We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin rooms were impressive.. but Ginryu rooms were a little expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel was tastefully decided, despite being a little small. We went as two couples, and decided to try different rooms. We stayed in the ginryu room, while our friends stayed in the "western-style" room. While the rooms and surroundings were decent, I was a little let down by the food and service, which did not quite live up to my expectations for a luxury ryokan. The baths were fantastic the first day, but then the second day they turned the heat down!

Overall, I would recommend staying here for the cheaper rooms, as the more expensive rooms did not seem worth the money.

+++:
Rooms: The accommodations were actually quite impressive; the ginryu room had a separate dining room and table, with an outdoor shower and bath. My friends were actually upgraded to a larger "western-style" room, and it had a sizable tatami space for tea / coffee, and a very large bathroom. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, and maintained fairly well despite some furniture starting to look faded. The ginryu room was bigger and nicer, but also came at a cost of almost double a twin room.

Surroundings: The ryokan was very nicely decorated, with the central theme being a small pond in the center of the structure. We were unlucky to have missed snow, but the premises were beautiful nonetheless. My primary complaint was that the grounds were fairly small, but a very nice touch was at dinner, when they lit up a torch right in front of our window! It was quite a show and illuminated the garden nicely.

Baths / Onsen: For those who like onsens, the first night was perfect. Hot (but not scalding) and invigorating, it really helped relieve tension and stress, and was a precursor to a good night's sleep. On the second day however, for some inexplicable reason they turned the heat down, which made it much less enjoyable! Free milk in the mornings outside the baths was a great treat too!

Arrival / Transfers: They offered pick-up services from either train station, which was very much appreciated after a long day's worth of getting to Nikko! Also, they offered transportation / transfers to the train station or major tourist attractions during the day, and even picked us up after we were done sightseeing.

Free wifi: =)

---:
(Less than perfect) Service: Although above par for normal hotels, the service seemed a little lacklustre to me. I have stayed at a number of ryokans in the past, and I daresay that most luxury Japanese ryokans offer a level of service unparalleled to any conventional hotel in the rest of the world. From the politeness and the professionalism, to our hosts' acute attention to detail, extraordinary service is supposed to be a hallmark of luxury ryokan hotels. There was definitely a degree of that missing here, which unfortunately has led me to put service as a "negative".

(Less than perfect) Food: Breakfast and dinner were included. Again, by any account, I cannot say that the food was horrible. However, it simply did not live up to my experiences at other ryokans. The menu was fairly limited, compared to the kaiseki feasts usually expected at luxury ryokans. Freshness, execution and creativity were middling or above average at best, and was quite disappointing.

Wifi connectivity: There was free wifi, but connectivity in the rooms were limited at best. Connectivity was fine in the lobby and common areas though.

Value (especially for the Ginryu rooms): Overall, the ginryu rooms were nicer, but did not seem to offer much value at a price double that of a western-style twin room. For the food and service, the ryokan was definitely an above-average ryokan, but cannot be considered a luxury one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesjen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. I will try more, the contents of the meal and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa if your travels include Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Okunoin is 10 minutes away from Nikko station. Food is excellent, served in private rooms, not in your own room. There is a beautiful Japanese garden in the middle of the ryokan. They are used to serving foreign guests so English is no problem. The outdoor wooden onsen in the room is great. The only thing is, do not go to the nearby mountain during autumn season. The traffic is horrible!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

We truly valued your stay with us at "Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa" and we hope that it was completely comfortable and a total pleasure.

Our aim is to ensure that every "Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa" around the world offers consistently high standards of service and facilities.

We understand that the image of the Hotel is in the hands of you, our valued guest and we are fully committed to hearing your feedback to ensure you continue to visit our great Hotel.Thank you in advance for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

traffic is horrible It agrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We did a day trip from Tokyo, we left our luggage with our Tokyo hotel room (we did not pay for the room) they were happy to do so, and we bought a light bag to nikko. We decided to stay one night in nikko and explore the temples the next day.

(note): they do have luggage storage lockers (small to small medium sizes) areas at the train stations so you can leave your bags there too around AU $6-8

Any way, we stayed in the ginryu room at this ryokan. I know this place is pricey at about $750 a night. BUT it includes a traditional dinner and breakfast. My partner and I were treated like kings and queens, (we also knew no Japanese) but the staff speak English ok and will try their very best to communicate. You can also call once you get to the JR station and they can come and pick you up, Talk about service. The rooms are 100% clean, the views are gorgeous, the staff are just delightful, and the food was amazing.

This place is very easy to get to, as you get picked up, and they can drop you off again at the station, or at the temples so you can explore, afterwards you can then catch the bus back to the JR station to go to back to tokyo.

Overall, it was one of my most memorable attractions on my trip! Must must must stay here for a real Japanese pamper!

Room Tip: if you are a couple, try the Ginryu room! so so romantic with its own onsen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Pinkydotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015
Google Translation

ご宿泊誠にありがとうございました。
これからもより良い旅館となりますようスタッフ一同精進してまいりたいと思います。
またのご来館心よりお待ちいたしております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Tokugawa for 1 night during our honeymoon/babymoon in Japan. We were given a nice and spacious Japanese style room on the 2nd floor for this special occasion.

The staff were very friendly despite the fact that some of them speak little English. It's a nice and warm welcome since the moment we arrived at the ryokan. We were offered welcome drink with traditional Japanese sweet.

We also enjoyed the blossom tea in our room.

The kiseki dinner was served in our room. It was exceptional and beautiful. Too bad that I don't eat sashimi (raw fish) and beef, but their tofu (yuba) was a great alternative.

Their Japanese breakfast was also good and we were served in a small private room, equipped with CD player!

It's a nice touch that they offered us a small honeymoon gift too.

The room comes with massage chair, living area, small bathroom with full amenities, small toilet, dining table, tea/coffee maker, etc. There's also a little balcony where we could enjoy the moonlight.

I didn't try their onsen but heard that they have both indoor & outdoor tubs.

The hotel provides shuttle van to the train stations (Tobu & JR Nikko) as well as the World Heritage area (Tokugawa Shrine), but from the train station to the hotel, we had to take a taxi. I think they have a pick up service also but we didn't know their schedule then.

It's an expensive hotel but offer a good experience for special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joynifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015
Google Translation

ご宿泊誠にありがとうございました。
これからもより良い旅館となりますようスタッフ一同精進してまいりたいと思います。
またのご来館心よりお待ちいたしております。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 落ち着いた雰囲気で、大人の宿泊施設です
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usi_usi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank YOKOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer mit privatem Onsen lohnen sich--so kann man zu jeder Zeit ein heißes Bad geniessen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Weltreisende2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Grand Hotel Yume no Toki
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#8 of 150 in Nikko
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chuzenji Onsen
Hotel Shikisai
Hotel Shikisai
#11 of 150 in Nikko
169 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
#6 of 150 in Nikko
298 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Asaya
Asaya
#1 of 150 in Nikko
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa

Address: 2204 Nikko, Nikko 321-1415, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range: £224 - £595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a secluded Japanese building in Nikko. Wrapped in lush nature with a theme of "the hospitality of a garden with four seasons", Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa waits to greet everyone. Each room has its various charms such as the open-air spa room, the seasonal themed room, and the water themed villa. When shown to you room, hot water will be poured into a pot with flowering tea. Upon contact the splendid scent will expand to fill the room. At the rich "colors of the seasons" open-air spa, unwind your body and mind in the water of Nikko hot springs as you stretch out. Have the local cuisine of Nikko and seasonal ingredients for your meal. Hot things are served hot and cold things are served cold. All dishes are made with a desire for hospitality. The 4-season garden that changes colors and appearance together with the time. We hope you enjoy the easy flow of time here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing