We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guest House Kanalian
Nearby Hotels
US$331
US$179
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Plumm(Yokohama)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
US$76
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
US$149
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Yokohama(Yokohama)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
US$88
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New Grand(Yokohama)
US$222
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$104
Hotel Website
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
33
0
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
0
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

An awesome place to stay! We chose Kanalian as a hub to Tokyo city. The house furnishing looks newly build and extremely clean. Facilities and architecture it has exceed an usual guest house and it has everything we need. Room for 2 pax was small but you can't expect more with 2000 yen/pax. But the bunk beds were so comfy, smart locker design and luggage storage at the bottom part of the bed. Every part of the house was so tidy and unique with Lee's diligently designed. The owner Lee is so hospitable and speaks adequate English. We arrived early and he's fine to let us check in, and shared some great places to go in Yokohama. The house is close to supermart and 7-10mins walk to Yokohama Station. We had a great time in Yokohama as they do have bicycles so we tour around the city. Kanalian is so worth the value and will definitely come back if we visit Tokyo again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hsyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This place was awesome. Hard to find, especially in the dark, in the rain with a taxi driver who speaks NO English, but well worth finding. The owner built the place by hand and it has wonderful ambience and great contacts with guests. I am coming back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazrtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Location is perfect for navigating around Yokohama. It is about 15 mins walk from station. I had printed out the Japanese map (with detailed cartoon-like drawing) to locate the guesthouse.

The place was spotless, considering it has been around for 3 years. The furnishing looked brand new. Room was extremely clean, with locker provided at the side of bunk bed. Toilets were clean and Lee had provided all necessities (shower, shampoo, ear buds, body wash, hair dryer for the guests. I have never been to a guesthouse as spotless as Kanalian's.

Lee was very kind and offered drinks. He was very knowledgeable and shared with me stories. Very easy-going guy who offered great insights into Yokohama and beyond.

For 2000 yen, you do not even need to think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophi3j0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pronounced ka-na-lee-ahn. Completely wooden and renovated by hand! Very beautiful architecture and great for budget travellers. Lee (the only one operating the entire business from cleaning to Service) handed us free beer on our second night while we had a mini chat/chill with fellow travellers. All extremely friendly and from all over the globe (there was a Mexican who was in Japan to study shaolin martial arts).

(High-quality) Shampoo, soap, conditioner, cotton buds, cotton wool, hairdryer, towel, toothbrush... all daily essentials were provided, and only at $30 per night It's like Lee was paying us to stay here!

Bunk beds were comfy and heating was excellent. For those sleeping on top, no worry, the ladders have broad steps which will not hurt your soles as you climb. Lockers are also provided which can accommodate a 24" suitcase and some clothes

Shower rooms are all on first floor, these were super clean and offered great privacy. There're two toilets on second floor with a large sink area so no squeezing in the morning. Communal kitchen at first level with a large fridge with ample storage space. Finally, no lack of power points everywhere.

IF coming with bulky or heavy luggage, I suggest taking a Cab from the station (it cost us Y710 for 4 persons). There're some long flights of stairs involved along the way and first-timers might get lost even with directions provided.

Lee speaks adequate English to communicate and only accepts Reservations 1 month in advance.

Kanalian is the ideal place to stay at while using it as a base to Tokyo. Yokohama - the nearest station is only about 10 minutes away. And it's about a 45 minute journey to Tokyo.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triciaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If planning a trip to Tokyo, I really recommend staying in this guest house in Yokohama. It is only 25 minutes to Shibuya from Yokohama station and it will cost you 260 yen only.
The owner makes everyone feel welcome and the place is immaculate. The price is very reasonable. Yokohama is a great place to explore, when needing a break from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. I also met some fantastic people staying here and I always thought myself fairly shy, sob sob sob.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cosimo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews