We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why an hotel in a station??” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Italia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Why an hotel in a station??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are a tourist, like me (and not a business-person) you may ask yourself “why should I choose an hotel in a railway station”? And why in Yokohama, far from Tokyo center?
I will tell you why.
First of all the hotel is from floor 10 to 19. No noise. Overlooking the city (not very interesting in that area, Shin-Yokohama; of course Yokohama would be better, near the sea and other attractions…but at that point I would have chosen a ryokan…if I found a good one ), so good view and a sense of free space.
The quality-price ratio is very favourable (I made a reservation with an internet website). Some guests comment that the room “is not big, but big enough for Japan”. Believe me, it is big enough also for Paris, Rome, London. If I am not wrong, mine (a standard, i.e. the smallest) was 23 square meters. Very good bed. A wide and good writing desk, were you can really work if you need. Free wireless. And for Europeans, do you remember how many times you realized that you did not have a plug adaptor? Associa hotel provides you one already in the special (clever) cavity on the writing desk. Of course, in Japan a customer will not carry it away when leaving …….so they they trust .
Everything modern, new, well maintained and well kept. Spotlessly clean. You never wait for an elevator, they are three and speedy. If you need the paraphernalia for ironing your dress or suit, it comes in a matter of minutes. There is a safe in the room. And a bottle (one for each guest) in the small refrigerator with no charge. If you drink it, the next day you find a new one. Is’n it service? Incidentally, the fridge contains only water.
The bathroom is ample enough and well organized. The practical intelligence of Japan is demonstrated by the way they deal with those crucial problems of the human condition: their solutions for the personal hygiene are an homage to brilliant thinking. Try.
You have a shower and a bathtub. So you can have a bath or a shower. Abundant cleansing liquids, a good hair conditioner. Emergency needs for shaving and tooth brushing are taken care of. Large space around the wash basin to put all your things (mainly, your wife’s).
In a drawer, there was also a couple of yukatas, say, as bathrobes or to relax. The cupboard is tiny, specially if you are two with suits and dresses for all occasions. This is the only drawback I can see.
Spacious lobby. Personnel quite young, helpful, efficient. In the right amount, and more. No queueing. On checking out I had my special company billing needs understood (cleverly) and fixed (quickly) by the clerk (hem … the Reception Assistant Manager !), in my case mr. D. Sakaki whom I want to thank. Needless to say anything more: this person understood the heart of the matter in seconds and did the right job in minutes. Always good to talk to a clever person.
Breakfast: correct, ample enough, well matched to category and price. Western and Japanese choices. Marginally, may I suggest to the hotel manager that the mixberry ought to be well defrosted before putting it in the bowl? Here also service is perfect from all points of view, matching expectations for the hotel category.
BUT now I come to the first reason why you might like staying in this hotel if you are visiting the area or the region.
Suppose you hold a J-Railpass. Suppose you have to travel to Kyoto or Osaka with the 6.00 am Shinkansen, or that you want to travel to Tokyo in a matter of 20 minutes. Or that you come back late and you just crave to reach your hotel room. Well…. the hotel elevator takes you to and from the station main hall, you just reach the track….there you are. You will use the Shinkansen as your bus to Tokyo. Or you will save, to Kyoto, 21 minutes of travel compared to leaving from Tokyo.
Which is so large a city that you probably it would take the same time to reach your hotel from any other part of the city as the time needed from Shin-Yokohama. After getting used to the transportation system (marvelous) we used to joke about the train stopping just in front of our room. Very very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    133
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
40
40
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was no my 5th stay in Yokahama, but the first in the Associa. In comparison with some other Business hotels (Prince, Daiwa…etc.) I would rank the Associa at the top End of Hotels for a reasonable price level. Rooms are really quiet (although train-station at the base floor), clean and sufficiently outfitted with WIFI, kettle, ironing-board.
Breakfast (Japanese and Western-style) is really extensive and tasty.
Looking forward to book again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Majas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Clearly a hotel at the top end of the range for a reasonable price. Firstly I was a little worried about its proximity to a large train station/terminal, however, the hotel itself starts and 10th or 13th floor and I can guarantee you won't be disturbed by any noises coming from the train station.

Stay itself was pleasant and comfortable with helpful staff always willing to help. My room preference has been accounted for for now extra cost. Rooms aren't particularly large but with all the required amenities. All clean and nice.

Connectivity wise conveniently located right in the heart of Yokohama - as I said it's right above the main train station. A quick and comfortable ride in Shinkansen bullet train will take you to Tokyo in no time at all, to and from Haneda airport there's a regular direct bus service, which is convenient, reliable and inexpensive.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views in the hallway down to reception ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Immotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The location is right at the Shin-Yokohama station and there is an easy access to taxis, busses and train. The lobby of the hotel is on the 10th floor. On the other floors, you can restuarants and other shops including a big camera electronic store. Everything is good, except three things which I experienced: 1) the air condition in the room cannot be adjusted to a temperature lower than 22 degree celsius. If you like sleeping in a colder room, this is not cool enough. 2) there is no gym in the hotel and going running in the area is not recommended. 3) I used the laundry service and marked dry cleaning for my trousers. Unfortunately the trousers have been in the laundry and the hotel staff could not help me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHeavyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here 3/7 for 2 nights after landing at Narita. The Airport Bus Service will take you directly to Shin Yokohama station for 3500 Yen from bus station 8. Counter is in front of you when you exit customs. To get to the hotel from the bus station you need to go up a flight of stairs and once in the train terminal, turn left and walk down in between some food shops to get to the elevator. The one on the left is the express to the lobby on the 10th floor. Out of the elevator go right and about 100 feet the hotel will be on the right. Hard to find if I didn't schlep around for awhile!! The hotel is new and as usual, rooms in Japan are spotless. They are small but more than enough room. Breakfast is included with a nice English and Japanese food offering. There are many restaurants within every ones price range, and stores for anything you need is here for you. All trains converge here from the Shinkonsen to the local Yokohama lines and JR lines.Wifi is great,hot showers and a nice professional staff is at hand to help always. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Check there website for deals.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will accommodate if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

me and my wife stayed here recently and liked it very much.
clean rooms, great personal with good service, good breakfast.
this is a brand new building. very convenient location - at the Shinkansen station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap80127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is located on 10th floor of the Shin Yokohama JR Station. It has a very modern European style design. Rooms are huge (compared to Japanese standard). Intercontinental breakfast is served in addition to Japanese Breakfast. Room service is great, coin laundry is available and is very helpful for long business stays. WiFi is available and free in the lobby and roons

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel
#14 of 112 in Yokohama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama

Property: Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Address: 2-100-45 Shin Yokohama, Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kohoku , Shinyokohama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#6 Business Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama is perfectly positioned. Located immediately above Shin-Yokohama station, it provides easy and direct access to Tokyo, Yokohama, Nagoya, and Osaka. It only takes 17 minutes to Tokyo station and 10 minutes to Shinagawa Station by bullet train, and 35 minutes to Haneda Airport by direct buss. All the rooms have high-speed Internet access. At the 24-hour front desk, they provide dry cleaning services and currency exchange. They also offer massage services at your room. At the spacious Brasserie La Classe, you can enjoy Western or Japanese buffet breakfast. They offer a lounge for staying guests where you can relax with a variety of drinks. There is the Cubic Plaza below the hotel where you can enjoy a variety of restaurants and shopping, such as Bic Camera and Uniqlo. For those who would like to enjoy activities, there is Yokohama Arena and Ramen Museum within a 10-minute walk and 5-minute taxi ride to Nissan Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Associa Shin Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing