We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claire Higasa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for just one night to visit the castle (which we hadn't realized was undergoing restoration). The hotel is close to the station, though it could do with better directions on the web site. The triple room we had was a good size, but the bathroom is tiny, much too small for the rest of the room. The men in my family tell me that the shared bath is very nice, but there is no obvious view described by others. The pillows were reversible, with one side of the bag-of-beads variety. Could probably have asked for different ones, but they were fine.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel and so can't comment. It was good value overall. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
6
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kootenays, British Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I feel I'm being a bit genorous to this hotel as I certainly wasn't thrilled with it. But our stopover was just that, a stopover: quick visit to the castle and gone. The hotel is in a handy location. I'd recommend it to a friend 'with conditions'. I was surprised at the nice boulevard leading up to the castle.

The hotel was very average but it had a particularly nice bath on the top floor with a view of the city (view of the castle that once was has been blocked). We had reserved a double (so we thought) but ended up with a triple (three single beds). It was large by Japanese standards but useless for a married couple.

The restaurant in the hotel is a breakfast only affair. It was pretty good. The desk clerk helpfully gave us a good recommendation for a restaurant nearby the evening before and they looked after our luggage after checkout while we did the castle.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We stayed in a Japanese room, which was Ok but the pillow was like sleeping on river rocks & the futon gave me an uncomfortable night. Bathroom is tiny. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. It was not the real Japanese experience we anticipated at the Ryokan.

  • Liked — Not Much
  • Disliked — the Bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Try a western room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2006

We loved this hotel. Our triple room was HUGE! This hotel is only a short walk from the train station and the castle. You can even see the castle from the bath. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2006

This is a nice place, fairly central location a few blocks from the station, a few blocks from the castle, in the middle of the entertainment district. My wife's friend owns the hotel and they are super nice and speak good English. There is a very tiny park in front of the hotel (it's in an urban setting) for travelers with kids; don't expect too much, but it's not bad.

The beauty about Himeji is that, as a city, it's a good location for travelers. It's relatively close to Osaka and Kyoto, and not that far from Hiroshima. It's a relatively quiet city, but has some excellent restaurants and bars (no real dance clubs); there's also a Starbucks for those who need their fix. The city is famous for its castle and I find the castle grounds and surround parks wonderful places to stroll around.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank worthj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Himeji hotels
Dormy Inn Himeji
#1 of 32 in Himeji
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Himeji Station
Hotel Nikko Himeji
Hotel Nikko Himeji
#3 of 32 in Himeji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Himeji Station
Comfort Hotel Himeji
Comfort Hotel Himeji
#4 of 32 in Himeji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Hotel Abest Himeji
#20 of 32 in Himeji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Himeji Station
APA Hotel Himeji Eki Kita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claire Higasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claire Higasa

Property: Hotel Claire Higasa
Address: 22 Junishomaecho, Himeji 670-0911, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Himeji > Himeji Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claire Higasa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 10 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Claire Higasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claire Higasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing