We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clare Mackenzir

Worst stay in a hotel ever

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2019via mobile
The room was tiny and had a musty smell. There was only one pillow on the bed and the air con was
pretty ineffective. The bathroom was so small there was one tap that swung over the ‘bath’ and hand basin and my husband couldn’t even sit down on the toilet. Although there was a kettle there wasn’t any coffee, milk or sugar. It certainly wasn’t good value for money as the price we were charged was £160 for one night! We certainly won’t be returning!!
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this review
Responded 22 Sept 2019
Thank you very much for using our hotel.
Regarding the toilet and unit bath in the guest room, the hotel has been renovated in the past.
In addition, although there is a fee-based guide, there is also a private room type private bath on the second floor, so I would appreciate it if you could consider it when you use it next time

Thank you for cooperating with busy review post
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotelwinginternational Soga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • japanican.com
0.7 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £205
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Restaurant
  • Booking.com
  • japanican.com
    £154
  • Expedia.com
0.9 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル外観
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £120
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル外観
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £140
1.4 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Suite Room at the Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £203
  • Hotels.com
4.8 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £270
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Yokohama
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
18
96
64
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
96
64
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

Yokohama is our 2nd stop in our total 15 days trip in Japan. Considering our odd family size, of 2 Adult and 3 children , who wants to stay within 1 room, there's limited options available.

Hotel wing Kannai in Yokohama fits our bill. Firstly , location is perfect! It's only 2 JR stops away from the main Yokohama station. A nice walk to the Bay area which my kids love. Food choice is ample ! Love the tempura don shop just one step beside our hotel. Cheap and good. Lawson is just opposite the hotel entrance.. we did not opt for breakfast and only stayed 1 night. So we had our next day breakfast bought from Lawson and ate in our room before checking out.

Room wise, the toilet area is Huge ! There is a long dressing table before u reach the toilet bowl and bath area. Our last stop was Sakura hotel ikebukuro which was a bit of hostel like accommodation, toilet was smaller but just nice for our use. Hence comparing, the toilet within our hotel wing room turned out to be a luxury for the kids.

This is a business hotel, so full amenities including hair dryer is given. They also have bath sponge included as amenities. The bath area became our private onsen area.

Pokémon gym: we are fans of Pokémon. There's 2 gyms near enough for us to earn some coins while in the room. Good entertainment for the kids as the TV station avaliable in the room only has Japanese channel. 😋😋😋.

One star is minus for the bed size . There are 2 double bed and 1 extra bed given to us. My husband is of a bigger size, our usual bed at home is abt 5 ft wide which can comfortably fit both of us. hence we feel that the double bed here is smaller than 5ft which minus the comfort level. For 1 nights it's still ok.

Service was good in Japan standard. Staff speaks good English. We are able to leave our luggage at the hotel after we check out.

Catching the Shinkansen train to Kyoto, our next stop ,at shin-yokohama was convenient. Our JR pass was activated at Kannai station after we checked out this hotel. All the way using our JR pass from Kannai station to Shin Yokohama and then Kyoto.

Remember to reserve your seats for longer distance Shinkansen ride at the JR offices when u exchange for JR passes. It's Free to reserve seats. Especially for bigger family size like ours, it saves the stress in the journey.

Overall we like this hotel. Recommended for families travelling to Yokohama, a lovely city.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jojopeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Thank you very much for using our hotel.
I am very happy to hear many words of praise at the beginning.

If you come to Yokohama again, I hope you will be able to use this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019

The location of hotel is good as it is closed to the JR station. And there is a convenient store opposite to the hotel. You wont get starved by staying this hotel.
The hotel is typical business hotel and you can expect so much from the room. In addition, it wont cost you a fortune to stay in this hotel. I recommend this hotel to other tourists if they want to explore Yokohama and Chinatown nearby.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you very much for using our hotel.
As you write, the hotel is about 2 minutes from JR Kannai Station, and there are restaurants and sightseeing spots nearby.

Thank you for your cooperation during the busy review.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotelwinginternational Soga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

First, the room we booked was small for four adults (we had one luggage each and these mostly took up the available floor space not covered by beds or desks), but it was worth it considering the price we paid. It was definitely better than staying at dorms or capsule hotels at that price.

Next, the hotel is very close to Kannai station (a 5mins walk, and this station is just a stop or so away from Yokohama Station, and around 40-50mins away from Tokyo) and there are convenience stores and restaurants that can be found around the place. Yokohama's main attractions are also near the area and most can be reached in about 10-20 minutes on foot.

And last, everyone who reviewed about the bathrooms being tiny weren't kidding but, again, having your own bathroom instead of having to go out to a communal one is a plus especially when you're travelling with family.

Room tip: Some floors have vending machines with alcohol in them (like floor 5)
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you very much for using our hotel this time.
As you write, this hotel is about a 2-minute walk from JR Kannai Station, and there are restaurants and sightseeing spots nearby.
The hotel has been renovated before and is very compact but incorporates the latest equipment.

In addition, although there is a fee-based guide, there is a private room type private bath on the second floor of the hotel, so I would appreciate it if you could consider it when you use it next time.

Thank you for your cooperation in busy reviews.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotel wing international Soga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

I guess I chose the cheapest double room that was the reason it wasn't too comfortable.
Location was great. So close to station and surround have few nice restaurant and close to
Yokohama park and all that. Also if you like walk around not too far from sea side either

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank ruthjap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for using our hotel this time.
The hotel is a 2-minute walk from JR Kannai Station, and there are restaurants and sightseeing spots nearby.
If you come to Yokohama again, we would appreciate it if you could use this hotel.
Thank you for your contribution to the busy review.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hotelwinginternational Soga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Very close to Kannai station and in a walking distant to nearly every attractions.
We booked a lead-in category so the room esp the bathroom was pretty small. OK for two small Asian girls (with black & blues on legs hitting this and that in the bathroom LOL), but I'd suggest booking a bigger room to feel more comfortable.

No gluten-free option at breakfast for celiac/ gluten sensitivity.
Didn't research further for nearby restaurants though. I opted for hard-boiled eggs from a mini-mart and salted grilled salmon onigiri (shio shake) from Family Mart is good for (safe) alternative.

Room tip: Try higher category for a bigger bathroom :)
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Berry_Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go810296, フロント at Rembrandt Style Yokohama Kannai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

As you wrote the location requirements Red Brick warehouse and Chinatown it tourist attractions in Yokohama are whithin walking distance.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused by making the bathroom compact.
We have a wide deluxe room bathroom and toilet are separated.So you can choose that room next time.
Tne next time you ask the front staff and we will tell the nearby restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews