We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby condition, but large, cheap, and convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shabby condition, but large, cheap, and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having stayed in the APA Kannai hotel the night before, I can directly compare these two business-style hotels located in the same basic neighborhood. I liked the APA hotel fine and recommended it in my TripAdvisor review. I liked Hotel Wing too, but the two are very different hotels.
Both hotels were roughly the same price, but while the APA Kannai hotel, is ultra-modern in its design, my room at Hotel Wing was quite shabby - the carpet was extremely stained and the whole room desperately needed some refurbishment. My single room at Hotel Wing, however, was much much much more spacious than the tiny APA single room. The Hotel Wing room was like a suite for a Japanese business hotel, with a couch and table in addition to the usual bed and desk. The bathroom was also somewhat larger than the APA bathroom.
Hotel Wing's location was also great - right across the street from Kannai station. The APA hotel's location was not inconvenient, but it is definitely farther from the station. You have to walk a few (very short) blocks.
So if it's space and very convenient location that you want, go with Hotel Wing.
If you'd prefer to forego space for a much spiffier room (and maybe the APA's onsen-style bath), then go with the APA hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルウィングインターナショナル横浜関内, frontdesk at Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for staying and the valuable reviews on
various areas in our hotel.

We will do improve and renovate our facilities to provide
guests with comfortable and pleasant stay. We apologize for failing
to meet your expectations on guest room this time.

We also appreciate your comment on positive-side of our hotel. Thank
you so much for taking your time to give us the feedback.

We look forward to having you again with better service and facilites.

Front Desk
Hamada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    55
    46
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
22
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was fine... the rooms were larger than others that I had stayed in, but there was an all-round depressing feeling to the whole hotel. The beds were comfortable to sleep on, but weren't impressive and the rooms had all the basics, but I just wasn't impressed. There's very little atmosphere and the staff, while generally helpful weren't as friendly as I'd experienced in other hotels. The rooms are clean, but dated with very little natural light. Be sure to ask at reception for the Wi-Fi password because it's not stored anywhere in the room. The location was good, near Kannai station and around the corner from the baseball stadium and Chinatown (and its brilliant dumplings).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main road, that's were you'll get some natural light (I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecBec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルウィングインターナショナル横浜関内, frontdesk at Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for staying our hotel. We apologize for not having met your
expectation in regards to our facilities and service manners. We take your
feedback seriously and will make the best effort to ensure pleasant
stay for all the guests.

Again thank you so much for staying with us. we look forward to serving you again.

Hotel Wing International Yokohama kannai
Front desk Minoru Hamada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here over new year 2013/2014 while visiting my wife's family in Yokohama.

This is a decent budget hotel in a convenient location. As others have said, the rooms are very small and there is just enough room to stand in the bathtub, but it was not a horrible experience by any means. If you're on a budget then you could do worse than staying here. There's a Lawson just opposite and a Jonathan's (family restaurant) downstairs, so plenty of opportunities to save some cash. We paid 11,000 yen for a double room.

The hotel is starting to show its age and there are no "frills". The sound-proofing between the rooms is also not great - we could hear the family talking nextdoor.

Room Tip: It is on a main road so the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルウィングインターナショナル横浜関内, マネージャー at Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We apologize that the room you checked-in was noisy.
If you feel uncomfortable during stay, please inform the front desk staff.
Our hotel is situated 1 minute walk from JR Kannai station. Best suited for both leisure and business. The Chinatown, Yokohama Stadium, Isezaki Mall within walking distance.
Hotel Wing International Yokohama-Kannai
Front staff Yasuhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Look if your a tourist like we were you don't spend much time in the hotel, it has the basics covered! Clean room, comfortable bed a bathroom and free wifi so you can get on Facebook and make everyone at home jealous of what an awesome time your having! What more do you really need?? All these people complaining that it's small and outdated need a reality check.. For the price you pay you can't really complain... Want a bigger/ more luxurious room then stop being tight and pay more to stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evolution_eight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルウィングインターナショナル横浜関内, マネージャー at Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you so much for your response and we appreciate you taking the time to give us the feedback.You seem to be satisfied to stay at our hotel, also location and price of accommodation.
Our hotel is just 1 minute walk from JR Kannai station south exit close to the Chinatown, Yokohama Stadium, Isezaki Mall within walking distance.
Please visit the place I mentioned above when you stayed our hotel next time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Front staff Yasuhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This would be my second stay in this hotel within a year and generally I would rate it as a " working class " hotel for budget conscious person. This hotel offer reasonable rates for a comfortable stay with clean beddings and toilets. One must realise that " small " is the general theme for budget based hotels, hence if one is complaining about space, Hotel Wing would not be an ideal choice. More Yen paid = Bigger & comfortable Hotel. I booked a 4 days stay through Agoda at rates to my expectation and I am happy about it. I did not opt for the breakfast in the hotel this time.

Location is a plus point for me , as it is two station away from Yokohama St , which takes only 5 - 10 minutes travelling time. Food availability is abundant including economical take aways, likes of Mc D, Sukiya, Yoshinoya , to name a few. Convenience shops are all around.

China town is a breeze walk away and Yokohama Stadium is just across the Hotel.

Conclusion : I will return again !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIkejeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We didn't expect much based on fellow TA reviews but the hotel is reasonably priced, conveniently located and we have only 2 nights stay in Yokohama. While the lobby looks small the hotel's upkeep is nothing but well maintained throughout. There are even bicycles for rental (500yen for ½ day) and suggested routes for bikers reference.
The hotel room is cramped and the bathrooms tiny, myself (average Asian) keep hitting the sides whenever I made slightly larger turn, and do take note the bathroom is a step higher than the room floor.. There is no wardrobe and the bed is small (super-single for 2?) but comfortable.
The hotel is very convenient, a mere 5 mins from Kannai 関内 train station and walking distance to Chinatown横浜中華街 or Bashamichi area. We hailed directly from Narita Airport and changed to Negishi Line 根岸線 (at Yokohama Sta.) using the NEX-Suica card so were happy not to have to transport our luggage very far when we arrived. There are a few close food outlets including MsDonalds and Mos Burger just nearby. For breakfast we venture a little under 10 mins to nearby Isezaki-cho where there are more food outlets options and activities.

The PLUS – free Internet access at lobby, quite a pleasant surprise in this part of Yokohama.! While the hotel may be small there's a cozy feeling within, made better by the friendly staff. The overall experience is ok and we might stay again.

Room Tip: TRy to go for 'upgrade' to a larger room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayama, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I didn't expect much based on the reviews here, but the the hotel was cheap, conveniently located and we were only planning to stay for one night.

I was pleasantly surprised at the upkeep of the hotel; our rooms were faultlessly clean and the hotel seemed well-maintained throughout. The service was very friendly, the staff spoke above-average English (for Japan) and did not flinch at keeping our mountain of baggage after checkout on the second day. The location of the hotel was very convenient, for Chinatown and also simply due to proximity to the train station - we were happy not to have to transport the aforementioned mountain of baggage very far when we arrived in Yokohama, with no major obstacles between the train platform and the hotel lobby.

Of course, Hotel Wing is a standard Western/Japanese hotel, so the rooms were small and the bathrooms tiny, but everything was comfortable as could be. I would stay again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Kannai
BEST WESTERN Yokohama
#21 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Gu
Comfort Hotel Yokohama Kannai
Gu
Hotel MyStays Yokohama
Hotel MyStays Yokohama
#33 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai

Property: Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai
Address: 1-2 Furocho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0032, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wing International Yokohama Kannai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatelet Hotel Yokohama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing