We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
12
34
21
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
34
21
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We stayed there for just 1 night to visit Nara, and it was on the way to Osaka airport. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to public transportation, temples, parks, markets and restaurants. The rooms were also more spacious than other rooms I have stayed in in Japan, which is great. The staff were really helpful and friendly and there was great internet connection for my laptop as well. Rooms and toilet were generally clean though our room smelled a bit like a smoking room. For the price and location, it is good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURENCE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We spent one night here before to Kyoto. The key reason we choose this hotel is the restaurant, there are lots good eateries and restaurants near by and open until midnight, we can easily enjoy some local comfort food at 11/12pm.

We highly recommend to try the only one Michelin 3 star restaurant in Nara - Wa Yamamura, just across the main street, 3 mins walk, must try and very good value.

Hotel room is small but clean and staff is willing to help solving our laundry problem. Breakfast simply basic, light and fine for us.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed there for 1 night en-route from Osaka to Kyoto. Basically we choose the hotel for its price - only 7,000 Yen and close proximity to train station.

It's just located 2 minutes walk from Kintetsu's Shin-Omiya Station. The hotel has a huge signboard on top and one can easily spot it after stepping out from the station.

Minor downside is that Shin-Omiya Station is one stop (or 150 yen) away from Kintetsu Nara station, which is situated at the centre of Nara providing walking access to Nara's main attraction - Nara Park and its surrounding. Minimal eatery and shopping opportunity nearby, but there's a Matsuya (Japan fast food restaurant chain) and 7-11 nearby. Nevertheless, this does not diminish much the convenience the hotel offered as we

IMPORTANT NOTE: JR Nara Line does not have any station nearby Toyoko-inn.

Room is not too small, clean and the bed is comfy. Free breakfast provided but only serves a few types of Japanese rice, salad and Miso Soup. Coffee is included as well.

Staff is polite (as most Japanese in service industry does) although speaks limited English. However,this would not slow down or complicate the check in and check process Free WiFi, standard toiletries stuffs and also including comestic set (Lotion, hair brush, hair clip etc) for female guest.

P.s. Toyoko-inn is a major business hotel chain in Japan. One thing interesting is that most of its staffs are females.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikhailjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent two nights here. Delighted all round. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Bathroom modern and clean. Beds looked and felt much nicer in reality than on the web pictures.
It's a little walk into central Nara and the park. But it's well located for Shin Omiya station. Ours was actually a smoking room, but this was hardly perceptible. Recommended.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel and were very happy there.
The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the Shin-Omiya station on the Kintetsu Railway line, this being one before the Kintetsu Nara Station which is the nearest to the epicentre of the main tourist attractions. (This is not to be confused with the JR Nara Station). Trains between Shin Omiya and Kintetsu Nara are plentiful and only take a few minutes costing Y150.
Even though no English was spoken check in (and check out) was fast and efficient.
Our room on the 8th floor had views to the station and surrounding areas.
Japanese rooms are generally small but in this case the room felt larger because it also had an entry foyer.
The beds were firm, as most are in Japan, and was wonderful.
Bathroom was the normal 'module' and whilst compact was very satifactory and comfortable.
The room and bathroom was impecably clean.
The breakfast included rice, miso, noodles, pickled vegetables, toast, coffee etc with slight variations each day. It was basically Japanese but very very nice.
Whilst not numerous, there were restaurants in the immediate area.
For a fast cheap Japanese meal I can recommend a small restaurant diagonally opposite the exit from the station where ordering is via a vending machine. Whilst no English spoken, the owners were lovely and very very helpful, plus proving a very good meal.
A very good value hotel not too far from the main tourist area of Nara.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank austranomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews