We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Class”
Review of Hotel New Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel New Grand
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury and Class”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with wife and 2 children in a suite with fantastic view over the bay. We had room only but great value at around £90 per night. We were travelling light and were pretty casually dressed (scruffy) but still had a great welcome.

Great position with many attractions within walking distance. If we ever return to Yokohama, this is where we will stay

Room Tip: Bay view as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimCBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    357
    75
    15
    9
See reviews for
288
209
61
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good location close to (but not overwhelmed by) re-developed waterfront areas.
Easy access to Yokohama centre and rail connections beyond.
Pleasant hotel, excellent staff (as in most Japanese hotels).
High rooms in new tower offer great view over harbour.
Rooms large for Japan, good kit and comfortable.
Excellent breakfast offered and, during re-building works, re-located to the plush restaurant (spacious and bright).
Accommodation reasonably priced, dining options expensive.
And, Japanese TV still baffles me!

Room Tip: High floor, corner room, with views in 2 directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsieurHulot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊予約課, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank upu very much for choosing Hotel New Grand this time.

We are so grateful for your kind words and will continue our efforts to make our customers happier.

We kool forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark Fork, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Hotel so exceeded my needs it was wonderful. Situated in a Beautiful spot with Chinatown a block away , the Port out my window and the subway within a block ! too easy.
the Staff were totally wonderful and the breakfast buffet one of the best ! I don't know what it costs as I wasn't paying but if possible I will be back ! Thanks New Grand Hotel for making my stay so easy and comfortable . OH did i mention the room ? clean and large and fast internet .

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the ocean but i had a side room high up and could see the port easy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊予約課, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
We are delighted to receive your notes,and were especially pleased to read the kind words
about our staff.

We would like to let you know how gratifying it was to receive your kind note of support and
encouragement.

We are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent hotel, rooms are very good and extremely comfortable. Hotel is first class and the staff extremely helpful. The hotel is located on the sea front and nicely situated. You can walk to the parks which are just in front of the hotel. Nice setting, and very close to china town. Couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveJane1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed in the New Grand for the first time 50 years ago. In the meantime, the modern tower has been added, but the original building has kept its charm. The rooms are big with all necessary amenities (WLAN included), and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The entrance to the subway is only a few minutes away. Chinatown and the beautiful Yamashita Park are close by. We booked during our trip over the internet and paid Y 14'000 per night - a real bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great. Stayed there for a night with my family. The hotel was the official residence for military personnel during WW II. It still holds the imperial etiquette.

Great location and room. The restaurant has beautiful view. Great relaxing atmosphere. Next to the subway.

Not advisable for people looking for cheap bargains.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oz_bong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights during a conference taking place in Yokohama. The company I was accompanying booked it for me. Looking at the tripadvisor pictures here, I didn't even realize that there was an old historic part since I stayed in the new tower which I thought was the hotel.

Good location right near the local subway station and steps from the waterfront and Chinatown.

Fast check-in and very polite service from everyone. I stayed on the 13th floor facing the harbour so you get a great view of the water. The room was looking a little dated, but everything is in good condition and good working order. The room was gigantic compared to my hotel in Tokyo. The bed was big and comfortable. Breakfast was not included. The wifi in the hotel is very fast and has good connectivity.

I didn't spend too much time in the hotel here since I was busy with the conference, so if you are just looking for a decent hotel to stay at and looks don't matter to you so much, this is a reliable hotel, if a little on the pricey side, But overall, is was good, so I can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Grand

Property: Hotel New Grand
Address: 10 Yamashiracho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-8520, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kannai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#2 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#6 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#8 Business Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel New Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New Grand is your classic&comfortable home.Sophisticatedly furnished room produces a noble,dignified ambience,gently wrapping your stay withpure relaxation.Inheriting the tradition and history, the unique Hotel New Grand style has matured with the city ofYokohama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel New Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Grand Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing