We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“basic hotel,polite and helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
kishanganj
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“basic hotel,polite and helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

stayed for 3 days,the rooms are very small with very little space.the bathroom was even smaller with little space.the TV had only japanese channels. they had a tea -maker but they did not provide any tea bags or milk powder.the breakfast had the same menu on all 3 days. the only saving grace was the polite and helpful staff

Room Tip: avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhen Kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    98
    41
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
18
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is right near Shin-Yokohama station so I had my doubts of quietness and cost. It wasn't bad in either of those respects even though there was a concert going on in a nearby stadium at the time. It really helped to be near the station and close to a lot of shopping and restaurants. It was a good location for a stay. The hotel itself had a cafe inside, which was really convenient when waiting to meet someone or for an event, grabbing a quick coffee, or needing a close place for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aboten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Clean and friendly hotel, literally a three minute walk from Shin Yokohama station and much cheaper than the Prince hotel. The Prince is nice for shops and dining but it's really not worth the extra money, my room was more spacious and comfortable in the Kokusai then what I usually experience at the Shin Yokohama Prince.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazuo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuried, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located close to Shinkansen trail but small rooms with small business bath and more Japanese breakfast then European. In the morning you will queue for getting a seat in the tiny breakfast room. All in all probably good for a night or 2 but not longer. The best part was the pillow with same crops in it, probably rice, slept very well on it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BavariaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Near to Shin-Yokohama station (about 5min walking). I was expecting my concert ticket upon arrival and because my name was written in a manner (Last name and then Given name), one of the less proficient English speaking staff unable to locate it. It was until a better English speaking came to the rescue then they able to find my ticket...phew!!!! The room was nicely kept, clean and comfortable, but it took a while for me to get the Lan connection up. Was a-little noisy when the housekeeping started cleaning up at 730am the next room above mine...moving chair, walking heavily...then I actually woke up without the help of my alarm...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Likely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in Japan. Hai all over the blanked, someone came at midnight to change it but instead of bringing a new blanket he brought only a cover- he changed our sheets for 10 minutes !!! While we were sitting there in our bath robes after a romantic dinner. No coffee machines. Very old, many things broken and some fixed but in an obvious way. You can get better for much cheaper in any business hotel in Japan .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike2011ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yokohama hotels

Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed from May 20 to May 31. Our room was comfortable. We stayed on the seventh floor. You get free continental breakfast. We had great maids that kept our room tidy. They were so polite and always smiling. It is eco friendly. We had a refrigerator in room, T.V. , closet, our own western style bath/shower, toilet, sink, air conditioning and all the amenities. Washer and dryer on 4th floor. The staff was great it was like they read your mind, when it was raining outside they gave us umbrellas to use. I did not set my laptop for international use. They let me use their laptop at the front desk. They were always smiling. It is truly convenient . Grocery store right behind the hotel, across the street is a 24hr convenience store.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cburton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Kohoku
Super Hotel Shinyokohama
Super Hotel Shinyokohama
#28 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Shin Yokohama Prince Hotel
#14 of 112 in Yokohama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Kohoku
Shin-Yokohama Grace Hotel
Shin-Yokohama Grace Hotel
#26 of 112 in Yokohama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kohoku
Court Hotel Shinyokohama
Court Hotel Shinyokohama
#47 of 112 in Yokohama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Kohoku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Shinyokohama
Kohoku
Hotel Associa Shin-Yokohama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel

Property: Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel
Address: 3-18-1 Shin-Yokohama, Kohoku-ku, Yokohama 222-0033, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Kohoku , Shinyokohama
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Shin-Yokohama Kokusai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shin Yokohama Kokusai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing