We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Kasuga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kasuga Hotel
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Perfect location. It is next to Nara Station (Kintetsu line), only 2 minutes walk is needed. I've booked a standard japanese style room to let my dad experience authentic japanese culture as this is his first time visit japan. Surprisingly, a special room is given to us when we checked in. There was a balcony, a small living room (6-Tatami) and a big living room (15-Tatami).

The meals were great. Dinner was served in room while breakfast was served at restaurant. The staff was very helpful.

You must try their public bath. They have 2 different styles of open bath, just like most japanese public baths, they exchange gender daily that you can experience both style when you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bell0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    36
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

During my travel in Japan, this turned out to be my favorite hotel. I loved it. The staff was very helpful. I felt their concern was sincere and motivated by a desire that I have a good experience. It was a very "Japanese" experience, but at the same time they were eager to accommodate my particular needs that often draw blank expressions from some other hotels. (Example: one futon is not enough padding, so they eagerly put two down for me.) The dining was really rather tasty. The public bath was the best I experienced in Japan. Really nice. I could get addicted to that! The location was wonderful. Within a few hundred meters is a covered shopping arcade that goes on and on for what seem forever. Really an amazing experience. Go the other direction and you find yourself in a tranquil park with wonderful temples, shrines, and museums of Buddhist art that is a real find.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back courtyard area are not attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My sister preferred a western style bed, and that is not easy to find in Nara. Kasuga hotel has one western style bedroom on every floor, at a very reasonable price.
The location cannot be better : on one corner Kintetsu railway station and on the other one the park begins ...
The hotel has very nice public baths, even one outdoors, giving the illusion you are out in the mountains, when in fact the busy street is behind it : the small garden gives a perfect illusion of nature and the running water is effectively blocking any noise. Just perfect.
The western style breakfast was ample and looked very japanese to us. The staff took great care to offer different items every day (we stayed 3 nights) and were eager to provide us with enough black tea and lemon. Very much appreciated.
Apparently there are much bigger, and pricier, rooms where you can have the evening meal as well, but i found the western/japanese combination very attractive and very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinjoorAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel in this spring.
My room has open-air bath ( about 40,000 yen one night for 2person), and when I used the bath in the night, some petals of cherry blossom flattered into the bath from somewhere( I couldn't find the tree ).
It was so romantic, and I could feel Japanese atmosphere so much.

Room:
It has one bedroom and one small living room.
Each room has a TV.
Very clean and quiet.

Service:
Really nice.
When I check-in and moved to my room, the nakai (how should I explain? It's like waitress, page, or bellboy) made me green tea (powdered green tea) and served some sweets, and many kind of teas and coffee were prepared for free (drinks in refrigerator need charge).

Breakfast:
Japanese food, especially traditional Nara food like cha-gayu ( rice porridge with hoji-tya(roasted tea)).
If you don't like Japanese food, please ask staffs.
I saw they recommend foreigners another kind of breakfast.

Others:
This hotel have wide public bath and open-air bath also.
If you don't want to use the bathes with other people, try in the early morning.
There were few people when I used.

Location:
Very nice.
About 10 minutes walk to Nara Park and a few minutes walk to Kintetsu-Nara Station from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Hotel
#1 of 63 in Nara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Noborioji Hotel Nara
#4 of 63 in Nara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#10 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#11 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Nara Hakushikaso
#36 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasuga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasuga Hotel

Property: Kasuga Hotel
Address: 40 Noboriojicho, Nara 630-8213, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasuga Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:15 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasuga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasuga Hotel Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing