We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ACSydneyToLondon
London, United Kingdom
Terrible value, run-down rooms and shabby common access
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2017
Hugely disappointed at the quality of the rooms - run down, dark and damp.
We requested 2 non-smoking rooms but both rooms smell of smoke.
The Park Cottage rooms are in fact motel-style rooms (with fold-up chairs !) located a long way down a wet, mossy and slippery path away from the main hotel reception area.
We were so unhappy with the rooms that as soon as we checked in we asked to check out after our first night - the manager refused to offer a refund for the other prepaid nights.
Date of stay: August 2017
Room Tip: Avoid the Park Cottage
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
A view of the lodge
Tripadvisor
£113
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
7.1 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Free parking
ロビー
Tripadvisor
£224
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
11.9 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£280
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
14.4 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £547
  • Priceline
7.8 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Free parking
和室
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £255
  • Rakuten Travel
0.6 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free parking
Restaurant
清流沿いの源泉かけ流し露天風呂 美肌の湯
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Rakuten Travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    £323
  • Priceline
11.7 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£1,116
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • RitzCarlton.com
    £1,119
  • Hotels.com
13.3 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Fairfield Inn
    £247
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £251
6.8 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £277
  • Rakuten Travel
13.4 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £282
  • Rakuten Travel
5.0 miles from Kinugawa Park Hotels Kirakukan
Free parking
View more hotels in Nikko
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
11
20
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
20
14
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Great ryokan with beautiful ancient japan style, the food was extremely delicious, and have English speaker staff that will help you everything. Excellent. I'll stay here again if i back to japan. Nice

Date of stay: October 2016
1  Thank dedexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was not disappointed! It was well priced for the room we had. The onsen's were a little tired however they had all the essentials, great amenities and the baths themselves were fantastic! They had multiple indoor baths and each side of the hotel had the outdoor rotenburo baths also. Each day the baths are rotated for males and females so you don't miss out on seeing any of them. The rooms were incredibly spacious and comfortable. Kinugawa was a sleepy little town that did not have many places open at night, however there are little eateries open, close to hotel as well as the standard convenience store down the street and the train station was a mere 5 minutes walk away. As a little disclaimer Kinugawa park hotels is still a traditional Japanese-style ryokan, so people with tattoos are not able to bathe in the onsens. Overall our stay was very pleasant and all staff were very accommodating and kind. Would recommend!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NSlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

You come here to enjoy the onsen. Pleasant location overlooking a rushing stream. We had a car so moving around the area was not too difficult.

Rooms were comfortable enough, but the fixtures and fittings had seen better days. The staff had no problem supporting non-Japanese speakers.

Meals were very good and both time and care was taken to explain to us the various ritual components.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2016

5 minutes walks from Kinukawa onsen station, 10 minutes away from Edo Wonderland. Hotel staffs are very nice and helpful even they don't speak English. Didn't have time to experience outdoor onsen but private onsen is great. Also love both breakfast and dinner for Japanese set, totally value experience to try original Nikko food made from tofu. Excellent service from restaurant staffs.Good place to take you away from the clutter in the city. Overall it was very good to stay here, great river view and peaceful. Totally love it!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This hotel is about 300m from Kinugawa Onsen Station and the famous Kinu-Tateiwa Otsuribashi bridge is about 500m south along the river. The hotel's interior was tasteful and well maintained. We booked the cottage with twin beds as the price was a steal. The only con is that there are a few small flights of stairs to walk from the hotel lobby/onsens to the cottage. A pleasant walk unless you have lots of luggage.

Pros:
1. Room: Well-maintained with comfy Twin beds, and with attached bathroom. The view overlooking Kinugawa River was fantastic.
2 Onsens: Enjoyed the onsen experience thoroughly after ditching the initial reservations and telling myself "when in Rome, do as the Romans do". Anyway, the users in the onsen basically just mind their own business. There are 2 onsen rooms (gender segregated, with gender switching at different intervals). It was not crowded during my stay there (only about 2 to 3 of us in there) I tried one of them and it came with 3 different pools (1 large indoor and 2 smaller outdoors). My favourite was the outdoor pool which was built with rocks to give it a natural setting. The washing and drying areas are well equipped with a good range of liquid bath ,shampoos (love the "horse oil" shampoo which felt really good for my dry hair), moisturizers, even hair and scalp tonics!

Cons:
1. a few small flight of stairs from lobby to the cottage
2. wifi is only available at the lobby

We did not eat at the hotel. Overall it was a very good stay and great value for money.

Cons: Staff speaks limited English but we get by and the use of google-translate app helps!

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews