We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nikko Senhime Monogatari
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

What was most memorable of our 2 nights stay @ Nikko Senhime Monogatari in early April was its warm hospitality, even though only a few spoke English. We stayed in a Japanese style room with bed @ JPY 35280 on half board for 2 persons/night. The full size bottles of Kanebo face gel, toner and milk lotion in the bathroom were great.  I also tried their 50 mins body massage @ JPY7350 which was rather good. The cherry blossoms were still not in bloom when we were there so the surrounding scenery is not much to rave about.

Our room on the 5/F was very spacious and the bed comfortable and it has a view of the stream and the mountains.The kaiseki dinners and breakfasts were appetising. Free intermittent wifi access is limited to the lobby area.

We bought the All Nikko Pass @ JPY4400 pp and travelled via Asakusa to Nikko. We made full use of the Pass to travel to Lake Chusenji and Yumoto Onsen area on both days. Without the pass, each trip from Bus stop 8 (nearest to Nikko Senhime) to Lake Chusenji would cost JPY1000 each per way. There was much hype about the beauty of Lake Chuzenji and Nikko as a whole, so it was a bit of a disappointment for us where Lake Chuzenji and Yumoto Onsen area are concerned. It was early spring so the whole lake area seem barren. It was very windy that day and we had to skip the walk to Kegon Falls which would be about 15 mins walk from the bus station. Yumoto Onsen area was totally deserted and the area looked abandoned. Perhaps the view would be pleasantly different during late spriing, summer or autumn. We did enjoy the short walk to Toshugo Shrine and Shinkyo Bridge!




  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

my husband and I wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese Ryoken/Onsen on an overnight trip to Nikko. We took the train from Tokyo to Nikko and arrived early (11 am) at Senhinime Monogatari. They showed us to a sittting area where we completed the registration for our stay. At this time you are to choose your dinner and breakfast (western or Japanese food) and time. We also decided to try a few spa offerings as well. I chose a 1.5 hour message and facial. After they took our baggage and we set off to explore Nikko and have lunch. The cost of one night is approx $600 US. This includes two amazing meals. Alcohol not included. The onsen here is amazing. We are not Japanese, but are enjoying the Japanese culture. I always make an attempt to use the onsen (where ever we stay) at least 2 to 3 times per day. My message was delightful. The women's spa (message) is right next to the hotel. At dinner the Owner of the Ryoken stopped by the greet us and ask how we were enjoying our time in Nikko. There is also a piano bar you can stop in and request songs after dinner. We had a wonderful stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just visited for a 3D2N trip. The location is just nice. In 5 minutes walk, there are 2 convenient shops and also a bus stop (number 8) that bring you to lots of places like Kegon fall, Chuzenji Lake ( drop at bus stop number 24), Ryuzu falls (bus stop 35) and etc. Make sure you purchase the Pass from Asakusa or the bus fare cost a lot. In 10 minutes walk, you can reach Toshugu Shrine, Beautiful Shinkyo Bridges, Nikko Botanical Garden and a lot more tourist spots.

The room is new and comfortable. Stay a night at Japanese Style and another night at Open Air Bath. They serve wonderful breakfast and dinner in the room. Make sure you order Japanese style foods. My husband and I love the foods.

The services is also wonderful. If you call up earlier for pick up service. They will send a van to pick you up at Tobu Nikko Station. Return back to the station, suggest you arrange earlier because they will only send you if they need to pick up anyone from the station. The lady owner is also very nice. The first night when my husband and I having dinner, she personally visited our room just to say " Welcome and Thank you" for choosing the hotel. When we leave at the 3rd day, she personally bid farewell to you. All the staff are very polite, they will smile and greet at you each time when they meet you. If you need direction guide, they will explain nicely to you even though they don't speak English well.

Strongly suggest this hotel if you don't mind to pay more. It cost Japanese Yen 38640 for 2 in Japanese room and 63000 in Open Air Bath room if you book 30 days in advance ( included breakfast and dinner ). Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Choose the room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HweeYinLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a traditional Japanese ryokan in a small resort town easily accessible from Tokyo. The baths are beautiful and very clean. The Japanese cuisine was excellent and its presentation was art. The location is a convenient departure point for walks through the national park to shrines. Worth a detour!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerLPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Japanese style rooms, modern with world class service! Views amazing and relaxing with excellent Onsen. The food was just amazing best we had on the trip in any hotel in Japan! The taste and visual delight will long be remembered! Service well going the extra mile just does not do justice to the level of service we received, from the breakfasts and dinners to checking in and out excellent service. we enjoyed our two night stay in Nikko with lots to do and some great walks.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back, mountain and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Nice staff made us feel comfortable and very special. Having meal at the hotel is recomended. The hotel stands next to a small stream and there are mountains back behind. Room is clean and comfortable. Onsen is very good and great relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supinya n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a modern Onsen hotel - not a "pretty" old fashioned place. The interior is modern and functional; we stayed in a japanese style room which was lovely. The baths are segregated (M/F!) and excellent. Other spa type services - particularly for women are available. Food was excellent - beautifully prepared and presented; waited on by a traditionally dressed lady and served in a little private room with "hole in the floor" seating. The staff fall over themselves to be helpful and friendly although english is very limited indeed!

Location is excellent - right across the road from an entrance to the main temple/shrine site and on a bus route to Chuzenji lake, Kegon falls etc. The whole are of Nikko is a "Must Visit" in Japan...

The hotel/experience is not cheap.. A good room for two with dinner and breakfast is $500 but it is a great experience and worth the money...

Room Tip: Go Japanese Style! The higher the better.... (5th floor is the top!). ALL rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#2 of 159 in Nikko
171 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Grand Hotel Yume no Toki
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chuzenji Onsen
Hotel Shikisai
Hotel Shikisai
#5 of 159 in Nikko
175 reviews
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#7 of 159 in Nikko
333 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Asaya
Asaya
#1 of 159 in Nikko
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Senhime Monogatari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Senhime Monogatari

Address: 6-48 Yasukawacho, Nikko 321-1432, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range: £189 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nikko Senhime Monogatari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nikko Senhime Monogatari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing