We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View of the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Hotel Yokohama
Ranked #32 of 114 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is in a very central location. Ask for a view of Yokohama Bay which is beautiful. The room smelled of smoke, as I have found many in Japan do. I a, so surprised that you can smoke in so many places in Japan. The breakfast was much more than I could eat and the bed was comfortable. The room is small but adequate and the individual coffee maker is a nice touch with good coffee. The is no safe deposit box so I had to leave my computer at the front desk when I went out but not a bad hotel for the price. It's close to the Motomachi-Chykagai Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Star Hotel Yokohama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for a number of nights last September.

Star Hotel is in a good location next to Yamashita Park and is a short walk from China Town and Motomachi. The train connections are also very good. Connected to the hotel is Eggs n' Things, a Hawaiian restaurant with huge pancakes and cream, waffles, and other breakfast type items. There is always a long line but it's worth the wait!

The rooms are quite small with a very small bathroom, but they are always very clean and simply decorated. TVs are small, with Japanese only programs. There is a small mini fridge too.

The staff are always friendly and speak a little English.

The only thing is that the hotel looks a little outdated. But overall very comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This is a late review- stayed in July of 2010--- was a very Clean hotel with perfect location! Rooms were a bit small but I think that's normal In Japan. Our hotel in tokyo was small too. Great friendly service!! Would recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aesparkle2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I had a twin harbor view room. For one person it was very comfortable. There was enough room in the entry way to even do my yoga which I hadn't expected. The room was very tidy and in good repair. Great water pressure. No English-speaking TV stations on TV. Bento breakfast was tasty but was the same every day. Front desk staff were excellent. They were exceptionally cheerful, polite and helpful. Directly across the street was the promenade. That ran into parks and trails so we had great exercise. In 15 minutes of walking you could be in a trendy part of town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 2 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Stayed here 2 days with my Dad - our twin room was tiny (one of us had to sit on the bed when the other was walking around) - but our room overlooked the harbor, China Town, Motomachi and the Sea Bus were just minutes away and the hotel coffee shop had good food and comfortable chairs by the window to watch the dog walking/jogging/kids playing action in Yamashita Park.

Some of the staff spoke good English and there were English language papers on sale in the lobby and the BS TV had English...all in all - a good stay.

1  Thank Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 114 in Yokohama
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
#15 of 114 in Yokohama
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Yokohama

Address: 11 Yamashitacho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0023, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range: £41 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Hotel Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yokohama Star Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing