We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable prices”
Review of Comfort Hotel NARA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel NARA
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel when I was attending a scientific conference in Nara so a business-oriented hotel at affordable prices was what I was aiming at and I was not disappointed. The hotel is clean and functional. The room I was staying at was not very big and there was no closet to put my clothes in except for a single shelf and a few clothes hangers. It wasn't a problem for a 6-day stay, though.

The rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily and even if the "don't disturb" sticker is placed on the door, a new set of hygienic products and towels is placed in a bag next to the door. There is a desk and a TV in the room and free WiFi is available.

The staff was very friendly and was able to help with issues that a person who doesn't speak Japanese comes across, e.g. getting baseball tickets and booking a shuttle bus to the airport.

The breakfast area is next to the reception desk and is rather austere but the food was fine with both Japanese and 'western' dishes.

The hotel is very close to two train stations and the major commercial street in Nara but also a walking distance from the park and local sightseeing attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank plpalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel belongs to a nationwide chain of economic business hotels, usually found near the main railway stations of cities in Japan. Also this one is conveniently located just a few steps from the JR Nara station. The room, as typical of these hotels, is very compact, with all the amenities packed in a small place. But there is everything one needs, free internet included, and it is very clean. Equipment looks new. The double room is good value for a couple of slim people, because the price is charged per room, instead of per occupying person, as it it in traditional japanese guesthouses. Breakfast offered a reasonable selection of dishes and good coffee. Service at check in was a bit dry, just standard. In general, it was a convenient and pleasant economy stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were traveling Japan using the JR Rail Pass and visited Nara for a couple of days. We were traveling to Nara from Osaka and could see the hotel from the JR Nara station. The location was excellent - a few minutes walk from the station and excellent access to buses. The hotel was clean and the staff were courteous. We stayed in a double room which was clean, reasonable size and very modern. The bathroom was clean and the shower pressure was excellent.The breakfast was good - selection of common breakfast foods like scrambled eggs, sausage, soup, bread, soup and rice balls. Overall, this hotel is highly recommended for location, cleanliness and value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianFoodie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The place was clean, convenient, comfortable - it was not traditional lodgings but gave me a good night's sleep and was a good base for exploring the city and the park. Moreover, it was significantly cheaper than traditional lodgings! The thing that pushed this up to 4 stars for me, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The breakfast was minimal but good enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in total, our room (typically Japanese) was a small double, but it was not the smallest room we encountered on our trip to Japan. The hotel is well situated for the JR station which is about a 5 minute walk away even with your baggage. There is a big supermarket on the ground floor of the JR station and the main shopping street with plenty of shops and restaurants is about 5 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Nara Park and the main temples are a little further, (you walk the full length of the main shopping street) at 15 to 25 minutes depending on the temple that you want to visit.
Our room although small (but we knew that when we booked) was clean and odour free, it had a kettle and a fridge and a flat screen TV. We had an en suite bathroom with the obligatory Japanese electric flushing W.C. We actually stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end and overall we were very pleased.
The complimentary breakfast was good and from noon on there was good complimentary coffee. Like all the other Japanese hotels we stayed in they would not let us into our room early as the check in time was 3 pm and the hotel expected you to vacate your room by 10 am. Some English was spoken at the reception desk depending upon who was on duty. Would I stay here again, Yes I certainly would!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just like any other comfort hotel, foot pillow is available to relieve your tired and aching foot from walking.

The hotel is not near anything.

About few blocks away from JR station, and couple of blocks away from decent izakaya (japanese pub).

Across is a 24-hr food chain, but other than that, the place is quiet.

Good bargain because they charge not only based on the room but also based on the number of persons staying in the room.

If you want to explore Nara, you can walk to JR station, where there are a lot of buses that can take you to tourist destination

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed there in March 2012. Conveniently located close to the JR Station, but far from the tourist sites, 15 to 30 minutes by foot, although it makes it a pleasant walk. The room was pretty small, free Wi-Fi. Good service, the staff were helpful. They provide breakfast, a mix of western and Japanese stuff. So nothing spectacular, but a good place to sleep after a busy day

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
1,113 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#10 of 63 in Nara
242 reviews
Nara Station
Smile Hotel Nara
Smile Hotel Nara
#19 of 63 in Nara
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#14 of 63 in Nara
129 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#15 of 63 in Nara
161 reviews
Nara Station
Nara Washington Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel NARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel NARA

Address: 321 3 Sanjo cho, Nara 630-8244, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara > Nara Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nara
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel NARA 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel NARA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing