We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Tokino Yu(Nikko)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Onoya(Nikko)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
65
45
15
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
45
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorprivate roomflowing riververy nice gift shopprivate onsenwear yukataauthentic japanese experiencethe busrooms are bigvisiting japanmen and womenonsen ryokangreat ryokanshort walknikko national parkopen air bathkaiseki dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at this Ryokan in Nikko for one night during a quick get-away from Tokyo and we loved it! We were three families, a total of 12 people. The Ryokan was booked through JTB, the Japan Travel Bureau and to me it was pure luck that it turned out to be everything I had hoped to show our friends who were visiting Japan for the first time.

First, rooms were spacious and with a great view of a river and forests. Futons were comfy and the bedding was crisp and clean, duvets with lots of real down. So nice to slip into bed after a long and adventurous day!

Second, food was delicious and typical Japanese. Included in the price was dinner and breakfast both of which were served in a private room with space for all 12 of us. It was keiseki, lots of small servings to taste a lot of different food. Of course not all were equally enthused about the meals but it was a true Japanese experience and one that I enjoyed giving my guests.

Third, the onsen on the top floor - both inside and outside onsens available, was spacious and comfortable - overseas visitors loved the concept and the extended opening hours which meant they took baths late at night and also early in the morning. Of course the onsen as the rest of the Ryokan being spotlessly clean...

Fourth, the location right across the road from an entrance to the Tokugawa Shrine, literally it took us 5 minutes to walk to Nikko's main attraction which was perfect for the many children in our party.

Fifth, the price! This is the first trip I have ever planned since coming to Japan where I thought we got really great value for money! The Ryokan was really not expensive considering everything that I have described above.

I would highly recommend this Ryokan if Nikko is in your travel plans. It will give you a pleasant introduction to what staying in a Ryokan is like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelMom_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our western family had 4 rooms for 3 nights arranged by our daughter-in-law's Nikko family. [We were in Nikko for a wedding.] All window walls overlooked river and forested mountains. 2 couples had large fantastic suites with personal onsen overlooking river. Their single futon beds were on platforms elevated off floor. Separate AC controls can take some time to figure out in the larger suites. 1 single and 1 couple were in traditional Japanese rooms where futons were set out each evening on tatami covered floors. To add more comfort you can add an additional futon underneath you - they are rolled up in closet for bedding. Hot thermosed water in afternoon and iced thermosed water at night stay amazingly hot & cold. Iron & board came immediately on request. If you want to lie down during day then they will not roll up futon on daily request. Our meals were downstairs (elevator or stairs) in a private screened room for 7 of us. We set the time for breakfast and dinner - they called with reminder just before. Our table (western style chairs) was set with traditional several courses for dinner and more western style for breakfasts. Forks available. Our host/hostess very helpful with lighting individual fuel cooking pans and directing us with the braziers. Shared onsens on inn's top level for those without private ones. Dress casual. Wear yukata (cotton 'kimono') from your room to onsen - and to dinner - although some of us dressed western for meals. The reception lounge is quiet and balcony opens over river. You can buy beer (large bottle, small glasses meant for sharing) at lounge wicket. There is a quality gift shop open at certain times each day. Vending machines with drink choices. (Very hot humid summers). Our large suitcases couriered from Narita to the Inn the day before. We travelled by train with our rolling carry-ons & were met at station by inn's van. Arrived before check-in time and were served cold tea and little Japanese appetizers in relaxing lounge til we were toured to our rooms. Situated an easy walk to the sacred bridge and more uphill walk to the UNESCO temple site. Best to read up on onsen ryokan 'etiquette' and - as always in Japan - show appreciation by bowing head & learning to say 'ohio-go-sigh-mus, ka-knee-chwa, arigato' good morning, good day, thankyou. Impeccable service - but NEVER tip in Japan for anything - it is an insult.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmjjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was my first time to Nikko and the hotel helped to make the visit a fabulous one. It's a small and cosy hotel with an onsen (both indoor and outdoor) on the 6th floor. The package we had included breakfast and dinner and the rates very reasonable. The Friday rate was 12,600yen and the Sat rate 16,800 yen. The dining area is in the basement and you get your own 'dining room' or booth so it's very private. The food is excellent - so much to eat and you can choose the type you fish you want for your meals. The ladies who serve you will explain what each dish is and what sauce to use and the experience is very enjoyable especially if it's the first time you are eating unfamiliar Japanese dishes. They also speak sufficient English for us to understand. Dinner is served at 6pm or 7pm. We were late coming in on the 1st night but they graciously kept dinner for us for which we were very grateful.

You get a nice welcome drink (hot tea as we arrived late in the evening) and a local NIkko souvenier when you arrive. The Japanese style room we had was spacious and clean. We slept on futons on tatami mats and it was very comfortable. The room windows open out to the river and hill behind. I can imagine once spring comes how beautiful the trees and flowers would look or in Fall with the many different colours of the leaves.

There is an indoor and outdoor onsen on the 6th floor and we enjoyed it very much. The outdoor onsen has a good view of the river and hills and is very relaxing.

Most of the staff understand English and some of them speak English so you will have no problems in terms of communication. They will also be able to help give you directions on the different tourist spots. There is a very easy to understand tourist map of Nikko as well as a bus timetable. The location of this hotel is excellent. Within walking distance to all the shrines and temples and just a stone's throw to the bus-stop where you can catch the bus to the Waterfalls and Lakes that are up in the mountains. The bus fares are according to distance and if you do not have a stored value bus card, you take ticket when you board the bus, and when you get off, you can check the electronic board in front of the bus to figure out the fare to pay. The announcements on the bus are in multiple lanagues - Japanese, English, Mandarin and Korean, and the bus-stops are also numbered so if you have the tourist map, you can figure out where to jump on and jump off. There is also a local convenience store located close to the hotel so it's easy to walk over to get snacks or drinks.

There is a very nice gift shop at the lobby that will tempt you to spend lots of money so we had to control ourselves!

There is a shuttle bus that will send you to the Nikko station but it's only available in the mornings. Check out time is early 10am and if you want a late checkout, it's charged per hour so not very worth it. My only quibble was that when we left the hotel around 11am, the staff insisted the shuttle would not be available, so we had to take a taxi to the Nikko JR station. But just as we arrived at the station, we saw the hotel shuttle pull up as they were picking up some guests who had just arrived. That wasn't very nice.

Still overall, I would rate my stay at Tsurukame excellent for the great service, very helpful staff, good location, delicious food, very clean and comfortable room.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLTY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Good hotel conveniently located. The room was small but well equiped, however a little bit noisy because in front of the river. There is also an onsen available. The dinners were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews