We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Comfort Hotel NARA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Hotel NARA
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
965 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed there in March 2012. Conveniently located close to the JR Station, but far from the tourist sites, 15 to 30 minutes by foot, although it makes it a pleasant walk. The room was pretty small, free Wi-Fi. Good service, the staff were helpful. They provide breakfast, a mix of western and Japanese stuff. So nothing spectacular, but a good place to sleep after a busy day

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    141
    37
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
56
79
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Being part of an American chain, you get a few little perks at this hotel that you don't normally get at Japanese hotels - free coffee in the breakfast area for most of the day and night (good coffee, too) and free breakfast. The rooms are typically tiny but comfortable. The location is great for being one block from JR Nara Station and a big supermarket but it is located out of the town centre so expect a long walk to get to major sites or the Kintetsu station.

Wi-fi was free, as well as LAN. The service mostly worked fine.

The staff were pleasant, although our request for baby bedding was not received and we were asked to pay extra. This wasn't a big deal as it wasn't much (3000 yen if I recall for two nights).

Overall, a perfectly serviceable hotel that is easy
on the wallet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letyoursoulglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The location is good. It's very close to the JR station. Each floor has a good vending machine and laundry machines. The room itself was small but comfortable, and had good furniture.

However, the room itself had a terrible odor. It smelled like bad B.O., and we were too tired to change rooms. We should have. We were quite unhappy with the room, but I'm sure they don't all smell so bad.

The breakfast was not great, but it did the trick! It's more a western breakfast with eggs and sausage. The JR station has good bentos, so don't fill up if you're taking the train that day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel has several things in its favour, most of which matter to the traveller .. it has good location, easy to find, free WiFi (or free internet at least) which is not slow, very clean, and breakfast is included.

Its across the street from the East exit to the JR station (not to be confused with the OTHER train station in Nara .. Japan is like that, several overlapping train networks) and is easy to find .. just look for the Comfort sign on the top of the building. The Wifi is downstairs and in the rooms the WiFi is a bit temperamental so bring a LAN cable and it'll do fine. The breakfast is a bit of a "plastic buffet", the term plastic referring to both the serving utensils and the food ! I know Japanese breakfasts don't agree with me (who would have soup at 7am anyway) but this meal ain't anything to look forward to. Still, its part of the package and means you don't have to go looking for it elsewhere, though the train station has a couple of nice restaurants, including a "Cuisine de France". Finally, as with everything in Japan its very very clean.

On the downside the AC didn't work, it just kept heating the room so I turned it off an opened the window which brought in the noise of the main street outside but that was the tradeoff. The room wasn't big but they never are in Japan, and while it was a double bed, one side of the bed had to be jammed up against the wall in order to make it fit, which meant that if there were two in the bed then one would have to crawl over the other to get in/out.

Would I stay there again if in Nara ... only if I couldn't afford something more expensive, and I chose this hotel because the others on the list for the event I was attending were all booked out.

PS Nara is a very nice place to visit anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back if you want to open the window and not have the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We spent a night here on our trip around Japan.

It is easily spotted from the station and offers the clean compact rooms offered by most business hotels.

The reception staff were helpful and perhaps some of the most fluent in English we met on our trip. The buffet breakfast was better than those offered by Toyoko Inns and as a nice bonus free coffee and barley tea was available in the lobby all day long

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I'll be honest, I didn't expect much from the Comfort Hotel in Nara - I booked it mostly for low price and convenience to the JR train station, since I planned an early departure after my second night. But in fact I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the rooms, being much better than I anticipated.

Yes, on the face of it, it's a standard Japanese business class hotel, and they ARE much of a muchness when it comes to facilities and room size. But in fact the Comfort Hotel managed to be slightly better in pretty much all areas than I expected it to be - and in some areas better than places I paid more for.

The room is compact but, along with the Daiwa Roynet in Hiroshima, had the smartest layout I encountered, which left space for my bags without them getting underfoot. It did mean that the bed was up against the window, but as a single traveller that didn't bother me in the slightest.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel - unusual in Japan - and I found the bed to be a good size and very comfortable. There is also free coffee/hot drinks served in the lobby from late afternoon to midnight and I felt that was a nice touch (also the coffee was pretty decent - also unusual)! As expected, there was a laundry and vending machines, both of which were very handy given that I had packed light for this trip. Staff were generally friendly and accommodated my poor Japanese with their far better English skills.

The Comfort Hotel also organised a luggage forwarding service for me efficiently and quickly on the day of my departure. Great service and in fact I left a comment card to note how generally helpful they were with information and assistance.

The location is great for the JR station and the bus station - bus stops nearby also provide a city service.

There's a complimentary continental breakfast thrown in and while sure, it's not an exciting spread, but it's a decent selection of hot and cold foods in a mix of continental and Japanese, and give them extra points for having a different hot selection on the two mornings I tried it. I tend not to eat huge breakfasts, so this one was perfectly adequate and filling considering that I did not have to pay extra for it. I have had worse in the US, UK and Japan, and I think the hotel deserves more credit than its getting on that score.

The only downsides to the Comfort Hotel as far as I could see are that due to its location, it is on a fairly busy road and does not have attractive views, so if that is likely to bother you, look elsewhere. It is also a fair hike (20 minutes or so) to the historic area - I enjoyed the walk, but again, if you think this, or catching a bus, would be troublesome for you, look for a place closer to the other train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingMobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsukuba, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Quiet and clean hotel, reasonable prices, fully functional services, very helpful staff - the hotel is for those who don't look for a superficial luxury but need to stay and feel fine in the city on business or tourist trips. Simple (complimentary) breakfast was not too tasty but never mind...

Room Tip: There are no parking lot for guests at the hotel, but nearest NARA train station is an advantage (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 64 in Nara
1,055 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#8 of 64 in Nara
232 reviews
Nara Station
Sun Hotel Nara
Sun Hotel Nara
#20 of 64 in Nara
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#14 of 64 in Nara
122 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#10 of 64 in Nara
154 reviews
Nara Hotel
#1 of 64 in Nara
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel NARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel NARA

Property: Comfort Hotel NARA
Address: 321 3 Sanjo cho, Nara 630-8244, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara > Nara Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nara
#4 Business Hotel in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel NARA 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel NARA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing