We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed, but still good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed, but still good.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night stopping over on a trip to Tokyo. We booked this hotel as we read the reports about the location and the the nice onsen.
The location in Yumoto is indeed good but we found the village is not particularly nice or characteristic. It's just a strip along the river full of souvenir shops for international tourists and nothing worth remembering, at least for us. It *could* be a good base for visiting the area but you need to consider transfer times take quite much time.
The hotel itself, we knew anyway before coming and we somehow accepted it, was nothing particular. Pls do not misunderstand me, it is a solid 4 star hotel, and just based on that there is no pretext for any critic. Clean, efficient, comfortable but lacking atmosphere with a kind of 70's design anonymous decoration. Room on the small-ish side but nothing missing.
The room they gave us at check in was on the 4th floor of the left hand wing, which meant our view was basically a big terrace like roof at the level of our window and a little bit of mountain. So probably not the best room at hand, but this is just luck.
We found quite weird at the check in we were asked to pay in advance for the room, and we had the feeling the managing was a little confused. The staff did not speak a proper english so we were shown a sign asking for a deposit, and this ok, but then we realised they instead charged the credit card for the whole amount, which is not ok. I was later approached by a very kind representative who said they were very sorry that particular staff english was poor and explained about their policy. Nice and kind indeed, I was on holiday and wanting to argue, but the fact remains that for me paying in advance is a big NO NO, and gives me an utterly bad impression of the place.
A true highlight of the place is the onsen, big, nice and with a couple of pools outside, this was really nice.
We had dinner in the place, again dinner was spotless but I did not find something that excited my palate. Breakfast was just ok.
Internet: there is a WIRED connection in the room (and for these prices you could think there should be a WiFi connection...) and I had a portable router with me. Anyway the connection was so slow that I ended up using the 3G simcard I had which was faster.
Bottom line: I found this place not worth the money, as a personal opinion, even though they keep what they promise. Should we go back to the area, and since you go there to see hot springs, mountains and nature, I would probably look for some more characteristic and less anonymous accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    196
    66
    9
    1
See reviews for
135
120
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wandered in here after the Ryoken we had booked refused to let us in until 3 pm. After checking it out, we decided to scrap the Ryoken and we spent 2 wonderful nights here. The receptionist was amazingly helpful to us. Room was comfortable but, typically Japanese tight.
The place is very quiet and is a wonderful antidote to the urban madness of Tokyo. Green,peaceful outlook and sleeping to the sounds of the waterfall outside. Good food options ,spacious lounge and wonderful walks nearby. Oh,and great value. We really recommend it.

Room Tip: They all seem to have good views of nature and all seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

2 minute walk from the train station.
Nice modernised room, newly refurbished, clean.
Fantastic onsen.
Helpful staff.
Very expensive room, but I only booked it a day or so before.
I would stay here again but I would book well in advance so that I got a better rate.
The travel tickets are well worth the money, we did the trip at 2pm and then 9am the next day, an added bonus we saw Mount Fuji the second time around ads the weather was kind to us. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We highly recommend this hotel if you are going to visit Hakone area. Excellent location, right across the bridge from Yumoto train station. The hotel itself sits amid the lush green serene expanse with the beautiful mountains in the background. Our room (standard) was very large and had a Japanese style sitting area. We even took the pictures of ourselves in the sitting area with provided Yukata (Japanese robes). All toiletteries, full yukata robes and slippers were provided. We booked the private hot spring bathtub room for US$10/45 min. It was absolutely worth it. The room has a tub, shower (sit style) and dressing area. It felt good to walk around in a spacious secluded hotel in Yukata. (Most of the guests did.) We ate at the Japanese restaurant (a la carte) and it was decent. We wish we could stay a few more nights!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is just about two minutes walk from the train station and bus stops. If you plan to go sightseeing in Hakone, this would be the place to start off. However, there is virtually nothing to do in this part of town. At night, we just did the hotel's onsen as all the places outside were already closed. It was a bit on the expensive side even if you count in the free buffet breakfast, which was okay but not great. Only a handful of the staff spoke english so communication was a problem.

Room Tip: get the rooms in the new wing...less noise as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose this hotel for its location; Yumoto is the starting (and ending) point for Hakone trips. If you go further into Hakone, the train services become painfully slow and infrequent. So, if the weather is not favourable to sightseeing in Hakone, featuring magnificent views of Mt. Fuji, it is possible to visit Kamakura as an alternative.
We were upgraded to a much bigger room (43m2) with a better view than the one we originally booked as there was a band playing nearby and we would have been disturbed. The room was slightly dated but comfortable and very clean. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The public baths, including outside ones, were nothing special but we certainly enjoyed the experiences of dipping into the Onsen (hot spar) which opens 5am and closes 1am!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TestCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a very convenient location ( a stone's throw from the station and near the start of the Hakone round trip) and had great facilities including its own onsen (open until 1am most days) and three good restaurants. We had a great view of the river and mountains from the balcony in our room, and at night we could hear the river flowing which was really peaceful.

The staff are incredibly helpful and kind - we mistakenly arrived a day early and as they didn't have the same type of room available, they gave us an even nicer room at no extra charge!

I would recommend a Japanese style ryokan room - the bamboo mats and kimonos all added to the experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#20 of 242 in Hakone-machi
242 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#6 of 242 in Hakone-machi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#23 of 242 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yumoto Fujiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yumoto Fujiya Hotel

Property: Yumoto Fujiya Hotel
Address: 256-1 Yumoto, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0392, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yumoto Fujiya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the rich natural beauty of Hakone,the Yumoto Fujiya Hotel has been providing truly relaxing time to the guests.The hotel features not only fully equipped commodious convention halls,but also a wide variety of spa facilities with rich supply of hot spring water.Also recent facility renovation added more guest friendly affinities:inversing number of barrier-free rooms as well as non-smoking rooms and installing an elevator which provides easy access between Hakone-Yumoto station.and the hotel.The Yumoto Fujiya Hotel continues the best efforts to provide the most comfortable life in a leading Japanese resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yumoto Fujiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing