We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent+++ Great Experience. Best Innkeeper in Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality lodging in Nikko
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Kobayashi-san is wonderful. She drove us from the train station and after helping us with our plans and maps, drove us to our first sight. Later, it started to rain during dinner. As we were getting ready to leave the restaurant, to our surprise, Yoshiko was there to pick us up and drive us so we wouldn't have to walk in the rain! (What other host has ever done that for you?) The next morning, she drove us to the bus stop, but we needed to use the ATM, and when we missed the bus to Lake Chuzenji, she chased the bus most of the way up the mountain until she caught it and we were able to ride the bus the rest of the way. And I haven't even mentioned the accommodations...

The house is great. This is your chance to stay in a real Japanese home, including tatami mats, traditional bath, sit on the floor table, and pretend it is yours. (Even if someone else stocked the fridge for breakfast). The location is close to the main sights. The "Abyss" is just up the road, which makes a nice early morning walk. It is clean. And it is non-smoking.

If putting bread in a toaster or pouring your own juice is more than you can handle, don't say here. Otherwise, your stay in Nikko at Cottage FU-SHA could easily be the highlight of your visit to Japan. You could make a new friend. THANK YOU Kobayashi-san!

Room Tip: You get the whole house to yourself. When you take a bath, be sure and wash and rinse yourself befor...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-IrvineCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a great choice of accommodation for Nikko. As per other reviews, Yoshiko is a great host and the train pick up, restaurant pick up etc just add to the value. Yoshiko provides juice, yoghurt, bread, fresh coffee, margarine, milk etc. She also drove us to a supermarket, helped us shop and unpacked our groceries for us while we had lunch in a restaurant. The cottage is really cute. Not large, but there were 3 adults and we were all very comfortable. We used the microwave to heat our dinners at night. There's even a washing machine. It was cold (late April) but the mobile heaters kept us toasty warm and the hot shower was great. The wifi can be a little unpredictable but that's just being picky. You can also walk to Ganman ga fuchi Abyss which is beautiful. Yoshiko provides a map and info. on how to catch the local bus to access the falls etc. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Cottage is located in the most interesting part of Nikko. The main attractions can be easily reached by food. The very nice and friendly hosts offer transfer from and to the railway station at any time. This makes everythink even more convenient!
The Cottage itself is very charming and a unique and traditional little japenese home. The home is very well maintained and you will find everything you need. It is a great pleasure and wonderful experience to stay in such a place and to be warmly welcomed by the hosts.
Try it for yourself. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: You will get your own little japanese home. Bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paderborn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic. As other reviewers said, the host (Yoshiko) went out of her way to help us have an amazing stay, including rides to and from the train station and restaurants. The place itself was beautiful, simple, and relaxing, well furnished (again, simply), and very well located to walk to the local shrines, the red bridge, and the Hyaku Jizo road. In short: if you want a relaxed, relaxing, Japanese experience in Nikko, you will not go wrong at FU-SHA. My only complaint was that we didn't have longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed here in October this year. As others have mentioned, our host went out of her way to make us welcome--she guided us to the tourist attractions, picked us to and fro the train station as well as drove us at nights for our dinner out. Very personalised service and the three of us had a very restful and lovely time here. It is a small cottage but it was clean and more than sufficient to meet our needs. We would greatly recommend this cottage for those who do not want to stay in a large hotel which cater for the masses.

Room Tip: The room isnt heated centrally and when I mentioned this, immediately another mobile electric heater...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gentleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had a fantastic, peaceful and relaxing stay in the beautiful Nikko. As beautiful as Nikko is our stay was made even better by our host who lives across the road from the cottage. She was amazing and went above and beyond to assist us anyway she could. During our stay my Husband was ill and she took us to the hospital, helped us with all the forms and stayed to translate during the entire ordeal - not many people would go to those lengths!
She provided bread, fruit, cake, milk and juice for breakfast during our stay and every night we would come home to find she had been into the cottage to turn on our heaters so it was nice and toasty for our arrival. The beds were also cosy and comfortable. There is no doubt we will be back to stay again!
Great location and fantastic accomodation and service! We felt so at home and cared for during our stay, we promise you won't be disappointed either!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The beautiful inn is made with exquisite paper patterns and other light materials as Japan is very earthquake prone. The blankets are extremely soft and comfortable as they are stuffed with goose feathers. Thus, you should not step on them. The area is also very quiet, so there would not be any noise pollution. In compliment with the "high-class" inn, the landlord is very kind and would care for all your needs without you making any requests. Milk, orange juice, bread, fruits and various sauces to make yr stay more homely. She is also very considerate as she provided us with extra heat packs and extra heater cos we were not used to cold weather as we are from Singapore. When the bus schedule changed, she took the extra miles to drive us all the way to Kiri Furi so that we would not miss the beautiful colored leaves. She even helped to take the luggages to the train station for us so that we could have more time to stroll and enjoy our walk in Kiri Furit waterfall. We had beautiful and memorable memory because of the host Ms Yoshiko.

Note : " high-class" = warm and care that the host had sheltered us. The inn is simple and clean but the love from the host warmed out hearts!!!

Athan (11 yr old) and Mum (39 yr old)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Song8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 150 in Nikko
313 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 150 in Nikko
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha

Address: 8-22 Takumi-cho, Nikko 321-1433, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality lodging in Nikko
Price Range: £89 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"VERY COSY". We opened FU-SHA in September, 2007. We wanted to show people from all over the WORLD the beauty, both natural and man made that Nikko offers. Since our home is directly across the street from the cottage, we are able to provide assistance when you need it during your stay at the cottage. This private Japanese style cottage has a small sitting room, a small kitchen, a large modern bathroom and can sleep up to 5 people. The rooms are Japanese style rooms with tatami mats and divided by fusuma(sliding doors). Japanese futons are laid on the tatami mats and they are very comfortable to sleep on. There are a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, an electric pot and tableware in the kitchen. The bathroom has a big bathtub and a shower. In addition, there is an amazing Japanese high-tech toilet. The cottage has a high speed internet( wireless). My ancestors came to Nikko approximately 130 years ago and we have been living here ever since. Therefor we have all the information on Nikko you would like to know and we are happy to share that with you. We will happily provide a pick up from Nikko station. Popular sightseeing spots in the neighborhood of the cottage; World Heritage "Shrines and Temples" 15 minutes walk Old Imperial Villa 5 minutes walk Kanman-ga-fuchi Abyss 5 minutes walk Jakko Falls 2 km Botanic garden 15 minutes walk Kirifuri Falls 4 km Kirifuri haighland 30 minutes by bus Nikko Edo Wonderland They has a shuttle bus service. Bus station is 7 minutes walk Oku-Nikko area 35 minutes by bus Bus stop(No9 Nishi-sando) is 7 minutes walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Nikko Cottage Fu-Sha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing