We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly and helpful owners”
Review of Logette Sanbois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logette Sanbois
Ranked #124 of 150 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Picked up by the owners from Nikko JR station after making the agreed phone call from the call box as per the email. Having travelled direct from the UK the JR rail connections and pick up from the station worked fine. The residence is placed about half a mile from the town and given that a trip to Nikko's temples and country side is going to require some walking relatively small distances if you don't have a car, the pleasant location in a wood complete with river and deer roaming nearby after dark was relaxing.

Charlie Brown the dog is housed outside and so is his bedding, so one can only think that other reviewers that commented on his BO aren't dog lovers !. Give him a biscuit from inside the door and tell him he's a good boy....

Inside the house the strict separation of outdoor wear just inside and throughout was enforced and explained, the Japanese way. Very good food and a great introduction to Japanese cooking with a number of courses and explanation of what you were eating and indeed how to cook it yourself on the charcoal burner provided. The eating option for the dinner and breakfast meal was also mentioned beforehand in case you had an issue with the contents. Fresh fish featured a lot but also meat, so one touched all the bases.

The Japanese room was clean but being of this style if you are not happy with sitting on the floor during the day, the well stocked communal lounge can be used at other times entering from the hall. On wifi it is true that when we visited, this was not working since the owner had lost the key [an admission]. One suspects that the WEP key is printed on the base of the router unit but decided that given that handling the router was off bounds didn't progress it. An Ethernet lead is provided for laptops but if you carry your own portable router the owner is happy for you to connect this up in the hall and take up residence in the lounge in the more comfortable environment.

The owners were knowledgable, gave us directions, provided umbrellas on the wet day and chased us for our wet clothes to dry over night in the heated Japanese bathroom area. So unlike other contributers we got our clothes dried.

Nikko itself reminds one of a Nordic town with low cloud base and a chill in the air, at least in the winter, hence the warm cosy accommodation was welcome.

BTW as mentioned elsewhere the accommodation does have a set of steps so if you are not fit or have a physical disability or are carrying heavy bags, you could have an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

Very good place to stay in Nikko, and very charming owners of the hotel. It's a bit away from the town, but I think Nikko as a town has not many things to offer, so you don't really need to be near the town. In exchange, you get a nice, 8-tatami traditional japanese room in an extraordinary environment and with very nice food for dinner.

The owners give you every direction you need to get to the temple area, and information regarding transportation and so on. They also give you a ride from and to Nikko station when you arrive and leave.

One cons is that they don't have wi-fi available, so if you want to use the internet, you need to bring your computer to the reception area and use a LAN cable there. But you can live with it.

I would definitely recommend it, although bear in mind the money you're paying, it's not a luxury ryokan!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc_44m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We booked this inn based on positive reviews on a travel site, by which we were misled. For this price, we didn't expext anything fancy but a basic clean accommodation.

After climbing up steep stairs, a handsome beagle, Charley welcomed us. My dog-lover friends would've petted him, if he had received a little more TLC with deodorant.

The couple running the inn are very friendly and the meal was very satisfactory. It appears, however, that they can't handle all the work alone. My private bathroom had a brown stain on the floor (I didn't bother to figure out what it was) and a cup at the sink was too old and dirty. Everything look old there but It won't cost too much to replace such a little amenity periodically.

The big tub looked clean. Each room was assigned 30 minutes to bathe (the bathing order was pre-assigned by the owners). It was a bit busy, but you can enjoy your privacy.

There was an oil stove in my room. If you get sore throat easily, this is something to be noted during the cold season. Parking is more like a shoulder on the narrow road and hard to recognize.

I recommend Logette Sanbois only to back packers or budget travelers. If you are looking for an avarage accommodation, pay an extra $20 bucks or so, and stay somewhere else (or roll the dice as some people had a good time). If the overall cleanliness is improved, this inn will be a very reasonable accommodation for friends and family trips (still not recommended for honeymooners).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy.Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

The hosts are extremely helpful, friendly and cute. They picked us up from the station and drove us back again and gave us all different kind of infos what to do (especially as it was raining, that was useful). Even though we left one day earlier than planned they were very friendly

We liked the dinner a lot. It was lots of good food with a little barbecue on the table. Probably you can have a good dinner as well for less money somewhere else, but as the hotel lies a bit away from the center of the city it is much more convenient to eat in the hotel. We didn' t have breakfast.

The view out of the tub into the forest was nice.

Our room had a private bath including shower, but shampoo, hairdrier were only available in the shared bath.

The big weakness for us was, that we didn't had the feeling that it was clean. The room needed a renovation, there was dust at the walls, the blanket had some stains and a bad smell in the entrance (maybe because of the dog). As we originally planned to to stay one full day in the hotel to relax, read, ..., we couldn' t imagine to do it there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatscheNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We booked this ryokan for a three night stay based on the positive reviews I'd read. We had a Japanese room, including dinner and breakfast. Positives: the hosts ran us to and from the station, and it was an easy walk into town; the private hot bath was in a lovely setting looking out onto the forest; the food was very good (though not advisable if you're not keen on Japanese food, or if you're travelling with children, as there are no alternatives offered); the evening of origami was fun. Negatives: the place was desperately in need of a good clean, especially our bathroom, which was disgusting; because the ryokan is set in the woods, there was little air and everything was musty - our room smelt unpleasant, all our clothes felt damp after three days there and it was impossible to dry anything. If you can put up with these negatives, then you'll probably enjoy your stay, but if you expect basic standards of hygiene in your accommodation this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauren55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We very much enjoyed our stay for 2 nights at the end of March 2008. Yes, the corridors (and unfortunately the shared toilet) were cold, but our room was well warmed by the gas heater. The dining room was warm when we were in there for meals, and we were toasty warm in bed.
The meals were great, we had fun with the origami, and the location and outlook of the shared bath room is brilliant, overlooking the woods with a big window, but completely private. Use of it is allocated to each set of guests - you are not expected to share it with strangers. When we woke up to snow falling on the second morning, it was quite magical.
Logette Sanbois might not be everyone's cup of tea but it felt like a little piece of real Japan.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We stayed midweek in February for 2 nights. It wasn't difficult to find at all, and the 15 minute walk there was no different to what we had been doing when travelling by train in the rest of Japan.

Yes, the rooms were cold given that it was winter and snowing but we found the heater in our room was fine, the futon warm and comfortable. The bath was great.

The hosts were lovely and the food was divine. The only thing we would change would be to have the Japanese breakfast both mornings and skip the Western breakfast. I suppose the food was slightly on the expensive side but it was so delicious.

We loved Nikko itself and would definately recommend staying 2 nights midweek. We went to the shrine area in the afternoon and there weren't many crowds at all, making it an enchanting experience. Find the okonomiyaki restaurant on the main street for a treat. Cheap, too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rexgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Park Lodge
#82 of 150 in Nikko
137 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Hotel Viva Nikko
#125 of 150 in Nikko
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Fukko Oyado Fusokoyooma Kinugawa Higoku no Yu Kaze
Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Manyotei
Hotel Manyotei
#58 of 150 in Nikko
22 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Plaza
Kinugawa Onsen Plaza
#108 of 150 in Nikko
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logette Sanbois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logette Sanbois

Address: 1560 Tokorono, Nikko 321-1421, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nikko
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Logette Sanbois 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Logette Sanbois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logette Sanbois Nikko
Logette Sanbois Hotel Nikko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing