We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, very helpful staff..great location... Usually someone spoke English”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Hotel Yokohama
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good price, very helpful staff..great location... Usually someone spoke English”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this place because it was cheap and close to the park, chinatown and the bay.we ended up with twin beds but they were comfortable enough . We had free internet ... They plugged in a router, a water boiler and basic room for less than $100 aus. There was not really anywhere to eat except the pancake restaurant, bar and expensive crab restaurant. But nearby was chinatown ! Staff were helpful and friendly and kind . Beds were good enough, we had great access to walking to red brick wharehouse and Bills restaurant for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suestravels52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    82
    35
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
28
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Hotel was a fine hotel, it gave a wireless router, which was nice. The rooms were clean- the bathroom needs to be renovated. It is about a ten min walk to the international port for a cruise. The port across the window is not the international one but we walked to the international one without a problem. For a one night stay before the cruise this hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm giving the Star Hotel an "Excellent" rating because it's such good value. The hotel is spotlessly clean, all of the staff are wonderfully welcoming and friendly, and Star Hotel is at an excellent location. Right across the street from the hotel is the beautiful harbor-front Yamashita Park, and the historic museum ship Hikawa Maru.
My single room was on the small side, but that was to be expected. It was perfectly comfortable for one person.

There is a restaurant right off the lobby called Eggs n' Things, but I found it too pricey. A few blocks away, toward the cruise ship pier, is a very good diner called "Jonathans" where you can get a good meal, especially a Western-style breakfast for nearly half the cost of Eggs n' Things. On the same block as the hotel is a McDonald's and a well-stocked convenience store called "Lawsons". There is a rooftop bar/restaurant with a great view of the park and harbor right across the street.

Also very convenient to Star Hotel is Yokohama's China Town, and the subway (Motomachi-Chukagai station of the Minatomirai Line) is a short walk from the hotel with a quick direct connection to Yokohama Station. Down the block is the landmark Yokohama Marine Tower.

The hotel offers free WiFi through a device that the front desk will provide, that you connect to the desk in your room. My single, trivial disappointment is that the TV does not have CNN, BBC, or HBO. But who cares, really? Go out for a stroll along the lovely harbor instead of watching the news or some years-old movie on HBO.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the park and the harbor, but I'm sure they'd be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have only just recently returned from our holiday in Japan. We stayed 12 nights in the Star Hotel Yokohama and used it as our base for day trips to Tokyo and beyond. Firstly, the staff were lovely and most spoke good English. The room we booked was a triple room which we were expecting to be quite small and cramped as we have had this experience before while in Japan, but the room was really a pleasant surprise. There was plenty of room for our three suitcases, plenty of cupboard space, plenty or room either side of the beds and still room for you to sit and work at the desk on your computer. There was a large TV on one end of the desk and tea making facilities. After the first night stay a humidifier was placed in the room which we were thankful for each night. The housekeeper would always turn the heater on so the room was warm when we returned each night even though we would turn if off each morning when we left. The ensuite bathroom had a lovely deep bath which my husband and daughter enjoyed each night after our day trips in the freezing cold. The location was just perfect for us......close to the railway station Motomachi Chukugai, but remember to take exit 4 as this is the closest to the hotel.........close to Chinatown (only two blocks)....close to Motomachi Shopping Street.........(short walking distance) and right opposite Yamashita Park for walking and sightseeing. We walked quite a few times along the park to get to our destinations........redbrick warehouse........World Porter.......Cosmo World and other sightseeing places of interest. The staff at the hotel were always pleasant when we left in the mornings with their greetings and when we arrived back at the end of the day they were ready with our room key without having to ask for it. We felt very welcomed. There was a vending machine on our floor (7th floor) near the elevator if you needed something in the line of drinks (no alcohol) we did not see an ice machine which we would have liked when we had a drink in our room later. There is the Bar on 2nd floor which we went to on our last night in the hotel. This was a nice experience....the bartender was excellent to watch very professional and very entertaining, so worth a visit although a bit pricey. All in all our stay at this hotel was wonderful and I would definitely return when next staying in Yokohama. One thing I wish the hotel had was Wi-Fi as all three of us were wanting to use laptops but there was only LAN so only one person could use at a time.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great Location. Easy place to jog from. You can jog along the water and look out on the bay and bridge. Rooms are tiny, but they all are in Japan. Easy to access everything from here. Shopping, restaurants, and trains.

Room Tip: some rooms face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver_CoEdwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is in a very central location. Ask for a view of Yokohama Bay which is beautiful. The room smelled of smoke, as I have found many in Japan do. I a, so surprised that you can smoke in so many places in Japan. The breakfast was much more than I could eat and the bed was comfortable. The room is small but adequate and the individual coffee maker is a nice touch with good coffee. The is no safe deposit box so I had to leave my computer at the front desk when I went out but not a bad hotel for the price. It's close to the Motomachi-Chykagai Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here for a number of nights last September.

Star Hotel is in a good location next to Yamashita Park and is a short walk from China Town and Motomachi. The train connections are also very good. Connected to the hotel is Eggs n' Things, a Hawaiian restaurant with huge pancakes and cream, waffles, and other breakfast type items. There is always a long line but it's worth the wait!

The rooms are quite small with a very small bathroom, but they are always very clean and simply decorated. TVs are small, with Japanese only programs. There is a small mini fridge too.

The staff are always friendly and speak a little English.

The only thing is that the hotel looks a little outdated. But overall very comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
#14 of 113 in Yokohama
487 reviews
Kannai
Richmond Hotel Yokohama Bashamichi
Kannai
Hotel New Grand
Hotel New Grand
#2 of 113 in Yokohama
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Yokohama

Property: Star Hotel Yokohama
Address: 11 Yamashitacho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0023, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yokohama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star Hotel Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yokohama Star Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing