We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Mountain Spa”
Review of Teshirozawa Onsen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nikko
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teshirozawa Onsen
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have visited this Onsen two times with a business group and my wife.

We hiked about five miles in the snow covered forrest and were rewarded by the beauty, solitude, and quility of this spa/inn.

Fabulous mountan feed natural hot springs, traditional Japanese rooms, and excellent food complete the package of delights.

This is the real deal for Mountian Onsens!

Room Tip: all rooms ( 6-7) good w/ mountain- forrest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas in 2009. We often visit visit onsen and or ryokan in the Kanto area, and I am a frequent traveler to the Nikko area. The stay here was one of the most enjoyable of my now 11 years in Japan.

We went in the winter with 2 feet of snow at the lower elevations to over 3 feet in the woods at the higher elevation. The trip up was a challenge as we did not have a decent map and were hiking through the woods all the way. As we were the only people to recently use the trail, the snow was waist deep for me and much higher on my wife. Since it was nearing sunset, I decided to abandon the trail appraoch when I found the dirt road leading to the onsen. We arrive just before dark.

The smell of sulfur was strong, but somehow not unpleasant. The room we stayed in was very spacious and very warm, apparently heated by the same source that heats the onsen (not sure, but maybe below the flooring heat). There was but one other couple staying there the night we arrived which made for an extra pleasant experience. Dinner was excellent---Japanese cuisine of course---served in the dinning room and included seasonal dishes.

You have a choice of bathing inside or outside under the bright stars---something one who lives in Tokyo or any other city ain't likely to see often---or both. The water outside was not as hot as inside, but it was more than enough to keep me very warm and allow me to have plenty of time to enjoy the view.

All in all an extremely enjoyable experine that I plan to do again soon.

It does require quite a bit of time and a little effort to get there in the winter. You have to take a bus or some other form of transportation from Kinugawa station which is close to an hour trip as I recall. Then you can hike to the onsen which will take 3 hours or more under good conditions. If the snow is deep and you take the trails, it will take longer. I would take the dirt road---it still likely be snow-covered, but there is less chance of getting delayed or even lost before sunset, plus even thought the route will be longer, it will take less time. Be prepared for cold and possibly tough conditions in either case.

We saw plenty of animal sigh---deer, rabbit, even marten tracks---so you've a chance to see something if you are lucky.

10  Thank drichi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 浩二佐
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank hashihiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank かせー た
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 全6室 部屋の広さは同じ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NO1ビューテフルスマイル
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank きが
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#2 of 152 in Nikko
167 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Sanraku
Kinugawa Onsen Sanraku
#21 of 152 in Nikko
55 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Hatcho no Yu
Hatcho no Yu
#28 of 152 in Nikko
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Motoyu Yunishikawakan Honkan
Yunisigawa Onsen
Honke Bankyu
Honke Bankyu
#8 of 152 in Nikko
158 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Isshinkan
Isshinkan
#110 of 152 in Nikko
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teshirozawa Onsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teshirozawa Onsen

Address: 870-2 Kawamata, Nikko 321-2717, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing