We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight in Himeji”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Himeji
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fine for an overnight in Himeji”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you are familiar with the "Comfort Inn" brand of hotels in the U.S. then you will already know that this is a pretty basic hotel. By Japanese standards it falls into the usual class for business travelers, nothing special but rather outdated, clean, functional rooms and a standard buffet breakfast served in the lobby.
The staff is friendly and speak fairly good English. Unfortunately for our trip they had made a mistake on our reservation (lost them!) This could have been a minor disaster as we arrived late at night and were in Himeji during a busy time. With 3 in our group, we had reserved 2 rooms, a double and single. The girl at the front desk initially told us that there were no rooms available. After we produced a printed copy of their confirmation letter with reservation number and information for our stay, there was nothing left for us to do except sit in the lobby and wait while they sorted things out. Well, they did have a room after all, 3 in fact, but all singles. Problem solved, and so we received 3 rooms for the price of 2. Also by way of apology, my daughter and I each received a "ladies set" gift bad of special toiletries, in addition to a late check-out for the following day.
The location is good, close to the train station and also an easy walk to the castle. The aforementioned breakfast, while fairly typical, did include things like eggs and waffles, in addition to soup and rice. The single rooms, while small, were clean and quiet and non-smoking, which is something I really appreciate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    104
    43
    0
    3
See reviews for
39
52
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel has all that you need for a comfortable and correct stay in the center of Himeji. All central places, as well as Himeji castle can be reached by walking. Rooms are clean and well equipped. They are not very spacious, but this is your last concern in Japan. Breakfast looks like an Ibis (Accor-group) breakfast but has some Western and Japanese elements. The reception is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WW-Traveller-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Comfort hotels are good standard business hotels in Japan. The room was clean and a good size. Wifi available in the lobby. Staff excellent and very helpful. The breakfast is limited but fine and there are western and Japanese options. The location is good for the station, town centre and castle. Note though that if you're visiting Himeji castle at the moment it's having a major 7 year reconstruction project and much of it is under scaffolding. We visited as a stop off point on a longer trip but I wouldn't make a special trip just to see the castle at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is a typical Japanese business class hotel close to the train station and castle. Small but clean rooms. Breakfast with limited choice but enough for us. Usual Japanese efficient service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Staying in hotels as much as I do (hence my 100nights/a year pen name), I know a great hotel when I see one.

Comfort hotel is everything you need in a mid market hotel and more. The hotel is 2/3 years old, so the rooms are fresh and well designed and a reasonable size. The location is slightly off centre, but OK. There is some collateral noise from corridor outside (why do people slam doors?) and the floor above, but nothing too disturbing.
Hotel service is energetic with nothing being too much trouble. The management (employees?) have thought of every need, so if you have forgotten your nail clippers, you can have new ones within minutes. There is even a laundrette with iron. The (free) breakfast is nothing special, but functional. (Free) Internet is wireless and worked well. The final word was two free rental bicycles with which to enjoy a morning tour of (flat) Himeji before boarding our train to the next destination.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Ideal location, a short walk from the station. We were able to leave our luggage before check-in and visit the castle in the morning.

Close to the city's attractions and plenty of good cheap restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Comfort is just what you may need in Himeji - the rooms are clean, service attentive enough and the location is right - next to a large (and cheap!) store with everything a weary traveler might need, and a relatively short walk away from Shinkansen station and a shopping arcade. Himeji Castle is also a walking distance from the hotel - a large plus if you intend to visit. Also, the rooms are quite big, especially compared to many hotels in larger cities.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmateusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Himeji hotels
Dormy Inn Himeji
#1 of 32 in Himeji
288 reviews
Himeji Station
Hotel Nikko Himeji
Hotel Nikko Himeji
#3 of 32 in Himeji
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Himeji Station
APA Hotel Himeji Eki Kita
Hotel Himeji Plaza
#7 of 32 in Himeji
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Himeji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Himeji

Property: Comfort Hotel Himeji
Address: 1-50-3 Hojo-Guchi, Himeji 670-0935, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Himeji > Himeji Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Himeji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Himeji 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Himeji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Himeji
Himeji Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing