We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nikko Tokanso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nikko Tokanso
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

From start to end my stay was unforgettable.
Pick up at station by driver, nice Japanese room, and great breakfast.
Outside and inside baths to relax in a well equipped and designed place.
Full time attention and correct pricing.
At least but important, the place is within walking distance to the temples and shrines.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RogerMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    59
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
64
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first 'ryokan' experience, and it did not disappoint.
The rooms are large, spacious, and the 'floor' sleeping arrangement is very comfortable.
The food is good, and although we only had dinner once, the japanese breakfasts were a treat.

Things to be aware of:
- As other reviews stated, there is no english sign at the gate, so while the place is easy to find, it can be confusing, as you have to go in and verify that it is indeed Tokanso.
- The staff is very helpful, but speaks very little english, if you have a complicated query, it will be difficult to explain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was my first experience at a ryokan and this was an amazing place. The staff were really friendly and the suite if rooms was huge, having a seated area, a sleeping area, toilet and shower room as well as a balcony. It is located in the unesco old heritage area of Nikko and the temples are only short walk away. It's a bit difficult to find, but there is a free shuttle bus that picks you up from the station. In the evening the town shuts early so you can eat here, and the breakfast was fantastic. I recommend the Japanese breakfast, which was a real mixture of things and the staff were very helpful at explaining what went with what. The hot springs were a welcome relief after a hard day of walking!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was our first time in a ryokan. That alone made everything special. My girlfriend espescially liked that she didn't have to take a public bath with a bunch of strangers. The ryokan offers the possibility to take a private bath for up to one hour.

Also the breakfast is great. You can order 'Japanese breakfast' and 'Western breakfast'. I advice you to order one of each. That way you have a alternative if you don't like some Japanese dishes.

The location is perfect. Only 100 meters from the red bridge and close to the temples.

The lobby is not that spectacular. I guess most ryokans offer a better service. So if you want to pay 200 euro's a night, don't go to this ryokan. Yet if you like a real ryoakan experience for a reasonable price, in a central place, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuudKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We loved Nikko Tokanso, mainly because of Ayako, who does everything to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. She is the only employee who can speak some English... the others cannot, so you have to wait to speak to her if you cannot speak Japanese. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful and delicious, served in the dining room. We could walk to Toshogu Shrine very near by, so it was very conveniently located.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Simple ryokan, more like a youth hostel, located near the shrines but far from the main street with all meal options. The furniture was old and injured, but the room - big and clean. Private bath was more a bathtub together with laundry machines, not so pleasant. The breakfast was good and for reasonable price. Reception lady was very friendly and helpful, trying her best to give all needed information. The second team was much less effective. We knew from booking.com reviews that they offer free shuttle to train station, but when we asked the morning staff (it was it's raining hard), we were offered to take a taxi (just after my reaction we got a shuttle).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Ryokan Nikko Tokanso is located near temple area in Nikko, which makes sightseeing temples very easy. It also means, that Nikko Tokanso is some 2 kilometres away from train station, and wlking there is slightly uphill, but we did not mind the walk, as we saw centre of Nikko town at the same time. Nikko Tokanso also has shuttle service (which we did not ask about) and there are busses and taxis available on train/bus station.
Our room was very well worth the money; we had our own toilet, bathroom and terrace in our room. It was very comfortable and beautiful japanese ryokan room; we had things for making tea and sweet cookies, beds were made for us, when we were dining etc.
We also ate dinner (2500jens) and breakfast (1000jens) at Nikko Tokanso. Both were japanese, very tasteful and beautifully served. And it was good!
Onsen / bathing area was very good as well. At women's section they had one indoor and one outdoor pool (outdoor pool was simply amazing!) plus showers etc.
Staff was always very friendly and helpful, even if they did not always speak perfect English, they did everything to help us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Nikko Onsen
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
#29 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Tokanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Tokanso

Property: Nikko Tokanso
Address: 2335 Sannai, Nikko 321-1432, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikko Tokanso 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikko Tokanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing