We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful room view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful room view”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The room has one of the most beautiful view and, for the first time, I enjoyed sleeping with the curtain open. Unfortunately, this is a very Japanese oriented hotel as can be seen on the hopelessly limited English TV channels and the instruction for using remote control is challenging to understand for a foreigner.

Room Tip: I have not tried the breakfast in the hotel, but finding breakfast outside of the hotel can be a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogmastervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    679
    225
    67
    34
See reviews for
376
430
149
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Dated rooms that need renovation, club lounge has 3 music pieces playing morning to evening, japanese language paper twice a day (even though we requested english which should be clear from our profile), selection of food and drinks is decent in the evening, although the service is slow (the staff seem to disappear completely from the lounge, which makes me think that is their way to limit the amount of drinks consumed), the breakfast in the lounge is not tasty, the fruit platter is good for 2 -3 people, so I feel uncomfortable to help myself to more...
The hotel rate differs depending on the room view - city (the view of Landmark tower and amusement park) and sea (just a short strip of the bay with lots of chimneys and industrial sites). in my opinion, the cheaper view is actually nicer, more alive.

Room Tip: don't pay for more expensive sea view room unless it's a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoo-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hotel is set in a sail shaped building and located in the heart of Minato Mirai connected to the convention centre and a shopping mall.
Hotel is a little dated and the room that I stayed in has decor of the 80s. However, it was good value for the price I paid so will return.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel is conveniently located in the Minato Mirai area and short walk to Queen's Building and Landmark. There is a sightseeing bus stop (Akai Kutsu) just opposite the hotel which is a good option for do a bit of sight seeing in Minato Mirai area. There is also a subway in the Queen's Building which is just a short walk from the hotel.
Gym facilities are available but its not free.
Staff were very friendly and accomodating. They allowed me to check in early. In addition I requested for a room change and they accomodated my request. You had to call for an iron to be delivered to your room. But the good thing was they left the iron in my room throughout my 3 week stay instead of taking it away everyday (like what some other hotels do). :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, AUS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed here for the first as the Pan Pacific was full. Very comparable to the pan pac with great views and restaurants. Wifi is available but requires passwords. Gym available but prohibitively expensive. Great Italian restaraunt but also expensive. Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed for 6 nights on business trip, location is great, linked to underground train 2 stops to Yokohama station. Room was really good, would have liked to have had sea view but no problem maybe next time. Good breakfast choices. Pleasant and typically polite service. Nice and handy for walk to kanai along the coast. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Pre book room overlooking coast or river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed here my first night in Japan and it was in a really good location, a quick 2 minute walk to the metro, and in a great neighborhood right next to a little amusement park. It was also next to Queen's Square which is a fantastic shopping mall (the metro station is inside the mall, believe it or not).

The service was fantastic and the staff was very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean as well, but the interior of the room was a bit dated. I didn't mind, but it might be an issue for some travelers.

On the plus side, I had a fantastic view of the amusement park and of Minatomirai from my room and it was overall quite a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 112 in Yokohama
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Noge
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Kohoku
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Yokohama Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Yokohama Grand

Property: InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Address: 1-1-1 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku, Yokohama 220-8522, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Business Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#11 Family Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Yokohama Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minato Mirai area is the face of the cosmopolitan City of Yokohama in the 21st century. Opening in 1991, InterContinental Yokohama Grand is the first in Japan to be operated directly by the InterContinental Hotels Group chain. Since then, the hotel, with its majestic shape of a yacht's full sail, has become a proud symbol of Minato Mirai. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay in the hotel's elegant space surrounded by blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Yokohama Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Yokohama Grand Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Hotel Yokohama
Inter Continental Yokohama
Yokohama Inter-Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing