We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but no Wifi in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but no Wifi in rooms”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Beautiful looking hotel close to the waterfront. The staff were fantastic they went out of their way to show us how to get to Tokyo Disney. The rooms were typically Japanese (ie: small) but we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The hotel is easy to find from the train station which is a plus if you have heaps of bags just make sure you walk down to the waterfront because on the map at the train station it looks like the hotel is one street up from the waterfront. The hotel didn't have wifi in the rooms which was a negative.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Stiosti,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your voice with us.
We apologize that Wi-Fi was not functioning in your guest room. Wi-Fi is in fact availble in all of our guest rooms. We will take measures for better maintenance. Our apologies once again.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    228
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
193
120
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights during the recent Japan trip and it was a right choice.
Close to everywhere. Especially, China Town is a very short walk away.

They upgraded us to the corner twin room. Although the hotel was a bit tired and it was not modern like Monterey Grasmere Osaka where I stayed last year, the room was spacy and had great amenities(Yes! they have Wi-Fi now!!!). The room rate was also very good for the location. Hotel New Grand near by was too busy for me and Minatomirai hotels were too pricy and far from the area we wanted to be.
Minatomirai, China Town, Yamashita Koen, Motomachi are extremely popular for Japanese tourists and weekenders and I recommend to start looking for a good rate early.

We did not use the service(They looked hot and crowded inside...), but, Akaikutsu is a hop in hop off bus service in Yokohama and it costs only 100 yen per ride. The Yamashita Koen bus stop was less than a block away from the hotel.

From Narita, we used a limousine bus to YCAT, then, from YCAT to the hotel was just a short taxi ride.
If you don't mind dragging your suitcase for 5-10 minutes, there is a limousine bus directly from Narita to Hotel New Grand.
To Haneda, there is a Keykyu Bus service from Yamashita Koen Bus stop and it costs 700 yen one-way. Again, we didn't like to drag our heavy luggage, so, we took a cab to YCAT and then used a Keykyu Bus to Haneda. (500 yen)

Behind the hotel, there is a quiet street where has many cozy restaurants. My favorite was Bar Three Martini. The closest convenience store from the hotel is Daily Yamazaki. (about 5 minutes walk)
In China town, there are so many to choose from. My recommendation would be Heichinro, Manchinro, Saiko Shinkan. (I used to live a block from China Town, so, I know the area like the back of my hand.)

The Hotel Montery Yokohama was parfect for my nostalgic trip. The regular taxi drivers in front of the hotel were super nice and cool!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location for both the waterfront and Chinatown. The staff were very helpful; reception staff particularly. The rooms were clean and spacious (no beds against the wall here) and well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We arrived with a same-day reservation and they took somewhat advantage of it, which we did not like [they argued that we had booked for one and not two, and that they could not check with Agoda because of the time difference, so they had to charge us $20 more a day]. However, we had a splendid room, somewhat larger than standard 3 or 4 star hotels in Japan, and on the 12th floor, with a splendid view of Yokohama Bay. Since we had had a very bad experience in Tokyo with an airbnb apartment that we fled, and could find no available hotels in Tokyo, we commuted from Yokohama and it was a delight to come back to our beautiful room after the very civilized but incredibly large crowds in Tokyo. We never ate at the hotel (they stop serving at 8pm and it is quite expensive) but we became habitues at the soba shop that is just behind it. I loved Tokyo, and I want to go back to it, but Yokohama and the bay charmed me. We stayed there 6 nights. It is a rather elegant "wedding hotel" and has no special amenities other than halls and a grand lobby. I prefer JAL City in Yokohama, a better value.

Room Tip: Go high and choose bay view. It is worth it. Some clients complain that it is noisy, because it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagaPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed one night here with my friend in a twin room. The hotel in nicely situated opposite a park and very close to the sea front. It is a relatively short walk from the Cosmo World theme park and Landmark Tower. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, the room was also reasonably spacious and the beds were comfortable. All areas of the hotel are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCURTIS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
237 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location, right opposite a park on the waterfront at Yokohama. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious with a large king sized bed, which was comfortable. There was a mini fridge, tea making facilities, free internet (although not wi-fi), robes, safe, TV, humidifier and good air-conditioning. The bathroom was of a good size too providing all the essential toiletries and good shower pressure. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that the rooms are not really that soundproof as we could hear people next door and unfortunately we had a family upstairs so we could hear kids running around.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel Monterey makes the most of its location next to Yokohama with beautiful views from the seafront bedrooms. The bedrooms themselves are a good size, very well equipped (toothbrushes and paste, hair brushes, razors and shaving cream as well as the usual toiletries) and spotlessly clean. They also provide pyjamas for your stay! Mini bar is not particularly well-equipped, even with basics like water and you also have to pay extra for coffee. Information provided in the room is mainly just in japanese, so figuring out things like channels on the TV or whether there is room service is a bit of a challenge.
Common areas of the hotel are a bit soulless and there is no bar as far as we could discern. It is worth having breakfast on 13th floor for the view alone.
Staff were polite, friendly and very helpful. However, english is limited and it was sometimes difficult to obtain information about getting to/from places in Yokohama.
There is a subway station round the corner so easy to travel into central Yokohama and beyond.Chinatown is just down the road and the main upmarket shopping street is about 10 minutes walk away. The Landmark Tower (tallest in Japan) and its huge shopping centre are a couple of stops on the subway.

Room Tip: Worth paying the small extra amount for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 113 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Kannai
Rose Hotel Yokohama
Rose Hotel Yokohama
#11 of 113 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Yokohama

Property: Hotel Monterey Yokohama
Address: 6-1 Yamashita-cho Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-8526, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Yokohama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a wonderful panoramic view of the port city of Yokohama, while the classic-modern design is based on the sister city of Vancouver, making for a relaxing and comfortable stay. Situated in the heart of Yokohama, close by are the gingko trees of Yamashita Park, while to the front you have a lovely view of the sea, allowing you to imagine explorers of days gone by setting sail across the vast oceans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing