which provides easy access between Hakone-Yumoto station.and the hotel.The Yumoto Fujiya Hotel continues the best efforts to provide the most comfortable life in a leading Japanese resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yumoto Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing