We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
29
105
36
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
105
36
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We stayed one night at this hotel. The rooms are small by western standards but very comfortable. The bathroom is modern with lots of hot water. Excellent internet connection. There is free parking, which is located beside the hotel. The sites are not within walking distance – so you'll need transportation. We had a rental car. The staff is very helpful and courteous – heck, the whole country is helpful and courteous, seems to be part of the culture. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant – no English menu. There are a few restaurants in the area, but not a lot to choose from. This hotel is clean, modern and a good value. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spudrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奈良ロイヤル H, ホテルスタッフ at Nara Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for staying at NARA ROYAL HOTEL. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay at our hotel. 
Your warm remarks are sincerely appreciated . Also, thank you for praising the hotel rooms,bathroom and staff.
Our hotel staff will continue to strive to provide the best services for our guests.We hope you will consider NARA ROYAL HOTEL for your next trip near us.
NARA ROYAL HOTEL Hayakawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly as is to be expected for Japan.

A fair price, however the last orders at all restaurants was 8:30pm no chance of any food after that time. The shuttle bus is infrequent, we never managed to use it. The Hotel is relatively clean however the bathroom had mold in parts including the shower curtain which was dotted all over with black mould.

The hotel is dated, it has been maintained resonably well but has a 1970s feel about it.
The early closing of the restaurants and infrequent shuttle was a big dissapointment, resulting in us having to walk outside in the cold evening to find somewhere to eat.

The best thing about the Hotel was the bike rental at 500 yen per day which made the sites more accessible.

Don't stay here unless all places in the rest of Nara are completely booked or the rest of the Town has been levelled by an earthquake.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AllanWhicker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Super friendly, helpful staff, even when there was a language barrier in the bar, they went to find someone who could help with the menu. Great place to stay. After 10 days on futon this place was heaven!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sfranzen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is right on the highway so coming from Kyoto it was really easy to find.
The staff are very very friendly and very very helpful as we wanted to go to Nara park and look at some temples. We had no problem as they advised us where to park and gave us a map so we would not get lost.
Compared to many places we have travelled to Nara is quite small so it didn't take long and did not take a whole day to see it all.
The hotel room was very very small and quite old but also provides all the amenities a hotel would usually have.
I think the best part of staying in this hotel is that the spa (on-Sen) really made my day! Yet again abit outdated but none the less still good and still clean.
If you are travelling from city to city and looking for an overnight stay then this is a good hotel but if you plan to stay longer then I wouldn't stay here as it's far from the town centre.

Date of stay: October 2016
2  Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Big hotel, not new but room is clean, comfortable bed and spacious room for japan standard, love the small garden view outside my window. And has a nice garden view at breakfast area. But location a bit far to nara park. Around 10 mins walk to nearest subway station.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Soen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews