We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reasonably priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Hotel Yokohama
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We wanted somewhere to stay for a week close to Tokyo but not at Tokyo prices. The Star Hotel fit the bill perfectly at around £75 per night for a twin room, including breakfast. The room we had was spacious (unusual for Japan) and had a sea view and a small balcony. The balcony wasn't really useable but it was nice to be able to open the doors and get some fresh air in. The beds were comfortable and a water boiler was provided as well as a humidifier. There is free Wi-Fi provided by means of a portable access point which is plugged in to the LAN socket in the room.
The only downside was breakfast where the choice was extremely limited. Basically eggs with either sausage, salad or bread. However, it is only a short walk to Chinatown, there is a McDonalds and a Family Mart next door and the subway station is 2 or 3 minutes away. The front desk staff were very helpful and there was usually someone who spoke English.
I would definitely return to this hotel if I am in Yokohama again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pr56ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January for 12 nights, then found ourselves wanting a hotel just a few weeks ago in July in Yokohama for just one night. Contacted Star Hotel Yokohama and yes we had our room at a good rate. This time there was just two of us so the room was different to the triple we had before, but still could not complain about the size. Staff were once again easy to communicate with and always had a pleasant smile for you. I did not ask about the internet this time but have found out that you can now get a wireless router which would have been great if we needed it. I love the easy access from the railway station to this hotel. The outlook across the park is lovely and you can easily walk to some of the attractions in Yokohama. If you don't feel like the walk, the tourist red bus stops not far from the front of the hotel and will take you to these attractions for a price of 100 yen per ride. Chinatown and Motomachi shopping street are close by for shopping as well as restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Hotel staff are willing to give directions to restaurants that you may be interested in. Again we had a great stay even if it was unexpected and only one night. I shall always return to the great hotel in Yokohama

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water view is something you should aim for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this place because it was cheap and close to the park, chinatown and the bay.we ended up with twin beds but they were comfortable enough . We had free internet ... They plugged in a router, a water boiler and basic room for less than $100 aus. There was not really anywhere to eat except the pancake restaurant, bar and expensive crab restaurant. But nearby was chinatown ! Staff were helpful and friendly and kind . Beds were good enough, we had great access to walking to red brick wharehouse and Bills restaurant for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suestravels52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Hotel was a fine hotel, it gave a wireless router, which was nice. The rooms were clean- the bathroom needs to be renovated. It is about a ten min walk to the international port for a cruise. The port across the window is not the international one but we walked to the international one without a problem. For a one night stay before the cruise this hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm giving the Star Hotel an "Excellent" rating because it's such good value. The hotel is spotlessly clean, all of the staff are wonderfully welcoming and friendly, and Star Hotel is at an excellent location. Right across the street from the hotel is the beautiful harbor-front Yamashita Park, and the historic museum ship Hikawa Maru.
My single room was on the small side, but that was to be expected. It was perfectly comfortable for one person.

There is a restaurant right off the lobby called Eggs n' Things, but I found it too pricey. A few blocks away, toward the cruise ship pier, is a very good diner called "Jonathans" where you can get a good meal, especially a Western-style breakfast for nearly half the cost of Eggs n' Things. On the same block as the hotel is a McDonald's and a well-stocked convenience store called "Lawsons". There is a rooftop bar/restaurant with a great view of the park and harbor right across the street.

Also very convenient to Star Hotel is Yokohama's China Town, and the subway (Motomachi-Chukagai station of the Minatomirai Line) is a short walk from the hotel with a quick direct connection to Yokohama Station. Down the block is the landmark Yokohama Marine Tower.

The hotel offers free WiFi through a device that the front desk will provide, that you connect to the desk in your room. My single, trivial disappointment is that the TV does not have CNN, BBC, or HBO. But who cares, really? Go out for a stroll along the lovely harbor instead of watching the news or some years-old movie on HBO.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the park and the harbor, but I'm sure they'd be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have only just recently returned from our holiday in Japan. We stayed 12 nights in the Star Hotel Yokohama and used it as our base for day trips to Tokyo and beyond. Firstly, the staff were lovely and most spoke good English. The room we booked was a triple room which we were expecting to be quite small and cramped as we have had this experience before while in Japan, but the room was really a pleasant surprise. There was plenty of room for our three suitcases, plenty of cupboard space, plenty or room either side of the beds and still room for you to sit and work at the desk on your computer. There was a large TV on one end of the desk and tea making facilities. After the first night stay a humidifier was placed in the room which we were thankful for each night. The housekeeper would always turn the heater on so the room was warm when we returned each night even though we would turn if off each morning when we left. The ensuite bathroom had a lovely deep bath which my husband and daughter enjoyed each night after our day trips in the freezing cold. The location was just perfect for us......close to the railway station Motomachi Chukugai, but remember to take exit 4 as this is the closest to the hotel.........close to Chinatown (only two blocks)....close to Motomachi Shopping Street.........(short walking distance) and right opposite Yamashita Park for walking and sightseeing. We walked quite a few times along the park to get to our destinations........redbrick warehouse........World Porter.......Cosmo World and other sightseeing places of interest. The staff at the hotel were always pleasant when we left in the mornings with their greetings and when we arrived back at the end of the day they were ready with our room key without having to ask for it. We felt very welcomed. There was a vending machine on our floor (7th floor) near the elevator if you needed something in the line of drinks (no alcohol) we did not see an ice machine which we would have liked when we had a drink in our room later. There is the Bar on 2nd floor which we went to on our last night in the hotel. This was a nice experience....the bartender was excellent to watch very professional and very entertaining, so worth a visit although a bit pricey. All in all our stay at this hotel was wonderful and I would definitely return when next staying in Yokohama. One thing I wish the hotel had was Wi-Fi as all three of us were wanting to use laptops but there was only LAN so only one person could use at a time.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great Location. Easy place to jog from. You can jog along the water and look out on the bay and bridge. Rooms are tiny, but they all are in Japan. Easy to access everything from here. Shopping, restaurants, and trains.

Room Tip: some rooms face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver_CoEdwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yokohama hotels
Gu
Hotel JAL City Kannai Yokohama
Gu
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
Tsurumi-ku
Best Western Yokohama
Best Western Yokohama
#23 of 123 in Yokohama
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi-ku
Breeze Bay Hotel Resort & Spa
Kannai
Rose Hotel Yokohama
Rose Hotel Yokohama
#11 of 123 in Yokohama
569 reviews
Hotel Monterey Yokohama
#14 of 123 in Yokohama
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel Yokohama

Address: 11 Yamashitacho, Naka-ku, Yokohama 231-0023, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Yokohama > Gu , Kannai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Yokohama
Price Range: £41 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel Yokohama 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Rakuten, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Hotel Yokohama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yokohama Star Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing