We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right !”
Review of Hotel Viva Nikko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Viva Nikko
Ranked #126 of 150 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Right !”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is our second time to stay here at Viva Hotel it is just a walking distance from the Nikko Train station and the shuttle bus the Tobu Nikko Bus shuttle that brings tourist to every tourist destination around Nikko we found it very convenient. Rooms and T&B are clean, and offers free tea and coffee, breakfast is simple but good made by a kind old lady who offers extra butter bun with butter and jam. Accessible, clean, reasonable rates. Good luck .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojounr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
17
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a small property not so far from the two train stations at Nikko (closer to Tobu Nikko). We stayed one night and it was just fine as the room was small but clean. Bathroom was the compact type and very small but for just one day it is ok as well. Wifi service was not so consistent although you can connect as well in the room with a LAN cable and the speed with the cable was very fast. The A/C (heater) was a bit noisy, but we didn´t use it during the night as it was very cold outside and we warmed the bed instead.

All the people working in this Hotel were very friendly and we can feel they try to keep the place as organized and tidy as possible. Breakfast was omelet, salad, yoghurt and bread, so just enough to keep going. In the evening (from 4 to 11pm), you can also have hot drinks in the reception area.

Not far from the Hotel (150 meters) on the left side there is a very good ramen restaurant with very affordable prices and just opposite the street a convenience store open 24 hrs, where you can buy almost anything you may need.

To go to the temples area, we just took the World Heritage Bus with the daily ticket with unlimited rides (500 ¥), although if you just want to do a return trip, then it will be cheaper just to pay each ride. You can take the Bus opposite Tobu Nikko train station (3 minutes walking from this Hotel in the right side).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A family run B&B hotel. Reasonably priced middle of the range hotel. Great value with large, by Japanese standards, rooms. Breakfast was included and parking was free. The hotel isn't far from the railway station though. You can't miss the the hotel because it is the tallest building in this part of Nikko.

When checking in, reception is on the second floor (one up from the ground), a possibly serious looking man will point to a printed card requesting, in English, that you nominate a time for breakfast.

Breakfast is basic but delicious. An omelette, bread rolls, salad, juice, coffee or tea etc. We were greeted for breakfast by two lovely friendly ladies. The Breakfast room adjoins the reception area.

Our room was a western/Japanese corner room on the fourth floor. That is, twin western style beds in a tatami mat room with TV and minibar, shower/bath and toilet. I don't think I've stayed at a Japanese hotel without a heated toilet and this was no exception. Your bottom will appreciate the warmth on those cold Wintery days in Nikko.

There was no charge for our child, a toddler, to stay but no bedding or meals are supplied.

Free WiFi is available and you may be handed a dongle which you have no idea how to use but someone kindly plugged it in and set it up when we were out of the room.

The hotel has a 11pm curfew but in a tourist town where it is surprisingly difficult to find a place to get food after 9pm an 11pm curfew shouldn't be an issue. The hotel has free English maps of Nikko that have many of the restaurants and styles of food marked. The meal map is on their website too. For such a busy tourist town it is extremely quiet at night and it is difficult to find restaurants open past 9pm. Some are done by 7 or 8pm.

There's a coin laundry a couple of blocks away from the hotel too.

There is an English version of their website so booking on line was a breeze.

On the whole an very good hotel and I would stay there again if I visit Nikko again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Here's a cute little bed and breakfast that seemed to be family run. It's very close to the Tobu Nikko station but the evenings were quiet. The beds were just find with electric blankets and breakfast was home-style omelet, breads, and fruit. There's a toilet and shower/bath in the room. Rooms are nonsmoking so it smelled like sweet tatami smell.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aiko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed one night as part of a trip to north part of Honshu . Nikko is usually a day tripper place but there is plenty to justify an overnight stay.

The hotel is hard to fault, great location a few minutes walk from JR Station.

The rooms are medium size by Japan standards, very clean and well maintained. Small double bed and two small lounge chairs provide a comfortable stay.

As Nikko is a major tourist destination, demand vs supply rules and as a result accommodation prices are high, but VIVA is more reasonably priced.

Breakfast is basic , hot egg dish and bread rolls, and there is free tea or coffee.

Only Japanese TV channels.

The hotel is managed by a Father, Mother & Son with no English. As a result they appear to be unfriendly but are really nice people.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This budget hotel really surpassed our expections. We choose this hotel mainly because of its close proximity to the station. From the outside, the hotel doesn't look so nice but one soon gets a much better impression upon entering. The reception was very good and the man at the reception spoke better English than in many of the expensive hotels in Tokyo, We had a really big room (nr 306) in Japanese style. There was also a separate small room with two chairs and a table. The room had airco, TV, refrigerator, wireless internet, etc. Everything was clean and in good order. For the breakfast, one has to mention at which time one wants it, which is a bit strange. However, when we arrived in the morning in the breakfast room, everything was ready and we had a reserved table. We got some kind of omelet, good bread, coffee, orange juice, etc. It was nice to have once a Western type of breakfast and not the typical rice and seaweed Japanese food. During the night, everything was calm and quiet. So, for us, this hotel was just an enjoyable experience and much better than some of the more expensive hotels in Japan I was staying in the revious days.

Room Tip: Ask for room 306: large room on a corner with 2 separare beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel VIVA Nikko. The location is less than 5 minutes walk from the train station. The elderly couple that greeted and helped us spoke a limited amount of English, enough to answer our questions, and they were friendly. There is wifi, but we couldn't get reception up on the 4th floor where our room was, so we had to go to the reception area to use it. There is free breakfast, which is simple and consisted of bread, pastry, salad, and omlet on individual trays. There is also free coffee, tea, and snacks from 4pm onward in the reception area, self-serve. Our room was small but had air conditioning/heating and its own bathroom. It had a gorgeous view of the mountains in the distant which we were able to catch sight of on a clear day. They also kept our luggage for us when we arrived early and after we checked out. We paid 10000 yen/night for 2 people in a double room. I believe you get a discount if you stay multiple nights.

We were only in Nikko for 2 days - it was really cold. We had plans to go to Chuzenji lake Yumoto areas and check out Kegon and Ryuzu Falls, but that was a BAD idea in the middle of winter. We took the bus up to Chuzenji and Yumoto and the route was snowing so hard that visibility was severely impaired. It's great if you were going up there for snow sports but not so great if you're there to sight see and hike. Those small towns up in the mountains were completely dead in the winter, and even fast food restaurants were closed during the day. We saw hardly anybody in those towns. We ended up just taking the bus down back to Nikko. I would not recommend going there during the dead of winter even with all the hotel/onsen discounts, unless you're there for snow sports.

Room Tip: wifi reception may be limited on the 4th floor. but our room had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Nikko Park Lodge
#75 of 150 in Nikko
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokino Yu
#23 of 150 in Nikko
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viva Nikko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viva Nikko

Property: Hotel Viva Nikko
Address: 258-2 Matsubaracho, Nikko 321-1406, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 150 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viva Nikko 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Viva Nikko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing