We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“at the waterfront”
Review of Hotel New Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Grand
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    354
    75
    15
    9
See reviews for
288
206
61
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Stayed with my wife for a few days in May09 for a conference. Most impressed was the size of the room being quite large. It was clean and the service was excellent. We got a room facing the harbor with a very nice view. Short walk to subway line. Overall a very pleasant experience. Walking distance to China town, and to a shopping street called Motomachi shopping street (just past the Chinatown distict, across from a small river which looked mor like a canal). We did not find much to do or see in Yokohama.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

I had stayed at the Hotel New Grand a few years before and had a fine time. This time around, I booked for a holiday weekend. We chose a corner bay view room on the 11th floor, with double windows and great views of the Yokohama Bay Bridge, Yamashita Park and, in the distance, the Minato Mirai area with its big ferris wheel.
The room itself was comfortable but small. The washand basin is located in the room itself, not in the bathroom. The king size bed was comfortable, with plenty of room to accommodate me, my wife and our 5-year old son.
The big negative for me this time round was when I popped down to the bar (called the Sea Guardian II) for a quick nightcap and a cigar, leaving my wife and baby in the room. I was told that the bar was full up. Hotel guests had had to put their names on a waiting list and were waiting in their rooms for a call to tell them some seats had become available.
At least the bar staff had enough English to explain the unacceptable situation to me, and suggested a nearby bar or room service - both impossible because I couldn't smoke in the bedroom and my wife was waiting.
If there had been a note in the hotel services booklet cautioning against busy times and mentioning the need to put your name on a list I would have been able to do so.
But to spend 31,000 yen per night at this hotel and NOT be able to have a nightcap and a quick cigar in the bar is unacceptable, and something I have never experienced anywhere else in the world.

  • Liked — room view
  • Disliked — bar full up and a waiting list
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hkisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

A very nice "western" style hotel on the bay front in Yokohama with great views. Near a subway station and a bay front park. Also close to the largest Chinatown in Japan. I believe it had 5 restaurants, with a lot of restaurants nearby. The staff was excellent. It rained a couple of days, and the staff would make sure everyone had umbrellas before they walked out into the rain, and gave us towels and helped dry us off when we returned. Kind of funny, something you will never see at an American hotel. The airport bus takes you 108km straight to the hotel. My only complaints are the internet access could be improved, the "in-room coffee" was not free, there were only 12 channels on T.V. and none very interesting, and we could not control the air conditioning/heating very well in that it is seasonal and controlled by the hotel, so if it gets cold you are out of luck if the heat isn't turned on, and there is no fan to run to circulate the air if it gets warm. My suggestions are they upgrade the wallpaper in the rooms, place a flat screen T.V. on the wall, improve the channel selections and place a koi or goldfish tank in the lobby along with a couple of bonsai plantsto make it look more Japanese and less Western.

  • Liked — The excellent staff and 5 restaurants
  • Disliked — The boring television channels
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

My wife and I booked a last minute deal to The New Grand in Yokohama during the Xmas break at the very end of 2005. We had no idea about the hotel, the rooms or the facilities, reserving it sight unseen on the promise of a 50% discount on the regular price. Boy, we got lucky! Pleasant , high floor room with a breath-taking view of Yokohama and the harbour. Having viewed some of the other possible choices we were offered by the travel agent, we felt doubly lucky!
As is typical of high class hotels the food and drink offered is a tad on the expensive side, but as has been mentioned in the previous review it is just a stone's throw away from the many great restaurants of Chinatown.
My wife and I had a great time here and are definitely planning to return in the future (especially if we can get the same discount rate!).

  • Liked — Wonderful and very romantic views.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Hunt around for cheaper restaurants in Chinatown - they are there if you look.
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank twilight.magician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2006

We stayed at the New Grand in Yokohama for 2 nights, we had a room on the 15th floor with an amazing view of the port. The staff were very friendly (but struggled with their english), the hotel has 6 resturant, quite prices and a la carte, so if your big eaters i'd advise to eat out. The hotel was very clean. It was very close to china town (this shuts about 9pm) and thre are 3 bars just down the road from the hotel which serve bar snacks and are open till between 3-5am. Couldn't fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellyjames7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Kannai
Rose Hotel Yokohama
Rose Hotel Yokohama
#11 of 113 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Grand

Property: Hotel New Grand
Address: 10 Yamashiracho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-8520, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kannai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yokohama
#2 Spa Hotel in Yokohama
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yokohama
#6 Family Hotel in Yokohama
#8 Business Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel New Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New Grand is your classic&comfortable home.Sophisticatedly furnished room produces a noble,dignified ambience,gently wrapping your stay withpure relaxation.Inheriting the tradition and history, the unique Hotel New Grand style has matured with the city ofYokohama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Rakuten, Ebookers, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Grand Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing