We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tour!”

Tokyo Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.87*
and up
Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour
Ranked #9 of 116 Food & Drink in Tokyo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: “Tokyo Urban Adventures offers day tours with a local around Tokyo. They range from 2 hour to 12 hour adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Tokyo. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.”
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely tour!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my sister did a food tour with a nice lady called Meg and we are so glad we did!
We went to 2 types of restaurants both serving different types of Japanese food and we would of found these places ourself's as there off the beaten track.
A must of your in Tokyo!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joseph_m_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 13 February 2015
Had so much fun with you and your sister, Joseph!
I hope you two can come back to Japan soon to enjoy it even more!!!

Cheers,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    26
    7
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour, we discovered food that we would never eat without the help of Meg, our guide!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cédric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 13 February 2015
Thank you for your kind words Cédric and I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed the tour!!!
Best wishes,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granollers, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was a fantastic tour, our guide tour meg did a really well job! It was an amazing experience learning a little bit more about japanese food. I would reccomend it to everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sergi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 13 February 2015
Thank you Sergio!
Your words makes me really happy and willing to learn and share even more all the fun in Tokyo!

Best wishes,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food tour .....awesome”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did the tokyo evening food tour and really enjoyed it.
Our guide Meg was great, she spoke good English and was a pleasure to hang out with to learn about Japanese food, drink and culture.
We had 8 people on our tour which was a good number.
We were taken to some great little places down alley ways and back streets which you would probably never go to as a visitor.
We tried yakatori which is grilled meat or veg skewers which has now become our favorite Japanese food! If it had not have been for this tour we probably still wouldn't know about yakatori?
We did only go to two different places to eat plus one little take away dessert place in the train station so it would have been good to maybe go to more places but that's just a very small negative - the food and places we did go to were great.
Would highly recommend this tour, its a great night out to mix with other tourist and have a local take the stress out of finding somewhere to eat and navigating your way on the trains for one night.

Helpful?
Thank vinquelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 14 February 2015
Thank you for sharing all your impressions about this night! I really enjoy it too and yakitori also is my favourite dish!!! :)
Best wishes,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Night Food Tour”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food in the last place was enjoyable and taking a train made the evening very disjointed. I would have preferred to have done something else on my last night in Tokyo

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg_from_Tokyo, Manager at Tokyo Urban Adventures, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dominic,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the tour and I'm really sorry that you felt this way.
We love the train ride because we feel like, even being a 5 min. ride, the atmosphere of the place is completely different and you get to know a lovely neighbourhood and also, being the place that this Tokyo specialty was created and having more than 70 restaurants serving the same dish, it really seems like it's the place to go to have monjayaki.
But I'm glad to hear that the food was enjoyable.

Best regards,
Meg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing