We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryuzu Waterfall

Ryuzu Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,208.50*
and up
Private Nikko Custom Tour from Tokyo by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #8 of 154 things to do in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

A smaller set of falls with a great shop at the base. The highlight is the walk that goes up behind the falls. A well made path with steps and seating. You get a great view of Lake Chuzenji on the way. If you got to the falls by bus (bottom bus stop) - you can wait for the next bus at the top of the falls - you do have to walk back down again. Vise-versa if you cam the other way.
Include on your exploration of the sights from Nikko to Yumoto-onsen. Easily fit in the falls and walk between buses.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    184
    58
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average waterfall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

The scenery at the end of the autumn is still okay, although most of the colorful leaves were gone. The waterfall itself is nothing special on an international waterfall 'level'. For Japanese standards its very okay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EricAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The famous dragon beard waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

It's one of the plc to see the earliest maples near Tokyo, so by the time i visit in Nov it's already end of season, a pity I couldn't c the colorful leaves but remain a great place to visit, there're staircase up to the upper stream for the view of the waterfall from top which is equally nice.
The restaurant offer great view of the waterfall as well, visitor can eat or drink matcha while directly facing the waterfall, I just love the Japanese way of drinkin/eatin facing wonderful views of nature and gardens

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Peacefull, some magic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Was driven there by car, with my guide, as a gift by a very nice local person. A special experience, because this is not the kind of place we often find ourselves close to. To be right there is special, because of the noise of the water fall, and mist, and, otherwise, the peace. At the time we went, we were the only ones present.
We felt priviledged.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Beautify autumn leaves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I went in late October to Nikko, and it was crowded. I could not go to all the sights in Nikko, so I picked the Ryuzu Waterfall as one of them and did not regret it. The views from around the waterfall area were beautiful. You can explore the surrounding areas as well. When you get off the bust at stop 35, the end of the waterfall is a short walk away. Take the trip up the steps to the top of the waterfall.

The Ryuzu Waterfall may not be a large one, but it is definitely a scenic one. You can do a quick walk in less than an hour, but if you like taking photos, give yourself more time here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryuzu Waterfall also viewed

Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Ryuzu Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing