We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only choice in Yokohama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yokohama Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only choice in Yokohama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a great 5 star hotel located in the Yokohama Landmark Tower, the central location in Yokohama. This hotel is first class in every respect. I stayed here in April of 2013. My room was on the 52nd floor and I had a panoramic view of Mt. Fuji which looked a lot closer than 50 miles away. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a large tub, walk-in shower and it's own porthole view of Fuji. On one of the upper floors of the Tower (about 70) there was a huge breakfast buffet with a great view of Yokohama Bay, and the food selection and quality was incredible. On the flight over from America my phone had slipped out of my pocket and I was through customs and on the train before I missed it. The hotel had a bilingual person at its concierge desk who contacted the airline. The next day my phone was delivered to the hotel for a small fee. In 2012 I had stayed at the Intercontinental, a nice hotel, but not in the class of this this hotel in any category. This is the place to stay in Yokohama.

Room Tip: They don't call Japan the land of the rising sun for no reason. It comes up early, so you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adhland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    601
    109
    37
    12
See reviews for
436
467
82
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Royal Park seemed a great choice for us for a one-night stay before joining a cruise. Too bad we didn't plan a longer visit. The hotel is quite nice at the top of the tallest occupied building in Japan. Views of Yokohama Bay both day and night are beautiful. The hotel has a great location with sights within walking distance or just a short cab or train ride away.
The best part of the stay though was the service, starting as soon as the cab pulled up. We were met there and led to the Club level check-in on the 65th floor, given personal attention during check-in, had all our questions answered, then taken to our room where our luggage was delivered and all the features of the room explained. During our stay we returned to the desk on the Club floor two more times and received the same great attention. Definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: Bay views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alreadypacked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was my first visit to Japan and let me say, I ADORE Yokohama and would like to return. The Royal Park Hotel gets 5 stars for:

Location: right in the heart of business/tourist hub of Yokohama waterfront/Queens Anne Towers and newly opened Markis retail mall/ Cosmoworld amusement park, etc. There are ATMs, Starbucks, supermarket for takeout food, tons of affordable great restaurants all in the underground concourse attached to the hotel

Prices: perhaps because the Yen/USD is good right now, this was extremely affordable for the quality, there is no tipping in Japan and also the prices for room service/restaurants in hotel was very reasonable.

Transport: take the convenient Airport Limousine (bus) from Narita or Haneda for door to door service to hotel. Was 2 hours from Narita. Train is faster but didn't want to deal with it.

Rooms: Views are amazing. I had a city side view and at first disappointed because it wasn't of the Bay, but I am to appreciate it quickly. There is probably no bad view in the place.
Tons of toiletries, leave your slippers, and most toiletries at home. Rooms do not come with an iron though. Huge bathroom. Decent size room, but not big. But it was just fine.
Had a 'corner room' not sure it was worth the slight upgrade in price. Excellent free wifi.

BIG TIP: the only 3 prong outlet for my computer was in the bathroom and when charging laptop, cell, etc. it appeared the overhead lights had to be on for that particular outlet to be operating. So don;t plug in and leave room expecting to be fully charged when you get back. Pay attention to your charges.

Staff - great, everyone is so accommodating. English may be spoken but translation of what you really want is somewhat lost. Just make the best of it.

Spa/pool- Looked nice but didn't get to use.

Like most of Japan, A/C is not as widely used as in the states. So the hallways of the hotel - which are a bit dated are somewhat muggy until you get to your room and crank up the A/C. Also the hotel uses HUGE brass old school skeleton keys that actually have your room number on it. I saw gentleman in elevators trying to figure out where to keep their key. While women can just place in purse. A bit unusual but just be aware.

Public areas - in main lobby are lacking compared to some other large hotels, for example there is not lobby lounge/bar. There is however an amazing tea room/patisserie worth a visit.

By US standards I might give this hotel a 4.5, because a few things are dated, and no lobby lounge, but since the hotel made my first trip to Japan very comfortable, and the level of service is so high (as it is most places in Japan). I am giving it a 5 stars.

Room Tip: May not be worth paying for a corner room which is what I did. View somewhat obstructed by huge supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burbankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
265 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I am devoted to reading Tripadvisor before taking any trip. This is the very first hotel I felt a hotel didn't live up to its rating. This hotel is in the perfect location to do many things in Yokohama. The train station is minutes away, the boardwalk is closer, and the sky garden is in the same Landmark Building. There are many restaurants and more shopping than you can do. The room was big enough but was in poor shape. (see pictures below) With the exception of one guest service person the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The elevator was so fast it made your ears plug every time you used it. And there was no direct access elevator to your room. So you had to either use an escalator or a different elevator, walk across the lobby and then another elevator to your room. Seemed a bit of a hassle. One of the worst things was the large 3 inch key. A real key with our room number on it. I didn't think it was charming, if that is what they were going for, but cumbersome and dangerous if lost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the boardwalk side for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

this was my first trip to yokohama, and I was very pleased with our stay at the royal park hotel. The rooms were superbly cleaned each day, and had a spectacular view. Could even see Mt. Fuji from our room on most days. The elevators were extremely fast: even though our room was near the 70th floor, it took only seconds to reach from ground level (the quick altitude change often made my ears 'pop'). The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is incredible. A giant shopping center is virtually attached to the hotel. there are dozens of things to do within walking distance (really enjoyed our tour of the nippon-maru ship at the yokohama port museum). yokohama chinatown was also incredible (just a quick cab ride away).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opticy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel 10 times during work trips. Employees are incredibly polite, friendly and professional, they never fail to fulfil any request. Especially the travel desk, wherever I need to go they always able to find the easiest way to get to my destination and have maps as well. Rooms are nice and cosy although the double rooms are quite small, I actually always ask for a twin room when I stay here for more than one night. The views from the rooms are simply stunning, from two sides of the hotel you can also see Mt Fuji when the skies are clear. The location of the hotel is also excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view at Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
READING
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Located in the top floors of the Landmark Tower, This hotel offers incredible views across the bay. It is connected by moving walkway to the nearby subway. The rooms are huge for Japan and are tastefully furnished. It was good enough to take your wife/girlfriend! BA cabin crew use this hotel too! Restaurant equally enjoys breathtaking views. For breakfast both Japanese and Western breakfast is offered - You can even have chefs to cook you omelettes in front of you. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Nishi-ku
The Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu
Nishi-ku
InterContinental  Yokohama Grand
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Noge
New Otani Inn Yokohama Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yokohama Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokohama Royal Park Hotel

Property: Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Address: 2-2-1-3 Minatomirai, Nishi-Ku, Yokohama 220-8173, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Nishi-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yokohama Royal Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 603
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Yokohama Sky Resort Our guest rooms cover the 52nd floor to the 67th floor of the Yokohama Landmark Tower. Forget about daily life and spend a while in refined comfort. Eight dining options fit for any occasion - whether business or private - are available from the sky lounge on the topmost floor of the Landmark Tower, and the Japanese, French and Chinese restaurants located on the 68th floor. Your stay at Yokohama Sky Resort can be enjoyed all the more with our full range of facilities. We await your arrival with heart-felt smiles and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Yokohama Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing