We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended: + Great location + Excellent service + Traditional Japanese”
Review of Nikko Tokanso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nikko Tokanso
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Highly recommended: + Great location + Excellent service + Traditional Japanese”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at Nikko Tokanso for one night in mid-April 2014 along with my twin brother and my retired parents during a family anniversary trip to Japan.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in a peaceful, traditional Japanese style hotel close to the famous temples and shrines Nikko. This is the perfect spot for you! Please read my comments below.

Check-in/Front desk +++++
We had booked two rooms with two beds each. We were well greeted at the front desk. On arrival, we were welcomed with our names were shown together with other guests name on a sign followed by excellent service.

Atmosphere +++++
This is a ryokan or a tradional Japanese style guesthouse and guests are asked to take off their shoes when entering the building. We loved the traditional Japanese interior and the atmosphere with the onsen section. Very well organized, clean and tidy to perfection. Just like the Japanese gardens!

Rooms +++++
Guests are invited to sleep on a mattress on the floor. The rooms are equipped to standard. The partition walls between guest rooms are thin as in most ryokans but was never a problem. Our rooms were equipped with minimal flat screen-TVs which did not bother us. Tea service in both rooms. A host will knock the door to offer help with preparing your mattress for the night. Please invite the host, this is part of their service (free of charge of course).

Onsen +++++
The hotel offered two hot spring tubs in it's onsen, a larger indoor tub and a smaller outdoor tub. The onsen was modern and clean and open until late. Very much appreciated!

Internet ++
The hotel had free Wi-Fi internet, available only in the main lobby. Never a problem as we were there for vacation, not business.

Breakfast ++++
Guests can choose from Japanese-style breakfast or Western-style breakfast. We were a bit late for breakfast and therefore got served in our rooms. Great service!

Parking +++++
There is a parking area in connection to the hotel entrance at no charge.

Location +++++
Nikko Tokanso is set in a beautiful and silent location, about 5-10 minute walk from the Shrines and Temples of Nikko (UNESCO World Heritage Site including ) and The Shinkyo bridge (Shinkyō).

Finding/Arriving to the hotel ++
Arriving by car to the location after sunset, we weren't sure we'd found the right place as the hotel entrance does not looked like a traditional western hotel as there were no signs in English and no big parking lot in front of the hotel.

Summary/Overall view +++++
We were very happy with our stay and gladly rate our experience at 5/5. Would love to take the opportunity and thank all the crew for making our stay comfortable. This will be our first choice if returning to Nikko. Great value for money. Our overall view is therefore: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    60
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
67
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nikko Tokanso was a wonderful experience! It was our second day in Japan, and we felt that we were experiencing something of days gone by! A traditional ryokan, it was shoes off at the door, and a chance to try authentic Japanese life. Our room was big and comfortable. We had a view of the river from our window. It is not luxurious, but spotlessly clean, with a lived-in feel. The staff were really helpful and always able to answer our questions. This was also our first experience of an onsen and wearing the yukata! The futon beds were remarkably comfortable and warm. The staff made every effort to accommodate my vegetarian preferences at breakfast and we found the location of the Tokanso was perfect for exploring the temple areas of Nikko.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a nice aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrtleford35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I feel so lucky that I found this place on-line. The place is no deluxe accommodation, but for the price we paid (7000 yen each with 2 meals), this was a great deal. Both meals were excellent in quality and quantity. The lady at reception desk was so friendly and helpful. She alone would make me stay at Tokanso again. The room was clean and spacious with most comfortable beddings.
I would highly recommend this ryokan for someone looking for a no-frills, basic good-deal accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasaWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We absolutely loved our time at Nikko Tokanso - Nikko itself is such a beautiful place, and this really added to our authentic Japanese experience.

The rooms were big and made up by a Japanese maid each night, and sleeping on the Japanese futon quite comfortable. The breakfast was different to what we are used to but very tasty! The location is great, within walking distance of all the major shrines and the town as well (we walked into town for dinner - go by 6pm because the few open through winter close early!). But the best thing? THE PRIVATE ONSEN. It was so amazing, perfect hot temperature, amenities including shampoo, conditioner, combs etc, washing areas, and an outdoor bath area. It was absolutely amazing sitting outside watching the snow fall in a hot bath!!!

Also, the staff were super friendly, with little printouts of the attractions and everything.

Would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited Nikko in the middle of winter, which is certainly not peak tourist time. The region was still stunningly beautiful (Australian eyes are used to seeing brown landscapes!), and the temples and waterfalls and lovely paths were still awesome. The Tokanso is very friendly, very generous and the most comfortable futon I have ever slept on! The onset was delightful - especially the outdoor one! And the breakfasts were delicious. We should have asked for dinners to be provided as well, as there were only a few restaurants open in the "off" season - but we were well fed anyway!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

From start to end my stay was unforgettable.
Pick up at station by driver, nice Japanese room, and great breakfast.
Outside and inside baths to relax in a well equipped and designed place.
Full time attention and correct pricing.
At least but important, the place is within walking distance to the temples and shrines.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RogerMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first 'ryokan' experience, and it did not disappoint.
The rooms are large, spacious, and the 'floor' sleeping arrangement is very comfortable.
The food is good, and although we only had dinner once, the japanese breakfasts were a treat.

Things to be aware of:
- As other reviews stated, there is no english sign at the gate, so while the place is easy to find, it can be confusing, as you have to go in and verify that it is indeed Tokanso.
- The staff is very helpful, but speaks very little english, if you have a complicated query, it will be difficult to explain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
#30 of 149 in Nikko
79 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 149 in Nikko
308 reviews
Tokino Yu
#22 of 149 in Nikko
66 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Tokanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Tokanso

Property: Nikko Tokanso
Address: 2335 Sannai, Nikko 321-1432, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nikko Tokanso 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nikko Tokanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing