We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and undersized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Reviewed 20 May 2012

While appreciating that rooms in Tokyo are not palatial by any standard the new Otani does not live up to its main brother hotel standards in any way
Uncomfortable bed with a pillow that is all but in name a brick
Clean and modern furnishings yes but absolutely no atmosphere no outlets not even a bottle of water in room
Reception staff (male perhaps not all) are so unwelcome and remote that i felt I was checking into a respite shelter.
Breakfast is edible but coffee tastes like recycled Lub oil
Very high price for what is a glorified motel
I will never be back

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationerfmsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Over multiple business trips to Yokohama (Landmark Tower, Sakuragicho), I have stayed at several reasonably priced hotels in the Yokohama area, and the New Otani out-does them ALL. Hands Down.

It is good value for money, except for weekends, when the price skyrockets (owing to out-of-town shoppers).
Location is super - few mins walk from Sakuragicho station, 30s to the mall (Collete Mare), few mins from Queens and Landmark Tower. You can't go wrong.
The place is brand new, very well kept, clean and neat and decent room size, considering it is Japan.
THE VIEW - the big ferris wheel, the 3 mast sailing ship, World Porters and Pan Pacific, football fields, the canals, and the ocean.
Breakfast - very well placed, fresh omellettes, a great cup of Earl Grey and toast.

Coming to Yokohama for 2 days or a week, this is surely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick front facing rooms on a higher floor. The view is really nice when higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huzefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel was more than I expected for the price paid -- an absolute steal! If you can read Japanese, try to book it through a site like "zyaran" and you will find unbelievable deals (JPY 6,000 per person) depending on your travel dates. While the room is on the smaller side, it is very well appointed and stylish. The decor is artsy and the bathroom was quite elegant with great amenities. I was very impressed.

What makes the hotel even better is that it is located close to the Sakuragicho station and is actually located within one of the shopping complex in the Minatomirai area. There's a cafe and convenience store (Natural Lawson) in the same building which makes it super easy to get refreshments or a quick bite to eat. There are lots of great restaraunts to choose from within walking distance. You can easily spend an entire day just in this area because there's so much to see -- especially if you like shopping.

While I haven't tried the top 2 ranked hotels, I highly recommend New Otani Inn to anyone visiting the Yokohama area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for one week in this hotel recently.
It is very centrally located being right on the train line.
The lobby of the hotel is decorated very nicely with contemporary decor. The rooms are of a high standard and the harbour view is spectacular.
The restaurant was very nice for breakfast.
The Landmark tower is right next door with a wonderful shopping experience.
Please come you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki64Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Was to be in Yokohama at the beginning and end of our trip and after a very expensive stay at the Intercontinental (because they had a pool - but our daughter isn't 18, so it was a useless ammenity), I booked at the New Otani Inn Sakurkicho. The staff was wonderful. Location fantastic and while the room was smaller than at the Intercon, it was fine for my husband, 5 year old daughter and me. The gym fee was also about half that of the Intercon. No room service, but a fine buffet breakfast. There is no grand lobby, but the restaurant is open all hours and you need only go through a hallway to be in a shopping mall with movie theater and restaurants. Across the street is the Landmark Tower and behind you is Sakuragicho station. Walk across the bridges and you are near the World Porter Building. Walk down the street and you are at Cosmo World Minatomirai. For distances, it took me less than 10 minutes to walk from the Intercont to the New Otani Inn. The prices I obtained from the front desk for a one week forward booking were substantially lower than what I see on their website. Not sure how that works, though......

Room Tip: Our sea view room looked right out to the world's largest ferris wheel - nice surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After 2 nights in Tokyo"s busy Shibuya, Yokohama offers a nice relief. New Otani hotel is sleek, clean, super efficient and fabulously located. Hotel is right at the Sakuragicho stop. You could also reach it from Yokohama sta., or Minatomirai sta. Right outside of the hotel is Information office with friendly English speaking stuff. Ask for the map of the Circular bus #4, that for 100 yen will take you around all sights of interest.
Speaking of hotel, as a bonus you have great views from your room - either on the Yokohama bay, or at Mt. Fuji! Breakfast buffet offers multitude of options combining Western staples and Japanese dishes. I plan to come back again - great hotel (look for bargains, my Japanese friend booked it for me for 130,000yen/night - double room). I believe normally it is much more expensive. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It is luxury and calm hotel placed in downtown close to Landmark Tower. Very convenient place. It is pleasant to walk near hotel in the night. There are many nice restaurants, bars, stores, and entertainments. Breakfast served at the third floor is tasty and delicious.

Room Tip: I recommend to choose city view rooms with wonderful view of Fuji Mount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium

Address: 1-1-7 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku | TOC Minatomirai, Yokohama 231-8332, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Noge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range: £72 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing