We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After traveling throughout Japan many times a year this was absolutely the worst hotel experience I have had in the country. The staff was unfriendly and rude. I asked for assistance with printing a boarding pass for my flight in the morning and the man at did not even try to assist me or understand what I was trying to accomplish. The manger did not help assist me in finding a location to print a simple boarding pass. When I told him that they were not being very helpful he crumpled up a piece of paper and through it onto the floor. for $20,000 yen for a standard room they surely disappointed. Breakfast was mediocre at best and not worth the extra room rate. Stay someplace else!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WS1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

The standard of service in Japan is so high, that I was surprised at how unhelpful and unbending the staff were. The same goes for the breakfast and dinner options in the hotel (starts late, finishes early). On the positive side, location is excellent and easy to get to from Yokohama station. And the views - either of the Bay or Mount Fuji (on a clear day).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The room was really nice , super modern, the breakfast really delicious good selection of Japanese dishes and european meals
the view is amazing for Yokohama bay, one the best view i have ever had in Yokohama hotels

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lomexito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stay here quite often on business. For japan this is good value for money. If you are bay side you get a great view of the ship, ferris wheel, amusement park and the bay. If you are on the town side, you get good views of mount fuji ... Always a great start to a day.

Breakfast is good, nice mixture of western, asian, healthy. Food. Have not eaten there in the evening. For those who enjoy beers, there is a good english pub just outside. Also across the road is a building with several restaurants.

Excellent connections to the trains. Sakuragicho is literally outside and the Minatomirai line (direct trains into Shibuya) is just a short walk through two shopping malls in the Landmark tower development. Also a short walk from the busier parts of yokohama.

Rooms are ok. Aircon kicks in quite aggressively, so if you are jetlagged you might wake up easily.

Overall. Pretty good hotel.

Room Tip: I think they are more expensive, but the bay side rooms have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanghai_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Shame really. Nice clean rooms perfect location but lacks professional service. Would not allow early check in (only 30 minutes early) unless you pay an additional ¥1000 but would rather have everybody check in at exactly 3pm causing a queue that took close to an hour to check in.
Has the New Otani prices but lacks the New Otani service.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was in Yokohama to go around the Kanagawa area after some meetings in Tokyo. As I haven't been to Yokohama in a long while I was not familiar with hotels in the area aside from the more expensive ones in the Minato Mirai district. I found the New Otani over the internet and decided to try it out as its location is great (i.e., It's a short walk to/from the train station). The staff spoke English well and were very accommodating as I arrived early and had to leave my luggage first so I could explore the city.

My room turned out to be really good with a great view of the bay (refer to the photos). My bed was comfortable and afforded me a good rest after full days of walking around Yokohama and Kamakura. The room had a safe where I could put in my notebook and valuables so I didn't have to worry about them. A pleasant feature is the piped in sounds of the sea as you walk along the corridors. There was high speed internet available at the room though to connect you need a LAN cable (which the hotel provided).

Overall experience at the hotel was excellent and I would definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Yokohama.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are the best rooms and you can easily book these online. Try checking out the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0ctrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Was there for a business trip and chose the hotel due to its location and room size. Although it wasn't cheap by any means, it was probably a good deal by Yokohama standards.
It is located just above a shopping mall so that is a huge plus, and it is a stone's throw away from the Sakuragicho JR station and the Minatomirai subway station. Front counter is actually pretty small so you might have to be prepared to wait awhile if there is a crowd (generally 2 staffs manning the counter). The staffs do speak basic amount of English so that shouldn't be a problem.
Will stay there again in future with similar budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jais_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium

Address: 1-1-7 Sakuragicho, Naka-ku | TOC Minatomirai, Yokohama 231-8332, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Noge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range: £70 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing