We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Reviewed 10 April 2013

OK. I agree, the hotel needs updating. And if your main destination is Yokohama, then the Shin-Yokohama Prince is not the place to stay. By subway - a solid 20 minutes. But in reading reviews here, I see NO MENTION of the single greatest feature of this hotel: The Beer Garden. It's only open in the summer, but they have this HUGE tower of beer that they bring to your table from which you pour/share with others at the table. The staff is great, the food excellent. There is an extra charge for using the swimming pool - it is not included in your room rate. But check it out: http://www.welcome.city.yokohama.jp/eng/travel/trend_reports/2009/07.html

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngannonlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a very dated, basic hotel in Shin Yokohama that is only worth staying in if you are working in Shin Yokohama. The hotel is very easy to find from the Shin Yokohama station which is always a bonus in Japan, alternatively you can take a shuttle bus directly to and from Narita Airport from outside the hotel. I found this the easiest as I didn’t have to change trains then.
I was very unhappy with my room are there were a number of stains on the carpet, curtains and bedding (I didn’t expect this in Japan). They happily moved me to a different room though which was much cleaner and had slighly nicer bedding. They explained though that his room wasn't on the "womens floor" , they asked if I was happy to be on a floor with mens rooms, which I was. The doors have locks don't they and I have my own bathroom! The rooms are tiny, I had a twin room and the beds are just too narrow for Europeans. There is also no room for luggage anywhere, and there is only enough space to hang up a couple of items of clothing.
The rooms feel very dated, and the hotel does not seem modern at all. It’s a very big hotel and on the ground floor there are vending machines and a laundry room, and some places to buy Japanese confectionary.
I didn’t find that there was a nice atmosphere in this hotel, like you would normally find in a hotel bar. I think if I am working in Shin Yokohama again, I will stay in Yokohama and take the train to work as there is not much around the hotel aside from the train station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Easily the worst hotel ive stayed in whilst on business travel in Japan. Rooms are small and dated, but at least clean. The breakfast is a disaster and must be avoided. Staff very helpful in giving city advice, and spoke English. Location is good within the city but the overall hotel experience means i can assure once you have stayed you would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bisgrovejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week and found the hotel to be best in class as compared to the one around at Yokohama. Amazing experience of having view of mount Fuji. The reasonably priced tiny rooms surprise you for a single occupancy and those rooms are indeed for single occupancy. The hotel staff and service is friendly and up to the mark.The 150 meter high cylindrical shape of hotel gives 360 degree view of Yokohama.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Fuji san.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rajesh_International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for a week. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. It is attached to a shopping mall and has a supermarket - which were so convenient (and McDonald's right around the corner). It is more reasonably priced than a lot of Japanese hotels. The rooms ere very small, but nicely done. It was also right next to the train station, which made it so easy to travel around Tokyo. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again. It's a good value, clean and comfortable, but not luxury. Convenience is a huge plus.

Room Tip: City noise is going to be there no matter what - I would try not to face the train track and be on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamu421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This review is for the ShinYokohama Prince Hotel in Yokohama, Japan.

Overall assessment: A fine place to spend a few days at a reasonably priced room for this region. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms cleaned nicely. One glaring blemish is the in-room carpeting; it is has a million stains in it. Kept very clean by housekeeping but in urgent need of replacement; it’s that off-putting that I even mention it. If that doesn’t affect you then this hotel is an excellent choice. Room was $210 per night for 2 adults (each in a twin bed.) One small couch (can’t fold it out) could fit a child up to 10 sleeping on it.

The hotel itself is a cool looking round building that towers over the main train station serving the city. Our room was on the 36th floor and the view was spectacular! The amenities, customer and maid service are more or less comparable to any other hotel. The Bell Captain’s desk is staffed with friendly, helpful folks with maps, recommendations and pretty decent English speaking capabilities.

Inside the room, the two people sharing it each had a twin bed, slippers and robe. There was a also small couch, TV, kettle and small closet in the room. TV was only in Japanese but you could rent a small computer chip from a vending machine that expanded it to an English language movie channel and a couple of Japanese "adult" channels (which were hilarious BTW.) It cost $5 per night to rent and we only got it for the first night. Moving on, the beds were medium hard and okay to sleep on. The pillows were ubiquitous Japanese and filled with both foam and beans (in some hotels they are only filled with beans.) You may wish to purchase and inflatable pillow to bring with you when traveling to Japan.

The bathroom offered tons of complimentary toiletries, usually a toothbrush with toothpaste, razor, packet of Woolite for rinse and hang articles, hairbrush, comb and more. Both the shower, toilet and bidet rocked! The shower was adjustable in a variety of ways and had amazing water pressure. The toilet was typical Japanese. The seat was heated (choose from low, medium and high) and had a built in bidet (for a ladies rinse) or “shower” for a backside cleanse using a rear (pun intended) stream of water. Americans don’t use these type of toilets so it’s always novel to hear about a new person’s experience which normally ends with “I love it” or “it’s just so clean and refreshing.”

They have a restaurant downstairs, vending machines which sold sodas, fruit drinks, beers, hot foods like fried rice and ramen, random toiletries, and a coin operated laundry room.

The hotel is attached to the Prince Pepe shopping building – something akin to a small vertical mall. You’ll find restaurants, clothes stores, personal services like back and foot massage (awesome after a day of walking around). Be sure to let the merchants know you are staying in the hotel and they may offer you a discount. I saved $14 on a 60 minute foot massage because I happened to comment I was staying there.

The jewel of the hotel is the Sky of Yokohama bar at the top of the hotel. Naturally the view is phenomenal at night but it was the drinks that made my visit there so wonderful. Have the China Blue. Made with Lychee liquer and curacao, it will knock your socks off.

The ShinYokohama Prince was a good value when compared to other hotels in Yokohama, Japan. This author paid $210 per night in late October, 2012, and feels it hit the “reasonable” mark. The stay was purchased through Expedia.com. When compared to American hotels and what you get, I would have rated this experience “below expectations” though. For $125 in America, I can get a larger room with two double beds and reasonably 4 people could comfortably stay there. You simply can’t do that in Japan. There is no room. This room could fit 2 adults and perhaps a small child of 10 or younger sleeping on the couch (not a pull out, the room is too small.) To fit more people, you have to rent another room. This will be true of nearly all hotels in Japan. For roomier options, my research led me to www.roomarama.com where I could look at apartments which were vacation rentals.

The glaring pimple on this hotel stay was this. The carpet in this hotel is very old and very stained. Once a soft powdery baby blue, it now has splotches and blotches and looks very unattractive. That doesn’t mean it’s dirty though. This hotel is meticulously attended to and extraordinarily clean. You can tell they’ve probably had it professionally treated and refurbished but it’s a lost cause. My guess is the cost is just so prohibitive right now in this recession that there is no money available for an expensive carpet replacement. The stains are extremely noticeable in the rooms though and if this was an American hotel, I would not walk on the carpet as much as possible because I would think it gross. Watching the diligence with which the rooms were cleaned each day though, you understand the floor is perfectly clean (and, of course, you are provided with complimentary slippers while staying there.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as high a floor as possible facing the train station for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xplore-Your-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The hotel is a little bit far away from Yokohama city. But the hotel room is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet (Japenese and Amercian) taste is OK, but the ambience has a kind of canteen style.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluespacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Kohoku
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
810 reviews
Tsurumi-ku
Best Western Yokohama
Best Western Yokohama
#23 of 114 in Yokohama
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel

Address: 3-4 Shin Yokohama, Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-8533, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#23 Business Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range: £55 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 975
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shin Yokohama is a sculptured, urban-style building rising 42 floors above ground. The gentle, cylindrical shape gives it a futuristic appeal. Just 16 minutes from downtown Tokyo, the hotel is connected to the Shin Yokohama Shinkansen Station and the Shopping Plaza Prince Pepe, making it a convenient hub for both business and leisure activities. The area surrounding the hotel is in itself a large amusement complex featuring various sports facilities, including a skating rink, indoor tennis courts and bowling alleys. Also nearby are the landmarks of exotic Yokohama city, Chinatown, the hillside parks and the Yokohama Bay port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Fastbooking, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Yokohama
Yokohama Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing