We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner out in central Tokyo”

Tokyo Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.87*
and up
Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour
More Info
US$39.13*
and up
Tokyo Small-Group Walking Tour: Ningyocho and Nihonbashi Districts
Ranked #9 of 124 Food & Drink in Tokyo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: “Tokyo Urban Adventures offers day tours with a local around Tokyo. They range from 2 hour to 12 hour adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Tokyo. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.”
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner out in central Tokyo”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the food tour with my short time in Tokyo. Silvia was a great host, offered a lot of information about the food, the locales and was helpful with explaining our dining options. She made our small group feel welcome and comfortable together. The walking tour dinner featured a number of entrees-- yakitori, monjya yaki, okonomiyaki, and a couple of sweet dessert offerings-- chocomaki and taiyaki. Food was plentiful and the restaurants were not touristy, but places where the locals hang out and relax. I recommend the food tour highly to anyone with a free evening in central Tokyo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 14 February 2015
Dear William,

We are really glad to know how much you enjoyed your tour!
Thank you for your kind words! You all really looks like are having fun over beer!

Best wishes,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    26
    7
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable enough but I wouldn't recommend to a friend”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We met our tour at 5pm and the tour ran through until about 8.15pm. We were taken into fascinating small alleys for our first "course" of yakitori; then (apparently because of the location of the "main meal" restaurant) we went to purchase our dessert; afterwards we caught the subway to the final restaurant. Given the number of restaurants and food vendors in Tokyo, I'm not sure why they didn't just choose other places to give a better order to the tour. At the last restaurant most attendees in our group were confused about what and how we were supposed to order.

Silvia our guide was very nice however the tour content (facilitation and narrative) was not polished or engaging enough in my opinion to justify the expense.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrPercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear MrPercival,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of the tour. Our guides are free to choose the places they want so I believe that, if she chose these places, it's because she really thinks those are the best places in each type of food in the itinerary, and that was the best way to make it work.

But your thoughts are really appreciated and certainly will help us improve the tour.

Best Regards,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Japanese food, culture and Fun!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After recently arriving in Tokyo and having very few ideas about the food or culture and language, we met up with Silvia who was a breath of fresh air. She is a Tokyo local with perfect English which made us very happy. We started our tour with a walk down a small alley filled with tiny restaurants and she explained all the fascinating history of the area. Then we ate a selection of traditional japanese yakitori which were delicious and had fun learning to use chopsticks! (Are forks if required). Afterward we walked to another restaurant with a different style of cooking which is Australia we would call BBQ, I Forgot the name here though. It was also a great experience before seeing a local vendor for traditional desert of a small pastry fish with a variety of sauce in the middle. It was perfect way to see Tokyo at night and experience the food and culture. We both really loved it and our guide was so much fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murtoa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent Food, Excellent Leader!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Tokyo After 5 tour was lots of fun! Silvia was an excellent leader who had exceptional knowledge of the Japanese culture and cuisine. We tried a variety of different foods and sweets and all of the it was just lovely. I recommend this tour for anyone wanting to experience some fine dining and a walk through the exciting streets of Tokyo. 5 stars! :D

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“an amazing experience!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We met up with our guide Silvia who was delightful and spoke very good English and Japanese which was helpful for us Australians in translating the menu to us. Silvia was constantly explaining the culture and history of Tokyo which we found very interesting. She also helped in choosing what food we ate which has been useful for the rest of our trip. We would recommend this tour to anyone interested in learning the history of food and dining etiquette.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyschmidt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing