We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Western and Japanese Style in the beautiful Nara!!!”
Review of Kasuga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kasuga Hotel
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is the only hotel in our Japanese trip where we experimented a Japanese room. The room was large and reasonably comfortable, including the bed on the Tatami on the floor. Green tea smell everywhere (a little too much). In fact tea is offered to hosts in the room immediately after check in (after 3pm). The style is a little old especially as it relates the internal bathroom. However, the public baths (separated for women and for men, switched daily to allow to try both even staying one night) are just marvelous. Also breakfast is good quality with the Western option appearing quite "Japanese", at least to western eyes.

Should you visit Nara and spend one or two nights at the Kasuga Hotel, make sure to spend some time in its public baths!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adrianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

It is on the main road heading towards the Todai-ji Temple. I was abit concerned regarding road noise as our room ... 305 .. Was facing the road and parking lot. NO need to be concerned double glazed windows .. We did not hear ANY road noise. We were also opposite the elevator and did not hear that ding once.

English is abit limited but the staff are very friendly and we didn't end up having any issues.

We had a Japanese style room which was spacious for the two of us. 3 people would have also been ok. While we were eating dinner they made up our futons for keeping. We both ended up putting an extra futon down for extra softness and that worked fine. We had an ensure toilet and bathroom.

The Kaiseki dinner package was included with our room and were a little disappointed. My husband has had Kaiseki before and said the standard should have been better. It was tasty but ... Maybe we built it up too much to ourselves beforehand. There is a shopping arcade about 2mins away which has a lot of little restaurants in it. With the plastic food displays out front it is easy to see what is on offer .. Even McDonalds !!!

I did not see an on site laundry. Wifi is throughout the hotel and worked well.

They seemed to be strict with the check-in time but will store your luggage and put it in your room for you.

We were shown up to our room and as it was traditional tatami matting these are the procedures. Upon entering your room there is a small tiled area. Do not step up off that in your street shoes .. You will be given some slippers so remove your shoes and either just wear your socks or the slippers on the tatami. There will also be a pair of the tabi (split toe socks) that you can wear and they are actually quite comfortable. They are designed to wear with their Zori Sandals but we wore them while in the room. The slippers can be worn throughout the hotel and they will bring you a Yakata to wear after the green tea and apple cake ... You need to be 'sized' up beforehand. We wore our Yakata to dinner.

If you like to soak in a bath then use the public bath. Very well set up and clean (as was the whole hotel). There is an indoor and outdoor pool to soak in. Separate areas for men and women, just be aware that you are all in the same room/pool nude. There are small modesty towels if needed. We both used them and it was very relaxing.

Overall our stay here was good. Expensive but good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Kasuga while visiting Nara. It was a very welcoming hotel, but almost deserted - perhaps we visited at a slow time.

I'm not nearly experienced enough to say whether the "traditional" room was a good example of the kind, but I can say we enjoyed it. Our room attendant was very helpful and professional. The futon-style beds were comfortable enough and the whole room was a pleasant space, even though we were used to more furnishings. The traditional-style breakfast was also nice; it was served in an adjacent room to give the attendant time to pack up our beds.

Otherwise the hotel was a great base from which to explore Nara - within easy walking distance of the parks. We took a taxi from the main JR station to the hotel because we had luggage and it was pouring rain, but one could probably walk it with little difficulty. Another rail station (Kintetsu) is much closer to the hotel.

We didn't eat at the restaurants (except for the in-room breakfast, which was good).

The spa / pool setup deserves special mention - it was pretty opulent and completely relaxing. They have both indoor and outdoor soaking pools, massaging jets, and a whole spa-like changing room. Separate facilities for men and women - one set is slightly nicer than the other, but they switch which side is men's and which is women's every day. Both nights the pool facilities were deserted, but they were easily big enough to hold 10 people without feeling crowded.

A very nice hotel - if we return to Nara we would definitely look here again.

Room Tip: The "traditional" room was a nice experience, but make sure you know what you're getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezetta0041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Kasuga Hotel for one night whilst visiting the temples and other sites of Nara. The hotel has a great location in the real heart of Nara just 100m from the Kintetsu Nara railway station. It is located next to the main shopping area and is very close to many of the main attractions in Nara.

It is presented as a Japanese style hotel, and clearly it caters principally for Japanese tourists or others seeking a Japanese experience. After a previous three nights sleeping on futons in Kyoto we opted for one of the few western style rooms. It was very small, however, it was clean contained two reasonable beds, and a bathroom with shower. There was no view from our room.

We arrived at just before noon, but were not allowed to check in until the official check in time of 3.00 pm (those are the rules and this is Japan). We received a welcome cup of tea brought to the room upon arrival.

I am sure this is a better hotel for those wanting to choose a Japanese style room - but if you want beds, probably best to try another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Japanese style room. Their name is "Hotel" but it is more like "Ryokan". Their breakfast and dinner were very good. We had the local beef Shabu Shabu for dinner one night which was excellent. Big bath with outside tub was very clean and nice. They switch men and women's bath in morning and evening, so we took bath twice a day to see what others look like. The place was kids friendly and very relaxing. Close to Kintetsu railway station, Kofuku-ji, and a busy shopping arcade.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Perfect location. It is next to Nara Station (Kintetsu line), only 2 minutes walk is needed. I've booked a standard japanese style room to let my dad experience authentic japanese culture as this is his first time visit japan. Surprisingly, a special room is given to us when we checked in. There was a balcony, a small living room (6-Tatami) and a big living room (15-Tatami).

The meals were great. Dinner was served in room while breakfast was served at restaurant. The staff was very helpful.

You must try their public bath. They have 2 different styles of open bath, just like most japanese public baths, they exchange gender daily that you can experience both style when you stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bell0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

During my travel in Japan, this turned out to be my favorite hotel. I loved it. The staff was very helpful. I felt their concern was sincere and motivated by a desire that I have a good experience. It was a very "Japanese" experience, but at the same time they were eager to accommodate my particular needs that often draw blank expressions from some other hotels. (Example: one futon is not enough padding, so they eagerly put two down for me.) The dining was really rather tasty. The public bath was the best I experienced in Japan. Really nice. I could get addicted to that! The location was wonderful. Within a few hundred meters is a covered shopping arcade that goes on and on for what seem forever. Really an amazing experience. Go the other direction and you find yourself in a tranquil park with wonderful temples, shrines, and museums of Buddhist art that is a real find.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back courtyard area are not attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Hotel
#1 of 62 in Nara
744 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 62 in Nara
1,113 reviews
Noborioji Hotel Nara
#4 of 62 in Nara
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#11 of 62 in Nara
242 reviews
Nara Hakushikaso
#30 of 62 in Nara
34 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#12 of 62 in Nara
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasuga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasuga Hotel

Address: 40 Noboriojicho, Nara 630-8213, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nara
Price Range: £126 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasuga Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:15 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kasuga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasuga Hotel Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing